Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
46 Reviews
1234.978265
| 1 2 3...5 |
Write A Review
August 15, 2013

more

August 15, 2013

Having spent 30+ years in non-profit leadership and development I have had the good fortune to experience many wonderful organizations. I can say without hesitation that Clinica Verde is one of the finest- in every respect. The leadership is second to none, the concept and mission are executed flawlessly and with great impact, the financial management is rigorous, frugal and highly effective, and the strategic and long-term vision are, in my opinion, spot-on. I am honored to be volunteering with these outstanding people to further the mission of this wonderful organization. I highly recommend Clinica Verde as a sound, high-impact investment for your philanthropic dollars.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I believe increasing capacity is the only change needed; doing so will allow further development of much-needed programs to serve even more needy families.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 15, 2013

more

August 15, 2013

Clinica Verde is a model organization, both as a novel approach to health care delivery as well as a client to work with. I worked with Clinica Verde as a member of a group of MBA students, consulting with Clinica Verde on a number of strategic decisions towards the goal of financial self-sustainability. Susan was incredibly excited, supportive, and responsive from the very first call and email I had with her back when we were looking for partner clients and organizations prior to beginning any project work with her and her team. That excitement and passion, not just for the work of the clinic but even for our team's involvement and the project we took on, only grew with every conversation we had with Susan or other members of the organization. During the time my team and I spent on the ground in Nicaragua and at the clinic, their dedication to their work and to helping us support and improve their work was tangibly evident. Moreover, the opportunity to interact with and experience first-hand the work of the clinic and the population they served was extremely rewarding both professionally and personally. From our conversations with clinic patients, staff, and the local community, it was clear that everyone was tremendously impressed and incredibly grateful for the work and impact Clinica Verde was doing and had already made in their first year of operations. In fact, the experience of working with Clinica Verde was so personally gratifying that I have not only pursued other global health opportunities as a career, but have stayed on to serve as an Advisor and continue my involvement with Susan and her team.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 14, 2013

more

August 14, 2013

Clinica Verde has filled a great void in the health services in a rural area of extreme poverty in Boaco with a quality medical services, and very efficient and compassionate providers. the impact that Clinica Verde has had on the communiries is serving is invaluable, the area it serves went from having a very limited or almost a non existing maternal - infant care presence to having a center of excellence in the maternal - infant care services.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of advisors?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 14, 2013

more

August 14, 2013

I worked on a team of MBA students that consulted for and worked with Clinica Verde on a number of important strategic decisions to put the organization on the right track financially. From the first call we had with Susan and the others, I knew this organization was special. You could hear the passion in their voices. As the months went on, the frequent conversations became more and more fruitful. The team and I had the fortunate opportunity to travel to Nicaragua to see the clinic and town with our own eyes, and that was a really special experience for me, not only professionally, but personally too. The project served as a great capstone experience to my time in business school. When the project came to an end, I didn't see myself walking away from Clinica for good, so I agreed to serve as an Advisor and am extremely happy to continue my involvement.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 14, 2013

more

August 14, 2013

Clinica Verde had me the very first time I heard its story. It is an inspiring, on the ground, effective, service provider that is changing lives. I finally got my chance to visit the clinic itself in February 2013 and it is everything we could have hoped, and more. In addition, being there made it so clear why Clinica Verde is such an important effort. Boaco has a huge number of private clinics and doctors but the vast majority of residents in the area have no access to health care at all. Susan Dix Lyons and the Board and the team on the ground are doing extremely important work. If you don't know Clinica Verde go to the website and see the videos. And get involved!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Help Clinica Verde raise enough money to continue free services to the needy and expand services to the counseling, nutrition services and older child and parent health care arena.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 14, 2013

more

August 14, 2013

We have been going to Nicaragua for the past ten years as worker bee volunteers in the construction of self-help housing for rural villagers. On one of those early trips to the Boaco area we were working alongside Tim and Susan Lyons, a doctor and wife team with a heart to help improve health care for the rural poor. Susan took the lead in creating this dream of a medical facility called Clinica Verde that is now seeing more than 1,300 patients a month. Our annual trips to this area are now focused on doing what we can to help the clinic and its patients. It is a model of what can be accomplished by a heart driven soul like Susan's and those who come alongside to make this clinic such a success. We are most appreciative of the opportunity we have to participate in this success story. May God bless Susan, her board of directors, and everyone else who has helped to make this a reality.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Help raise funds to duplicate this model clinic in other Nicaraguan villages and other countries in Central America.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 13, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

August 13, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Clinica Verde is the product of an incredible dream and serves not only to provide affordable and reliable health care, but to inform, respect, and educate all those who walk through their doors. The data and the numbers alone give an idea of just how many lives Clinca Verde has impacted, but my time there as a volunteer showed me something that data never could, and that is the way people change when they walk into the clinic. Individuals who have often travelled miles to get there with sick children in tow stand up straighter when they walk through the doors of Clinica Verde, an outward display of the sense of respect and dignity that going to the clinic gives them. Patients are often shocked at the outward beauty of the clinic, and the kindness, care, and concern that the staff and doctors show them. Clinica Verde is doing something wonderful and unique and I am very proud to have been a part of their vision.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 13, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

August 13, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

It's been a pleasure from start to finish to work with Clinica Verde. There are lots of opportunities for individuals looking to volunteer their time and effort, but the work I've been able to do for CV has by far been the most rewarding and enjoyable. Susan, Mary and the rest are inspiring, motivated and incredibly generous. I consider myself fortunate to have had the opportunity to work for such an incredible cause, with such an amazing group of people.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 28, 2012

more

April 28, 2012

Clinica Verde is the epitome of what a non-profit should be. Susan Dix has done a wonderful job with this project. It is an enviornmentally sustainable clinic that truly aims at helping those in need. Clinica Verde makes an enormous difference for the people living in Nicaragua. Receiving proper health care is something that is not attainable for many people. With this clinic, people can now receive adequate health care that would otherwise be very difficult to attain. Another great thing about this project is that it promotes health from the ground up. In order for people to have overall good health they need to be in a healthy environment and the clinic achieves that beautifully.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 5, 2012

more

April 5, 2012

Clinica Verde is a stand-alone, non-profit organization created in 2007 by a young wife and mother in the Napa Valley of CA, to build a “Global Prototype of an environmentally sustainable health clinic in a poor area of Nicaragua,” the second poorest country in the Western hemisphere.” The clinic’s focus is on prenatal care for women and pediatric care for children. These needs are brought home to me by two statistics that, in Nicaragua, natal mortality is 20 times that in the U. S. and 20 per cent of deaths among children under five are due to treatable causes.
The world is filled with desperate needs by poor people in dysfunctional countries and many charitable projects have been organized by well-meaning people to bring hope and change to their situations. Too often, the projects are poorly organized, poorly funded and poorly led. Predictably, their efforts raise false hopes, waste time and money and end in failure. Clinica Verde is an exception to this pattern. Susan Lyons, its founder and chairman, organized an outstanding Board, raised more than a million dollars from local sources and built a beautiful, environmentally sustainable health clinic which began operations in January of this year. The clinic now is providing outpatient services for the general public as well as targeted services for pregnant women and young children, and is doing so in a way which expresses compassion and respect for the people it serves, who, often, have experienced very little of either in their lives.
A common feeling expressed by many who enter the clinic is that they cannot believe such a beautiful place has been constructed for them, but it has been. And we now are considering possible ways to replicate the effort, with joint venture partners, in other impoverished areas of Nicaragua and the world.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Help us spread the word! Have a Clinica Verde breakfast, raise awareness, encourage future supporters! Volunteer