Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
19 Reviews
1234.789475
Previous | Next
Write A Review
April 21, 2014

more

Review from Guidestar
April 21, 2014

While the work of the organization is needed and has merit, how the executive director handles the business end of things has a lot to be desired. It's unfortunate that she feels that the how she runs the business doesn't matter as long as she is able to do the service, because doing business that way really doesn't honor the kids the organization is supposed to be serving.

She paid me in cash and never required a contract. Then she tried to pay me in clothes, so she could hide what she was doing from her husband and the board of directors. Then she finally gave me a check for $100 from the organization for work she never intended on letting me do. When I tried to call her on these and other questionable things she was doing, rather than take it as an opportunity to do the right thing, she retaliated and severed the relationship. She not only lied to her husband, but she wasn't honest with the board, either.

While the work needs to be done, it is wrong to use the organization as an excuse to do whatever you want. If she wants control and absolute say to do whatever she wants, then do it under a for-profit set up. Otherwise, she needs to learn that the resources and assets belong to the organization and are not her personal toy.

It's not an either/or thing. It has to be a both/and thing, and it's not that she can't do better, but rather she doesn't find it necessary to do better. It's unfortunate because how you run your business is what the IRS uses to determine whether or not you should have an exempt status or not, not on the services you provide.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Try to get the executive director to understand that when you have a business structure of an exempt organization, the assets belong to the organization, and it's your job to be a steward of the organization. You can't pick and choose what legal rules you will follow and when you will follow them based on how convenient it is to do it. You don't own a nonprofit organization. You work for one, even if you were the one to start it. If you want to own the work, then do the work as a for-profit.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

No

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

None

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Badly

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 21, 2013

more


1 previous review
June 12, 2012

I have been involved with ClearCause Foundation as a a web developer, helping the organization present their message clearly using the internet. During the time I have been involved with ClearCause Fo... more

August 21, 2013

I have been working with ClearCause Foundation as a volunteer and web designer for almost 2 years, and I am constantly amazed by the organization's ability to inspire change and bring awareness to safe global youth travel.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 12, 2012

I have been involved with ClearCause Foundation as a a web developer, helping the organization present their message clearly using the internet. During the time I have been involved with ClearCause Foundation, I have been very impressed with the fantastic work that they do to advocate for safe global youth travel; I am consistently humbled by how little parents and students know about safety while abroad. Donors, volunteers, and advocates should know that their donated time and resources helps ClearCause Foundation make tangible improvements in students' lives.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of advisors?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 16, 2013

more

August 16, 2013

I found Sheryl via indepth internet research over a year ago after the lost of my son on a study abroad program 100% preventable and because of the program's careless decision making. I researched because I wanted to know how many students like my son lost their lives carelessly, how many were injured, what oversight are there on these programs, what laws were there. I found out there was nothing that protects our students and no accountability. The pain, the lost, the despair, how this have taken down what we have built as a happy family MUST never happen to another student and family. I thought I was very thorough...my son was too. Did everything was advised to do...printed embassy information, he received his 8 shots for the jungle, got all meds advised. Went above and beyond got him a snake boot to protect him. It was the decision of the program. I like Sheryl and ClearCause advocate for the safety for your kids...we no longer fight for our own.

They get away with it, their programs go on. Look at it in this way...they get to commit murder without with careless decision and get away.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers