Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
32 Reviews
12.90625345
Previous | 1 2 34 |
Write A Review
August 6, 2014

more

August 6, 2014

The Coalition to Salute America's Heroes (CSAH) has been such a blessing to me and my wife, and thousands of other Disabled Veterans and Caregivers. The donors helped me personally by restoring my dignity and financial stability by allowing me to work in the Coalition's Heroes Thanking Heroes program, which gives the honor of Severely Disabled Veterans and their Caregivers to contact a donor and say Thank You for their support; some Caregivers are actually making calls sitting next to their Combat Disabled Veteran's hospital bed. The Coalition also recently purchased a $1,000 custom designed ergonomic chair so I can work without being in tremendous pain or losing circulation in my legs; I could barely sit, stand, walk, or lay down with this nerve pain, now I am able to sit and work without unbearable pain. They also offered to help me with a Track Wheelchair designed for use in rugged terrain to help me go fishing and hunting again, I declined the offer so someone who is bound to a wheelchair without legs could have it instead. The Coalition also helps with Emergency Financial Aid to help Soldiers waiting on VA Disability approval to prevent foreclosures and repossessions. They also have created a Veterans Circle Alumni Program for 30% Service Connected Combat Veterans since 2001 to Present, to help us rebuild camaraderie and share struggles and support with other Veteran Peers, some of us are even connecting locally and hoping to go fishing and hunting together. I would not have met these Veterans and new friends if it was not for this program. They also help with National Employment Resources, Online Education and Training and much more. They have also helped build a Women's Veteran Shelter and they will be sending over 50 Soldiers to the CSAH Annual Road to Recovery Conference. In addition to all of this, they send Veterans in need of financial support, a check to help them buy gifts and food for their children and family at Christmas, Easter and Thanksgiving, these are accompanied by a card from a donor to say thanks to that Veteran. When you become apart of the CSAH Veterans Circle Alumni Program, you become apart of their family. I have never worked for a group that cares so much how we are doing each week than the Coalition to Salute America's Heroes. I am a 100% Total and Permanent Disabled Combat Veteran OEF Kuwait/Iraq 2001 with seizures, narcolepsy, temporary paralysis, arthritis, and a neuro-muscular disorder, I was medically discharged from the Army 1st Cavalry Division in 2004 after I was exposed to toxins and later a nerve agent that exploded in Iraqi laid minefields left over from Desert Storm. After being medically retired from the Federal Government, and a year of unemployment, I was emailed a job possibility and was immediately accepted to work from home as a Call Representative for the Coalition to Salute America's Heroes, Heroes Thanking Heroes Program, and I have been truly blessed. Please check out our website www.saluteheroes.org and our Facebook.com/saluteheroes or call 1-888-447-2588 to find out more about the Coalition to Salute America's Heroes. I can speak first hand knowledge as a recipient of their generosity and welcoming me into their family, that every $ that can possibly go the Veteran goes to the Veteran, they have limited the amounts being spent on advertising, direct mailing, and overhead, and salaries as much as possible, and they are still trying to further cut costs every day so more money goes directly to the Veteran and their family. Please give this charity a chance, they have been in under new management since July 2012 under CEO Mr. David Walker and they have made a tremendous 360 degree change from how this organization was managed in the past. They truly are making a difference in my life and the lives of thousands of other Veterans Families. If you don't believe me check out their website salute heroes.org click on About Us, then click Financial Highlights to see the breakdown of donations spending report, 2012 990 Report and Financial Statement, 2013 will be loaded soon.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

The Coalition to Salute America's Heroes CSAH has made tremendous improvements under new management since July 2012 when Mr. David Walker was elected as President and CEO of CSAH. They truly are making a difference in my life and the lives of thousands of other Veterans Families. If you don't believe me check out their website salute heroes.org click on About Us, then click Financial Highlights to see the breakdown of donations spending report, 2012 990 Report and Financial Statement.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 5, 2014

more

August 5, 2014

This organization stepped in and helped my family when we needed it the most.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 4, 2014

more

August 4, 2014

This Organization has been a life savor to us and other caregivers of disabled Veterans.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 31, 2014

more

July 31, 2014

This is a very solid group. I struggle with people who continue to dreg up the past without looking at the great things this group does EVERY DAY.

