Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
52 Reviews
1234.980775
Write A Review
August 14, 2013

more

August 14, 2013

Clinica Verde had me the very first time I heard its story. It is an inspiring, on the ground, effective, service provider that is changing lives. I finally got my chance to visit the clinic itself in February 2013 and it is everything we could have hoped, and more. In addition, being there made it so clear why Clinica Verde is such an important effort. Boaco has a huge number of private clinics and doctors but the vast majority of residents in the area have no access to health care at all. Susan Dix Lyons and the Board and the team on the ground are doing extremely important work. If you don't know Clinica Verde go to the website and see the videos. And get involved!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Help Clinica Verde raise enough money to continue free services to the needy and expand services to the counseling, nutrition services and older child and parent health care arena.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 14, 2013

more

August 14, 2013

We have been going to Nicaragua for the past ten years as worker bee volunteers in the construction of self-help housing for rural villagers. On one of those early trips to the Boaco area we were working alongside Tim and Susan Lyons, a doctor and wife team with a heart to help improve health care for the rural poor. Susan took the lead in creating this dream of a medical facility called Clinica Verde that is now seeing more than 1,300 patients a month. Our annual trips to this area are now focused on doing what we can to help the clinic and its patients. It is a model of what can be accomplished by a heart driven soul like Susan's and those who come alongside to make this clinic such a success. We are most appreciative of the opportunity we have to participate in this success story. May God bless Susan, her board of directors, and everyone else who has helped to make this a reality.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Help raise funds to duplicate this model clinic in other Nicaraguan villages and other countries in Central America.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 13, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

August 13, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Clinica Verde is the product of an incredible dream and serves not only to provide affordable and reliable health care, but to inform, respect, and educate all those who walk through their doors. The data and the numbers alone give an idea of just how many lives Clinca Verde has impacted, but my time there as a volunteer showed me something that data never could, and that is the way people change when they walk into the clinic. Individuals who have often travelled miles to get there with sick children in tow stand up straighter when they walk through the doors of Clinica Verde, an outward display of the sense of respect and dignity that going to the clinic gives them. Patients are often shocked at the outward beauty of the clinic, and the kindness, care, and concern that the staff and doctors show them. Clinica Verde is doing something wonderful and unique and I am very proud to have been a part of their vision.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 13, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

August 13, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

It's been a pleasure from start to finish to work with Clinica Verde. There are lots of opportunities for individuals looking to volunteer their time and effort, but the work I've been able to do for CV has by far been the most rewarding and enjoyable. Susan, Mary and the rest are inspiring, motivated and incredibly generous. I consider myself fortunate to have had the opportunity to work for such an incredible cause, with such an amazing group of people.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 28, 2012

more

April 28, 2012

Clinica Verde is the epitome of what a non-profit should be. Susan Dix has done a wonderful job with this project. It is an enviornmentally sustainable clinic that truly aims at helping those in need. Clinica Verde makes an enormous difference for the people living in Nicaragua. Receiving proper health care is something that is not attainable for many people. With this clinic, people can now receive adequate health care that would otherwise be very difficult to attain. Another great thing about this project is that it promotes health from the ground up. In order for people to have overall good health they need to be in a healthy environment and the clinic achieves that beautifully.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 5, 2012

more

April 5, 2012

Clinica Verde is a stand-alone, non-profit organization created in 2007 by a young wife and mother in the Napa Valley of CA, to build a “Global Prototype of an environmentally sustainable health clinic in a poor area of Nicaragua,” the second poorest country in the Western hemisphere.” The clinic’s focus is on prenatal care for women and pediatric care for children. These needs are brought home to me by two statistics that, in Nicaragua, natal mortality is 20 times that in the U. S. and 20 per cent of deaths among children under five are due to treatable causes.
The world is filled with desperate needs by poor people in dysfunctional countries and many charitable projects have been organized by well-meaning people to bring hope and change to their situations. Too often, the projects are poorly organized, poorly funded and poorly led. Predictably, their efforts raise false hopes, waste time and money and end in failure. Clinica Verde is an exception to this pattern. Susan Lyons, its founder and chairman, organized an outstanding Board, raised more than a million dollars from local sources and built a beautiful, environmentally sustainable health clinic which began operations in January of this year. The clinic now is providing outpatient services for the general public as well as targeted services for pregnant women and young children, and is doing so in a way which expresses compassion and respect for the people it serves, who, often, have experienced very little of either in their lives.
A common feeling expressed by many who enter the clinic is that they cannot believe such a beautiful place has been constructed for them, but it has been. And we now are considering possible ways to replicate the effort, with joint venture partners, in other impoverished areas of Nicaragua and the world.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 5, 2012

