Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
16 Reviews
1234.8755
Write A Review
October 17, 2013

more

October 17, 2013

The Clay Center is a 'diamond in the rough' of Charleston, WV. Whenever we have guest from out of State we always take them there for a show, activity, movie, art, Planetarium....Just a lovely place of culture and sophistication, too. LOVE the Theatre! So beautifully designed and not one bad seat in the house. Lovely!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Have more 'free' events or opportunities for low-income children and families to be able to attend events.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Unsure

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 17, 2013

more

October 17, 2013

It's shocking that this beautiful venue is in teeny charleston wv. A jewel in the rough is how I would describe. Never in charleston have we had such great cultural activities and variety if artists to see. Typically we were offered country, rock or religious acts but clay center mixes it up and gives us a huge selection of acts, shows, concerts and more. The events are also reasonably priced. Definitely one if THE noteworthy things in West Virginia.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 12, 2013

more

October 12, 2013

The Clay Center has so many wonderful events throughout the year. It has kid friendly events, as well as, events for adults. Our family goes often. We definitely take advantage of it in the winter months. It's a great excuse to get out of the house.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 11, 2013

more

October 11, 2013

We have always thoroughly enjoyed our time at the Clay Center. From attending shows, to hosting my children's birthday parties, we have always had a wonderful experience. The interactive exhibits are educational and fun for my young girls! Great staff to greet you with a warm smile and helping hands! Entertainment and enjoyment for ALL ages!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 11, 2013

more

October 11, 2013

The Clay Center makes me smile :) I've had so many wonderful experiences there with my family. When my husband & I were dating, he first took me there to see the symphony for Valentine's Day. Since then we've experienced so many great acts, plays and other performances. I LOVE this place and the staff & volunteers. Everyone is so helpful & efficient. It's a true WV gem. ~Samantha Fooce

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Unsure

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 9, 2013

more

October 9, 2013

Civic and business leaders, along with arts organizations studied what we wanted for the Center for the Arts and Sciences of West Virginia for over a decade before we started construction. We wanted to bring Education, Economic Development, and Entertainment to the city, region and State. The Clay Foundation and family, along with many people, businesses, organizations and government helped us achieve our goals and promises. Ten years after its opening, I believe we have delivered on our promises of the 3 E's, plus more. I am so proud of the employees, volunteers, individuals, and businesses that have made the Clay Center the vibrant economic, entertainment, and educational centerpiece of our city, region, and State. Thanks to everyone who helped make this dream a reality. We look forward to continued success in the next decade and beyond. Former Board Chair, Andrew K Teeter

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 9, 2013

more

October 9, 2013

The Clay Center has been a resource for my family since its inception. I was introduced to it when my children were small and loved attending the science museum, which is entertaining and geared toward inquisitive kids. As an adult, I also found the Clay Center to be rewarding for a varied stream of musical performances in a performance hall that boasts sterling sound quality for a concert experience, as well as the art museum. Over the years, the Clay Center's performance lineup has shifted to include acts by emerging artists on the way up (bolstered by its periodic hosting of Mountain Stage performances) in addition to well-known artists. This shift shows the Center's focus on reaching all age groups in its programming and developing the next generation of subscribers. Charleston is a small city, and West Virginia a smaller state, so it is a treasure to have such a fabulous performing hall, science museum and art museum all under one roof.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 7, 2013

more

October 7, 2013

During its first ten years of serving West Virginia and the entire tri-state area, the Clay Center for the Arts and Sciences has become the regional place to go for great entertainment and unique educational experiences for children and adults of all ages. From Tony Bennett to the Jonas Brothers and from Broadway to ballet, the multiple genres offered by the Clay Center have made the performing arts available and attractive to every sector of our society. And with the spectacular art exhibits and the science museum, there are visual arts and educational offerings for everyone. The performance hall accommodates not only outstanding musical acts and theatrical performances, it also serves as home to the West Virginia Symphony, one of the gems of our region.

The first ten years have been a time of incredible growth and maturity for the Clay Center, and the obvious trajectory points to even greater things to come.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 4, 2013

more

October 4, 2013

The Clay Center offers everything to inspire and delight. An acoustically perfect performance hall, great art and science exhibits for kids and adults alike, and terrific programming of all sorts across the State of West Virginia. Like our State Capitol, it takes my breath away every time I enter (especially at night!).

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 4, 2013

more

October 4, 2013

I have been a Board Member of the Clay Center for the Arts & Sciences of West Virginia. One of the most important reasons I enjoy this honor just to see the growing impact to and for the community. Exhibits, performances, interactive displays create a meaningful environment.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Lead a group of local students on a tour through the art gallery. Volunteer