Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
29 Reviews
1234.965525
Write A Review
October 31, 2014

more

October 31, 2014

The CCC had become my place of "community. " They foster education and culture for all people and have created a space for creativity, and thinking outside the box. They are bridging faiths and cultures through their inclusive approach, and expand people's thinking around art and music. The CCC embraces people of all places in our world. Thank you CCC for supporting the arts!
October 31, 2014

more

October 31, 2014

I am the art coordinator for Clarkston Community Center--three years and counting. I contact artists and schedule fine art shows at the Center--six per year. In doing so, we are bringing outstanding fine art in a variety of mediums and styles to an underserved community. In this role, I have come to know the Center well and its extraordinary impact and value to this amazingly diverse community--considered one of the most ethnically diverse towns in the United States. The scope of CCC's services, from its Food Security Program, After School, GED, ESL and Senior Refugee programs to its sports and arts programs, festivals and performing arts programs brings the community together in a way that no other organization does or could do. I love hearing the comments on the art we hang from the various people of all ages--everyone is an art critic! Clarkston Community Center enriches--and sometimes saves--the lives of all those who come here. -- Judith Schonbak
October 8, 2013

more


1 previous review
October 26, 2012

There is no better warm, loving, supportive place in Clarkston than the CCC. I have volunteered to do anything from installing door stops to writing a newsletter and will always support our place. E... more

October 8, 2013

I'm both a volunteer and and a client served, taking Tai Chi class, attending the Bluegrass Festival and especially the Farmer's Market. The Farmer's Market is my favorite since it has grown to include art from the locals. They've worked so hard to add vendors and provide a mix of everything that's relevant to the visitors.
I love seeing the kids at the after-school program studying, the soccer field and basketball court filled with kids & teens.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

While it expands everyone's perception to have a global perspective, I think the past year has been significant in serving more locals in the nearby African-American community and we need to keep that up for Clarkston. But I wouldn't change anything within this organization.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 26, 2012

There is no better warm, loving, supportive place in Clarkston than the CCC. I have volunteered to do anything from installing door stops to writing a newsletter and will always support our place. Everyone I have met here is unique, helpful, smart and brings an element of fun and joy to every activity here. I take Tai Chi classes, enjoy music, help with reading programs and donate anything I can. This place has blossomed into a heart of our community! I am very thankful and proud to live here!!!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 28, 2014

more


2 previous reviews - show all
September 5, 2013

I volunteer with Clarkston Community Center in their Clarkston Youth Initiative. Specifically, I help with the college preparation program. I can honestly say this is some of the most meaningful wor... more

October 28, 2014

I have worked with many non-profits that serve low-income communities. I can honestly say that Clarkston Community Center is genuinely an organization guided by the community it serves. With incredible diversity and a community struggling with poverty, CCC answers the call by providing innovative programming to support young people in their education; adults in their workforce skills, and elderly with care and nurturing.

It's an amazing place and I'm proud to work with them!

Tonja Holder
Durga Consulting
September 5, 2013

I volunteer with Clarkston Community Center in their Clarkston Youth Initiative. Specifically, I help with the college preparation program. I can honestly say this is some of the most meaningful work I do every week. The community is wonderful and Clarkston Community Center is the center of so much positive energy for the community. The people I have met through CCC have been some of the most interesting and funny and kind people I know.

If you ever have an opportunity, volunteer or support this organization!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 17, 2012

I have volunteered with Clarkston Community Center for several years now. The CCC truly embraces the philosophy and values of a community center. Residents and community members make CCC what it is today. The programs support young people, seniors and refugees. The center is used by community groups for meetings, concerts, dances, festivals, sporting events and more. Any time I visit Clarkston Community Center, I come away with a smile and with ever more affection for such an extraordinary community.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 26, 2013

more

August 26, 2013

"A gathering place for art, education, recreation, and community building", and that's exactly what the Clarkston Community Center is. I'm one of the leaders from the Clarkston Youth Initiative and it's a joy to know that, it was at the CCC where our group was born and has grown up from the past few years. Being apart of the CCC's family for the past 3 years has meant a lot to me, and will continue my participation as long as I can. I highly recommend that people come and contribute to the different programs and amazing opportunities we offer here at the Clarkston Community Center. Being involved is the way to go!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 21, 2013

more

August 21, 2013

I have to say Clarkston Community Center unites the city and welcomes everyone with warm open arms. The residents of Clarkston are lucky to have CCC in their midst.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 21, 2013

more

August 21, 2013

Clarkston Community Center makes room for everyone to participate, explore and build bridges. It truly is a community center. I have volunteered with the Center at various times. More recently, I am working with Clarkston Youth Initiative and the area youth on college preparation. The youth are the most wonderful kids I have had the pleasure to know. Staff and management are very supportive in providing us space, networking and more.

This summer we conducted a SAT boot-camp. The kids took a full SAT test at the beginning of the boot-camp and at the end. Every student increased their score by atleast 300 points!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

integrate technology to accurately measure the number of people who use the Center and the various reasons why people come.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 14, 2013

more

August 14, 2013

This valuable community gathering place makes Clarkston a better place to live by welcoming so many educational and artistic programs to its beautiful old building.
In reaching out to diverse ethnic communities , the center builds bridges between old residents and new, and improves the lives
of all with its farmers market, sports programs, classes, and special events.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 19, 2012

more

October 19, 2012

Once a neighbor asked me what the Clarkston Community Center had to offer. I took a deep breath and starting listing the benefits: Classes such as Tai Chi, Yoga, Zumba, & Contra Dancing….art, music, festivals, farmers market, vegetable gardens, summer camp, bicycle repair shop…volunteer opportunities such as after school programs, ESL (English as a Second Language) classes…beautiful rooms to rent (very reasonable price) for receptions, dinners, community meetings….. information center with flyers…and so much more. Our Clarkson Community Center not only provides a place to participate and network with our diverse community, but also a place to contribute and share.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 16, 2012

more

October 16, 2012

The Clarkston Community Center has been home to a musical community which I host, called Goatville Jam, for more than 6 years. This monthly country music jam has benefitted greatly from the CCC's cooperative staff, its upkeep of its facilities, and its belief in cultural diversity. My wife and I served on the CCC board several years ago. It was at the encouragement of then-executive director John O'Kelley that I brought the jam to Clarkston from midtown Atlanta. Several regulars at the jam have branched into songwriting, using the jam to try out their latest creations and gather critiques. A typical jam will include instrumentalists on fiddle, guitar, steel guitar, drum kit, cahon, mandolin, bass and accordion backing up a half-dozen vocalists. Over the years we have collected lyrics and chords to more than 250 classic country songs, and video clips from some of our jams are in the YouTube collection. CCC is a valuable asset run by good people. We collect $5 a head for musicians and audience members alike as a thank-you to the CCC for its loyalty to Goatville Jam.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

teach children in afterschool program, socialize with and help seniors live independent, active livesplay with dirt at our community gardenhelp receive, sort, package and distribute food from our food bank, staff a booth at farmers marketplay soccer, basketball and other sports with our kidsassist refugee adults with vocabulary and topics for GED prepcommunity service days - clean up of center's campusand much, much more. Call us! Volunteer