more

April 5, 2012

As a Founding Member of the Board and the Principal Architect for the Project, it has been my great pleasure to sign on to Clinica Verde. Over the past 30 years I've worked on many community projects and very few capture my heart and mind like CV has. First, the benefits of this type micro-healthcare produces immediate results in impoverished communities. Second, it's easily duplicated and therefore can be tailored to a community's specific needs -- in the case of CV Boaca, Nicaragua, families were the primary end users. They needed access to healthcare but information and education as well. Finally, the environmentally friendly design and building methords challenged me as an architect and the Board in general to bring something holistic and lasting to our world.

Photos

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

As the Architect of the Project and working with the Founder at all steps. Also, by traveling to the CV building site, the town and surrounding areas to educate myself and the Board on the specific needs of this type of community where even clean running water can be a luxury.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Unknown at this time.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

How did you learn about this organization?

Direct and personal relationship with Founder because CV's base and headquarters is in my hometown.

What is this organization's top short-term priority?

Fundraising, stocking and getting the Clinic working and serving the community

What is its top priority in the long run?

Duplication, sustainability and outreach

April 4, 2012

more

April 4, 2012

I first volunteered at Clinica Verde in October 2011, doing basic manual labor to help the clinic prepare for its January 2012 opening. I absolutely fell in love with the clinic, its mission and vision, and the potential to change lives. I came back to volunteer in December 2011, and then decided to spend a year as a volunteer - all of 2012. I am absolutely inspired by this clinic - the focus on women and children living in desperate poverty is so needed. The clinic gives the very poor a sense of dignity and worth ... such a critical first step in improving health and quality of life. Clinica Verde is a stunningly beautiful and clean facility, delivering high quality care to rural populations who have virtually no choices. Having spent more than three months at the clinic, I am seeing the tangible, measurable impact the clinic is having. I see women who have lived their whole lives on the margins of society begin to believe that perhaps there is a chance to be healthy, to care for their families. The statistics are daunting - extreme poverty, high rates of maternal and infant mortality, and very high rates of teen pregnancy. But, I believe so strongly that Clinica Verde can and will make a difference and begin changing those odds that I gladly gave up a year of my life to be a part of this amazing charity's work. The clinic is still new, so there are lots of changes, every day. But I am confident that Clinica Verde will have a major impact on the lives of poor women and children in Nicaragua.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 3, 2012

more

April 3, 2012

We all at one time or another have ideas on how to help someone but to see an individual put her idea into bricks and mortor to help thousands was truly inspiring. I was forturnate in being at the first meeting that Susan Lyons spoke about a clinic in Nicaragua to aid women and children. Now 4 years later I am blessed to know that in my own small way I contributed monthly to making Clinica Verde a reality. Susan kept us all up to date from the groundbreaking ceremony to seeing patients in the clinic. To know that these women can now deliver healthy babies and learn how to feed their families nutritious meals puts a smile on their faces and mine. Please give generously to Clinica Verde so they can continue to implement programs to enhance these patients lives and keep those smiles coming. Thank you.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 3, 2012

more

April 3, 2012

I have watched this vision that the founders had grow into a reality. I have visited the Clinic in Nicaragua and I know that it is serving the people that need help. It is truly amazing what has been accomplished by this wonderful nonprofit organization. I only wish I could give more monetarily to help keep it going. I do travel to Nicaragua to do other philanthropic tasks and I am very willing to help out as much as I can with Clinica Verde during these visits. Clinica Verde is a prime example of how a nonprofit should operate!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Help us spread the word! Have a Clinica Verde breakfast, raise awareness, encourage future supporters! Volunteer