Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
47 Reviews
1234.978725
| 1 2 3 45 |
Write A Review
April 5, 2012

more

April 5, 2012

Clinica Verde is a stand-alone, non-profit organization created in 2007 by a young wife and mother in the Napa Valley of CA, to build a “Global Prototype of an environmentally sustainable health clinic in a poor area of Nicaragua,” the second poorest country in the Western hemisphere.” The clinic’s focus is on prenatal care for women and pediatric care for children. These needs are brought home to me by two statistics that, in Nicaragua, natal mortality is 20 times that in the U. S. and 20 per cent of deaths among children under five are due to treatable causes.
The world is filled with desperate needs by poor people in dysfunctional countries and many charitable projects have been organized by well-meaning people to bring hope and change to their situations. Too often, the projects are poorly organized, poorly funded and poorly led. Predictably, their efforts raise false hopes, waste time and money and end in failure. Clinica Verde is an exception to this pattern. Susan Lyons, its founder and chairman, organized an outstanding Board, raised more than a million dollars from local sources and built a beautiful, environmentally sustainable health clinic which began operations in January of this year. The clinic now is providing outpatient services for the general public as well as targeted services for pregnant women and young children, and is doing so in a way which expresses compassion and respect for the people it serves, who, often, have experienced very little of either in their lives.
A common feeling expressed by many who enter the clinic is that they cannot believe such a beautiful place has been constructed for them, but it has been. And we now are considering possible ways to replicate the effort, with joint venture partners, in other impoverished areas of Nicaragua and the world.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 5, 2012

more

April 5, 2012

As a Founding Member of the Board and the Principal Architect for the Project, it has been my great pleasure to sign on to Clinica Verde. Over the past 30 years I've worked on many community projects and very few capture my heart and mind like CV has. First, the benefits of this type micro-healthcare produces immediate results in impoverished communities. Second, it's easily duplicated and therefore can be tailored to a community's specific needs -- in the case of CV Boaca, Nicaragua, families were the primary end users. They needed access to healthcare but information and education as well. Finally, the environmentally friendly design and building methords challenged me as an architect and the Board in general to bring something holistic and lasting to our world.

Photos

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

As the Architect of the Project and working with the Founder at all steps. Also, by traveling to the CV building site, the town and surrounding areas to educate myself and the Board on the specific needs of this type of community where even clean running water can be a luxury.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Unknown at this time.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

How did you learn about this organization?

Direct and personal relationship with Founder because CV's base and headquarters is in my hometown.

What is this organization's top short-term priority?

Fundraising, stocking and getting the Clinic working and serving the community

What is its top priority in the long run?

Duplication, sustainability and outreach

April 4, 2012

more

April 4, 2012

I first volunteered at Clinica Verde in October 2011, doing basic manual labor to help the clinic prepare for its January 2012 opening. I absolutely fell in love with the clinic, its mission and vision, and the potential to change lives. I came back to volunteer in December 2011, and then decided to spend a year as a volunteer - all of 2012. I am absolutely inspired by this clinic - the focus on women and children living in desperate poverty is so needed. The clinic gives the very poor a sense of dignity and worth ... such a critical first step in improving health and quality of life. Clinica Verde is a stunningly beautiful and clean facility, delivering high quality care to rural populations who have virtually no choices. Having spent more than three months at the clinic, I am seeing the tangible, measurable impact the clinic is having. I see women who have lived their whole lives on the margins of society begin to believe that perhaps there is a chance to be healthy, to care for their families. The statistics are daunting - extreme poverty, high rates of maternal and infant mortality, and very high rates of teen pregnancy. But, I believe so strongly that Clinica Verde can and will make a difference and begin changing those odds that I gladly gave up a year of my life to be a part of this amazing charity's work. The clinic is still new, so there are lots of changes, every day. But I am confident that Clinica Verde will have a major impact on the lives of poor women and children in Nicaragua.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 3, 2012

more

April 3, 2012

We all at one time or another have ideas on how to help someone but to see an individual put her idea into bricks and mortor to help thousands was truly inspiring. I was forturnate in being at the first meeting that Susan Lyons spoke about a clinic in Nicaragua to aid women and children. Now 4 years later I am blessed to know that in my own small way I contributed monthly to making Clinica Verde a reality. Susan kept us all up to date from the groundbreaking ceremony to seeing patients in the clinic. To know that these women can now deliver healthy babies and learn how to feed their families nutritious meals puts a smile on their faces and mine. Please give generously to Clinica Verde so they can continue to implement programs to enhance these patients lives and keep those smiles coming. Thank you.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 3, 2012

more

April 3, 2012

I have watched this vision that the founders had grow into a reality. I have visited the Clinic in Nicaragua and I know that it is serving the people that need help. It is truly amazing what has been accomplished by this wonderful nonprofit organization. I only wish I could give more monetarily to help keep it going. I do travel to Nicaragua to do other philanthropic tasks and I am very willing to help out as much as I can with Clinica Verde during these visits. Clinica Verde is a prime example of how a nonprofit should operate!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 3, 2012

more

April 3, 2012

I helped design collateral for Clinica Verde fundraising efforts. It was a pleasure working with the CV team and I was honored to help with their effort to bring quality healthcare to mothers and children in Nicaragua.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

April 3, 2012

more

April 3, 2012

Clinica Verde is one of those few charities that really make a difference. Although small compared to some of the big mammoths, they treat the people that they help as human beings that are exactly the same as we all are, with similar neds and desires, rather than as poor people that need help. Clinica Verde believes in sustainability - in more than one aspect - and in doing things together and locally, and it puts its money where its mouth is on all these points. They are a group of extremely dedicated people, who through this dedication, and through old-fashioned very hard work, get things done!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 9, 2011

more

March 9, 2011

I have always been drawn to actions that have a true impact on other's people's lives, and I believe Clinica Verde takes this to another level. Ever since I first heard of it, I was impressed by what a selfless act it was, looking for no profit, fame or advantage, other than serving the people of Boaco, a city in great need in Nicaragua. Clinica Verde understands to the very core, the importance of protecting our young, by providing them not only health services, but support, counseling, and a safe haven to learn the things that will really take them somewhere in life. It centers women and children in all its tasks, and without a doubt will work hand in hand with the local initiatives already at work. This is indeed a highly organized, driven, passionate organization, with great people behind it, and just as great people benefiting from it.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Seeing the need for guidance in physical and emotional health the young women and children have in Boaco, and how thankful they are that is a place where they can get it.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

paint it all green!

March 8, 2011

more

March 8, 2011

Clinica Verde is a non-profit organization building a future for women in Nicaragua. I started to get involved with this organization when my mother joined the Board of Directors and I heard about the cause. I was moved by the anecdotes of several young girls that get pregnant at an early age and lack counseling or care. Clinica Verde is a new model of care for families in need that can be replicated in other developing countries.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I have experienced the results of this organization by looking at anecdotes of young impoverished women that are seeking for care.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Would not make any changes

April 27, 2010

more

April 27, 2010

If all non-profits operated like Clinica Verde the World would be a better place! By integrating health care, nutrition & gardening advice, childcare and farmer's market, all in an ecologically sustainable and replicable format, Clinica Verde shows the way forward, while being very sensitive to the needs of its community. We gave a little money, advice and encouragement and they ran with it! We could not be more proud of Clinica Verde and Susan Dix-Lyons.

More feedback...

If this organization had 10 million bucks, it could...

replicate the clinic format in many other places around the World

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

About every six months

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Help us spread the word! Have a Clinica Verde breakfast, raise awareness, encourage future supporters! Volunteer