Look at their Facebook page or talk to the countless families they help. I am a believer and a supporter!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 23, 2014

more

June 23, 2014

The current Chairman, was the Treasurer when Chapin was running the organization back in 2007. When the Board tried to fire Chapiin, the current CEO came to his defense. The Leadership was fired and Board members forced to resign. The Current CEO played a key role in protecting Chapin and voted to remove the very folks trying to remove Chapin and straighten out the organization. Now the Treasurer from 2007 is the current CEO.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Remove the current CEO

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Badly

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2007

May 29, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more

May 29, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

CSAH is a great organization my husband is a ww and a Purple Heart recipient, I was diagnosed with cervical cancer and the coalition stepped in to help with are move and paid for our deposit and first months rent so we could get closer to family on the east coast, they call and ask if we are doing well, and if we need anything this organization is wonderful, not only do they provide financial help, but help in any other way possible, they are great!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Nothing

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

May 18, 2014
3 people found this review helpful

more

May 18, 2014
3 people found this review helpful

I’m not in a position to comment on this organization PRIOR to 2012.

In 2012, CEO David Walker took over leadership for The Coalition To Salute America's Heroes (CSAH)Recent Audits, full discloser, and supporting evidence shows the Coalition is now on course to be one of the most
respected and transparent Veteran Service organization of all !

I have followed this organization since Walker took over. The buck stops with him! He and his staff, along with his Board of Directors are transparent as all records to include financial are available to all for review.

We now more than ever need private and reputable organizations to step up and help our Veterans who served honorably while some others just sit back and criticize the world happenings without reviewing all the facts, often relying on dated information. "Complain they will, providing solution recommendations they won't."

CSAH is to be trusted!, for I have personally witnessed 1000's of Wounded Warriors and their families receive help, support, and much needed financial assistance when our government would not! CRITICS of this class organization; Please take a look at The Coalition to Salute America's Heroes web site, and other publishing's since 2012. www.saluteheroes.org

May 6, 2014
4 people found this review helpful

more

May 6, 2014
4 people found this review helpful

I work for The Coalition to Salute America's Heroes and I'm proud to do it! We at the Coalition have made great strides to improve our transparency, increase our efficiency and to do the most we can for our wounded and disabled veterans from OIF/OEF/OND. In 2012 the Coalition welcomed a new leader and since that time our ratings, our efficiency and giving ratios are the best they've been in recent years. We do use direct mail to raise funds and spread awareness for the needs of our wounded veteran families. One example of those fundraising dollars at work is our Heroes Thanking Heroes program which employs 30+ wounded veterans or their spouses to thank our donors while still providing income for their families. Also, we recently mailed over 1,000 Easter gift checks to provide families the means to celebrate a special family meal. For Thanksgiving that number was around 3,000. If you have questions please contact me for more truths. ddaughenbaugh@saluteheroes.org (515)868-4470

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would love to see more corporate sponsorship for the organization which would lessen the need for our direct mail campaign.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

December 17, 2013
6 people found this review helpful

more

December 17, 2013
6 people found this review helpful

I cannot say as for the last administration, I felt compelled to share our experience of The Coalition to Salute American Heroes. From the moment we were introduced to the organization they were nothing but genuinely concerned for my husband, who was wounded in Afghanistan, and our family. They provided us with an opportunity we would otherwise never would have been able to experience. It was a gift and we thank the Coalition to Salute American Heroes and all those that donate. It is unfortunate that those running the organization, allegedly, misused funds. As a recipient, my husband and i can say that the new management are wonderful and have help others not just us that we know, Please, if your are considering donating, call them, find out how they spend their money, and ask the questions you would like to know. I know they would be happy to help you. Thanks to all for listening.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Have them explain that they are under new management

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 15, 2013

more

November 15, 2013

Coalition to Salute Americas Heroes made an unauthorized charge of $60 to my credit card.
When I called the organization they said they would investigate this charge and get back to me and they never did! Finally, the credit card company said they would refund the money, but now I need to wait
the one to two month investigation period.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

File the appropriate paperwork with the Better Business Bureau and stop making unauthorized charges to people's credit cards.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unlikely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 34 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers