Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
4 Reviews
12345
Previous | Next
Write A Review
October 1, 2009

more

October 1, 2009

College for Coach is an organization enables middle-school and high school students to build confidence in their academic career and to realize their latent potential. I have been mentor for 2 years, mentoring a very special young man from the event of his juvenile court experience to his recent acceptance into and quite rewarding participation of a leadership program at Yale. I have witnessed my mentee mature into a confident and ambitious young man, which was a very distant reality when I first met him. Under the direction of the Executive Director, Nisha S. Coaching for College provided me the tools and the opportunity to walk along with my mentee on his path to realizing his potential and discovering his ambitions. Coaching for Colleges offers this opportunity to any student and any mentor willing to make a commitment to preparing for a better life. Coaching for College not only prepares students for college, but for life. Cheers

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

my mentorship with my mentee.

More feedback...

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

About every week

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

October 1, 2009

more

October 1, 2009

This organiziation is outstanding! In particular the Director of the Program, Nisha Sachdev, deserves much praise and credit. She has a tremendous amount of care for the students that she serves and consistently goes above and beyond the call of duty. Ms. Sachdev's contibution to the progarm and students and volunteers is unsurpassed.

More feedback...

If this organization had 10 million bucks, it could...

Do so much more to serve students

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

About every week

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

October 1, 2009

more

October 1, 2009

I have been a volunteer tutor with Coaching for College in Washington, DC for over 4 years. The program pairs inner-city junior high school students with adults who help them with their school work and also mentor them in life, with the ultimate goal of graduating high school and going to college. Participating has been a completely rewarding experience for me and was a success for my student, who is now attending a local college. Through Saturday morning sessions during the school year, the tutors build personal relationships with the students. It's not all about homework - the tutors often provide life advice and give moral support to the students - and sessions often end with pick-up basketball games. The program is fairly small, but it makes a huge impact on the lives of a few at-risk youth in Washington, DC.

More feedback...

What I've enjoyed the most about my experience with this nonprofit is...

the satisfaction of helping some young people get the extra attention they need and seeing it propel them to the next stage in their lives.

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

About every week

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

September 28, 2009

more

September 28, 2009

My experience has been very rewarding in that I too have enjoyed the benefits of participating in this program for the last 6 years. One student with whom I've had the honor of tutoring for 4 years went on to Clemson last year. One of our weekly activities was to read & discuss an article in the paper for a 1/2 hour each week so that she was tuned in to the world events that would impact her in the future. I was China on business during the VA Tech massacre & when we spoke upon my arrival home, she wanted to fill me in on what had occurred while I was away. I was truly impressed as always with her eagerness to share.

More feedback...

The kinds of staff and volunteers that I met were...

knowledgeable & caring of the students

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

One time

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers