Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
52 Reviews
1234.980775
Write A Review
May 26, 2014

more

May 26, 2014

Clinica Verde shows how dedicated, good people can make a real difference in people's lives.
I am a proud supporter of CV because I know that this clinic is having a lasting impact on those who, as a Christian, I am called to love and support. It is inspiring how much Clinica Verde has
accomplished in a relatively short period of time.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Truthfully I would not change a thing.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

April 29, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 29, 2014
1 person found this review helpful



Clinica Verde is a leading example of a well run, great non-profit that is doing what it set out to do. As the visions of this group grow and expand, so do their accomplishments. Death, deformity and severe illness were frequent visitors in the homes of this very rural spot in
Nicaragua. With great vision, the founders of Clinica Verde built their clinic and, in a very short span, have given sick patients hope and life and are giving the community vitality. The hospital has opened doors to maternal and infant care where nothing was available before. Word has spread quickly among the villagers and patients find their way to the open doors and caring hearts of the well qualified doctors and nurses. Ah that many of the non-profits I have worked on could acclaim such success and look forward with the same outreach as Clinica Verde.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

April 28, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
April 1, 2010

I have seldom, if ever, encountered a vision of caring and a desire to help those so much less fortunate than us come to life with such enthusiasm, vigor, and ongoing success. Driven by the passion o... more

April 28, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Most non-profits start with a wonderful idea. Few, unfortunately, are able to convert that idea to reality. Sometimes, it's a lack of funding. Sometimes, it's a lack of follow-through. Sometimes, they build it but nobody cares, and nobody comes.

Clinica Verde is the trifecta of
nonprofits, putting it into very rarefied air. It was started as a dream, as a vision, of what was needed and what might help, in one of the poorest countries on this planet. It was developed by a not so small group of some highly experienced, highly gifted, and very caring people, who all believed that it could be done, and that it should be done. They were able to attract the right people, at the right time, and get just enough support and momentum moving in their favor that it crossed Malcolm Gladwell's "tipping point" and became a reality.

And, to our third point: did they come? Oh, my, yes they did. More than 14,000 patient visits in their first full year of operation. Does that provide any readers with any greater appreciation of just how badly such a clinic was needed, and just how much assistance it's providing? 14,000 patients, in one year!! Incredible!!!

Well done, Clinica Verde. Well done, Board of Directors. Well done, to all the donors out there who get the vision, see how the needs are being met, and want to continue to find ways to really make a difference in the lives of others on this planet Earth. Together, we all can make a difference, and we are, 14,000+++ patients (and growing) at a time!

And, just one more thing: we should not forget that one of the founding premises of this clinic was to devise a plan that could be repeated again and again, in other parts of the world, where the need for medical care is just as acute.

Bravo. Let's keep it going!! The need will never end. Nor should our support.

Ken Moll and Dr. Nancy L. Carteron

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

April 1, 2010

I have seldom, if ever, encountered a vision of caring and a desire to help those so much less fortunate than us come to life with such enthusiasm, vigor, and ongoing success. Driven by the passion of its vision, with careful and considerate oversight by its Board of Directors, Clinica Verde is on its way to becoming a reality. And beyond its locale in a deeply impoverished setting where is getting ready to serve the under-served in an environmentally sensitive and sustainable manner, it is also focused on creating a replicable model that can be used over and over in other parts of the world - as the need is just as great elsewhere as it is in this one place. Clinica Verde deserves our prayers, our praise, and our support.

More feedback...

If this organization had 10 million bucks, it could...

build 10 more sustainable equivalents to Clinica Verde and help ten times the number of women obtain medical and pre-natal assistance in some of the most impoverished places in this world where the needs are the greatest.

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

About every six months

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

April 17, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 17, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Clinica Verde is a beautiful organization that is not only providing medical care but is also making a long term impact in the community that it serves. I was given an amazing opportunity to travel to Nicaragua and visit Clinica Verde. As a healthcare provider, I was so impressed with the treatment they provided, along with preventative care with outcome based monitoring to insure they are truly making an impact with the services they provide. I was so inspired and in awe with how caring and compassionate the medical staff was in providing healing and education for their patients. I saw families smiling and joyfully waiting to be seen in this place of refuge. You could tell that they just felt loved and cared for which gave them hope and that is a beautiful thing to witness. For these reasons, I support Clinica Verde and I know my donation is being used to make a positive difference to easy suffering in the world.
March 31, 2014

more

March 31, 2014

Not only was I fortunate enough to make the trip to Nicaragua to see Clinica Verde with my own eyes - I was fortunate enough to see the clinic open and operating and serving numerous local women, men and children - the families who are so in need of Clinica Verde. I could not only see, but feel the sincere love and gratitude from both the people being served and the people serving at the clinic.
I was overwhelmed by the commitment of both the local staff and the CV board members . The level of commitment and dedication to Clinica Verde was truly inspirational . .. And I see CV as a model project with much growth and success in the years to come.
December 14, 2013

more

December 14, 2013

I've been a journalist for 30 years, including a decade in Latin America. I met founder Susie 20 years ago in Central America and am astounded at the work she, her husband and staff have accomplished. Countries like Nicaragua really need places like Clinica Verde.
Peter J.
Brennan
Reporter/Editor
Bloomberg News

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

donate more.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 14, 2013

more

August 14, 2013

Clinica Verde had me the very first time I heard its story. It is an inspiring, on the ground, effective, service provider that is changing lives. I finally got my chance to visit the clinic itself in February 2013 and it is everything we could have hoped, and more. In addition, being there made it so clear why Clinica Verde is such an important effort. Boaco has a huge number of private clinics and doctors but the vast majority of residents in the area have no access to health care at all. Susan Dix Lyons and the Board and the team on the ground are doing extremely important work. If you don't know Clinica Verde go to the website and see the videos. And get involved!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Help Clinica Verde raise enough money to continue free services to the needy and expand services to the counseling, nutrition services and older child and parent health care arena.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 5, 2012

more

April 5, 2012

Clinica Verde is a stand-alone, non-profit organization created in 2007 by a young wife and mother in the Napa Valley of CA, to build a “Global Prototype of an environmentally sustainable health clinic in a poor area of Nicaragua,” the second poorest country in the Western hemisphere.” The clinic’s focus is on prenatal care for women and pediatric care for children. These needs are brought home to me by two statistics that, in Nicaragua, natal mortality is 20 times that in the U. S. and 20 per cent of deaths among children under five are due to treatable causes.
The world is filled with desperate needs by poor people in dysfunctional countries and many charitable projects have been organized by well-meaning people to bring hope and change to their situations. Too often, the projects are poorly organized, poorly funded and poorly led. Predictably, their efforts raise false hopes, waste time and money and end in failure. Clinica Verde is an exception to this pattern. Susan Lyons, its founder and chairman, organized an outstanding Board, raised more than a million dollars from local sources and built a beautiful, environmentally sustainable health clinic which began operations in January of this year. The clinic now is providing outpatient services for the general public as well as targeted services for pregnant women and young children, and is doing so in a way which expresses compassion and respect for the people it serves, who, often, have experienced very little of either in their lives.
A common feeling expressed by many who enter the clinic is that they cannot believe such a beautiful place has been constructed for them, but it has been. And we now are considering possible ways to replicate the effort, with joint venture partners, in other impoverished areas of Nicaragua and the world.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 3, 2012

more

April 3, 2012

We all at one time or another have ideas on how to help someone but to see an individual put her idea into bricks and mortor to help thousands was truly inspiring. I was forturnate in being at the first meeting that Susan Lyons spoke about a clinic in Nicaragua to aid women and children. Now 4 years later I am blessed to know that in my own small way I contributed monthly to making Clinica Verde a reality. Susan kept us all up to date from the groundbreaking ceremony to seeing patients in the clinic. To know that these women can now deliver healthy babies and learn how to feed their families nutritious meals puts a smile on their faces and mine. Please give generously to Clinica Verde so they can continue to implement programs to enhance these patients lives and keep those smiles coming. Thank you.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 3, 2012

more

April 3, 2012

I have watched this vision that the founders had grow into a reality. I have visited the Clinic in Nicaragua and I know that it is serving the people that need help. It is truly amazing what has been accomplished by this wonderful nonprofit organization. I only wish I could give more monetarily to help keep it going. I do travel to Nicaragua to do other philanthropic tasks and I am very willing to help out as much as I can with Clinica Verde during these visits. Clinica Verde is a prime example of how a nonprofit should operate!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Help us spread the word! Have a Clinica Verde breakfast, raise awareness, encourage future supporters! Volunteer