Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
21 Reviews
1234.952385
| 1 2 | Next
Write A Review
November 7, 2012

more

November 7, 2012

The CCC provides a wide ranging series of programs that directly affect all of us who live in The greater Clarkston area in a positive way. it is the cultural and social hub of the area in addition to providing much needed services to the community.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 6, 2012

more

November 6, 2012

CCC is a unique place for cultures to intersect. As I walk down the hall to a synagogue choir rehearsal I pass a large room and hear powerful African drumming . I see people coming in from the ecologically advanced designed community garden and see children playing and older adults in conversation. It is a true blessing to the community. The summer market is also a collection of multicultural experiences and goods.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 30, 2012

more

October 30, 2012

I dance nearly every Friday night with the Chattahoochee Country Dancers, and am astounded by the fabulous work being done at the Clarkston Community Center. From the Local Farmers Market, to Art Exibits, Yoga, Zumba, ESL classes, this place is always hopping with activity. And it's all centered around bringing people together, building community, and fostering friendships among the most diverse demographic spectrum imaginable. I'm so thankful for the CCC and all the blessings it brings to us.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 19, 2012

more

October 19, 2012

I have served on the CCC Board for about seven years and have found the growth in programs, volunteers and collaboration to be very encouraging. The Clarkston area is a very diverse area with many immigrants. Through the efforts of the CCC, the city and small but growing business community we are making real progress in reaching the good people of the area and Central DeKalb. We and our partners offer ESL, Student Success after school programs, a community garden, a periodic Farmers Market, Friday night dances through the Chattahoochee Contra Dancers, programs for seniors, Tai Chi, Yoga, soccer and basketball; and event rentals including the beautiful Angora Hall. Local entertainers and artists use the CCC on a regular basis. Consider getting involved!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 19, 2012

more

October 19, 2012

I love the CCC! I have volunteered there only once; mostly I just enjoy going there and experiencing the life of the community. My husband, daughter and I have all made music with the folks at "Goatville Jam", a wonderful group of pickers, strummers and singers. While we're there playing old-time American country music, we see African dancers practicing in one part of the CCC and immigrants studying for the citizenship test in another. We've enjoyed the photography exhibits and the monthly farmers' market as well. This is a real COMMUNITY center with something for everyone!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 19, 2012

more

October 19, 2012

Once a neighbor asked me what the Clarkston Community Center had to offer. I took a deep breath and starting listing the benefits: Classes such as Tai Chi, Yoga, Zumba, & Contra Dancing….art, music, festivals, farmers market, vegetable gardens, summer camp, bicycle repair shop…volunteer opportunities such as after school programs, ESL (English as a Second Language) classes…beautiful rooms to rent (very reasonable price) for receptions, dinners, community meetings….. information center with flyers…and so much more. Our Clarkson Community Center not only provides a place to participate and network with our diverse community, but also a place to contribute and share.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 18, 2012

more

October 18, 2012

It is my honor to be on board and serve the community in fact I know Clarkston Community Center helped a lot of people and the change people’s life. when you change people’s life you give them hope and when they have hope they will be creative (The Journey of a Thousand Miles Begins with One Step)

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 16, 2012

more

October 16, 2012

The Clarkston Community Center has been home to a musical community which I host, called Goatville Jam, for more than 6 years. This monthly country music jam has benefitted greatly from the CCC's cooperative staff, its upkeep of its facilities, and its belief in cultural diversity. My wife and I served on the CCC board several years ago. It was at the encouragement of then-executive director John O'Kelley that I brought the jam to Clarkston from midtown Atlanta. Several regulars at the jam have branched into songwriting, using the jam to try out their latest creations and gather critiques. A typical jam will include instrumentalists on fiddle, guitar, steel guitar, drum kit, cahon, mandolin, bass and accordion backing up a half-dozen vocalists. Over the years we have collected lyrics and chords to more than 250 classic country songs, and video clips from some of our jams are in the YouTube collection. CCC is a valuable asset run by good people. We collect $5 a head for musicians and audience members alike as a thank-you to the CCC for its loyalty to Goatville Jam.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

teach children in afterschool program, socialize with and help seniors live independent, active livesplay with dirt at our community gardenhelp receive, sort, package and distribute food from our food bank, staff a booth at farmers marketplay soccer, basketball and other sports with our kidsassist refugee adults with vocabulary and topics for GED prepcommunity service days - clean up of center's campusand much, much more. Call us! Volunteer