Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
29 Reviews
1234.965525
Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review
October 31, 2014

more

October 31, 2014

I came to CCC as a volunteer for Hands on Atlanta Day. After taking a tour of the facility, I found that a lot of the programs offered by the center were things I shared an interest in; such after school programs, senior refugee programs and artist programs. I volunteered to help with programs and joined the board.
Since becoming a part of the Clarkston Community Center family, I have had the opportunity to meet and work with people from different cultures and we have bonded together to form a community working for common goals.
I really love the Clarkston Community Center and plan on being of service as much as I can to help it grow.

Lesley Dixon
Clarkston Community Center BOD
October 31, 2014

more

October 31, 2014

The CCC had become my place of "community. " They foster education and culture for all people and have created a space for creativity, and thinking outside the box. They are bridging faiths and cultures through their inclusive approach, and expand people's thinking around art and music. The CCC embraces people of all places in our world. Thank you CCC for supporting the arts!
October 31, 2014

more

October 31, 2014

The CCC is a wonderful venue for all kinds of activities. It is always hopping with unique and fun events like contra dancing, Fall Festivals, Thanksgiving Potlucks not to mention offering great programs like the food bank, gardens and art classes.
October 31, 2014

more

October 31, 2014

I am the art coordinator for Clarkston Community Center--three years and counting. I contact artists and schedule fine art shows at the Center--six per year. In doing so, we are bringing outstanding fine art in a variety of mediums and styles to an underserved community. In this role, I have come to know the Center well and its extraordinary impact and value to this amazingly diverse community--considered one of the most ethnically diverse towns in the United States. The scope of CCC's services, from its Food Security Program, After School, GED, ESL and Senior Refugee programs to its sports and arts programs, festivals and performing arts programs brings the community together in a way that no other organization does or could do. I love hearing the comments on the art we hang from the various people of all ages--everyone is an art critic! Clarkston Community Center enriches--and sometimes saves--the lives of all those who come here. -- Judith Schonbak
October 31, 2014

more

October 31, 2014

Never have I experienced a community center that so completely embodies that name. The CCC has truly become the center of our community and a beloved and invaluable member of the community as well.
I have worked with a lot of non-profits, both in community service and in the arts, and rarely
have I seen one that does so much, so right.
The CCC is a cornerstone of our community, and also has thriving relationships with our other cornerstones, making the overall community much stronger. I love having the CCC as my neighbor, as part of my community -- and, speaking as someone who's also made a career in community service and non-profit work, they are a great inspiration to me in my own work as well.
October 31, 2014

more

October 31, 2014

The core work of the Clarkston Community Center is community building and individual empowerment which it does through an emphasis on life skills education, arts and culture, sustenance and community resources. The voice of the community is the driving force behind all that we do. Every time you walk in the Center you are met with a buzz of positive creative energy.
October 30, 2014

more

October 30, 2014

I have had the opportunity to see what the Clarkston Community Center is doing to serve the Clarkston Community and the skill and dedication of its staff and volunteers as they serve. It is humbling to see the commitment of people to each other and to their mutual welfare displayed in and around the activities of the Center.
October 28, 2014

more


2 previous reviews - show all
September 5, 2013

I volunteer with Clarkston Community Center in their Clarkston Youth Initiative. Specifically, I help with the college preparation program. I can honestly say this is some of the most meaningful wor... more

October 28, 2014

I have worked with many non-profits that serve low-income communities. I can honestly say that Clarkston Community Center is genuinely an organization guided by the community it serves. With incredible diversity and a community struggling with poverty, CCC answers the call by providing innovative programming to support young people in their education; adults in their workforce skills, and elderly with care and nurturing.

It's an amazing place and I'm proud to work with them!

Tonja Holder
Durga Consulting
September 5, 2013

I volunteer with Clarkston Community Center in their Clarkston Youth Initiative. Specifically, I help with the college preparation program. I can honestly say this is some of the most meaningful work I do every week. The community is wonderful and Clarkston Community Center is the center of so much positive energy for the community. The people I have met through CCC have been some of the most interesting and funny and kind people I know.

If you ever have an opportunity, volunteer or support this organization!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 17, 2012

I have volunteered with Clarkston Community Center for several years now. The CCC truly embraces the philosophy and values of a community center. Residents and community members make CCC what it is today. The programs support young people, seniors and refugees. The center is used by community groups for meetings, concerts, dances, festivals, sporting events and more. Any time I visit Clarkston Community Center, I come away with a smile and with ever more affection for such an extraordinary community.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 8, 2013

more


1 previous review
October 26, 2012

There is no better warm, loving, supportive place in Clarkston than the CCC. I have volunteered to do anything from installing door stops to writing a newsletter and will always support our place. E... more

October 8, 2013

I'm both a volunteer and and a client served, taking Tai Chi class, attending the Bluegrass Festival and especially the Farmer's Market. The Farmer's Market is my favorite since it has grown to include art from the locals. They've worked so hard to add vendors and provide a mix of everything that's relevant to the visitors.
I love seeing the kids at the after-school program studying, the soccer field and basketball court filled with kids & teens.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

While it expands everyone's perception to have a global perspective, I think the past year has been significant in serving more locals in the nearby African-American community and we need to keep that up for Clarkston. But I wouldn't change anything within this organization.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 26, 2012

There is no better warm, loving, supportive place in Clarkston than the CCC. I have volunteered to do anything from installing door stops to writing a newsletter and will always support our place. Everyone I have met here is unique, helpful, smart and brings an element of fun and joy to every activity here. I take Tai Chi classes, enjoy music, help with reading programs and donate anything I can. This place has blossomed into a heart of our community! I am very thankful and proud to live here!!!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 9, 2013

more


1 previous review
December 15, 2012

As an employee, I can say that it's as much of a pleasure to work at the Clarkston Community Center as it is to participate in the wonderful events that bring the Clarkston community together. more

September 9, 2013

The Center has provided crucial support for community building in the Clarkston area for several years. More recently, the Center has begun expanding the number and variety of services it offers to local residents. As a result, the Center now plays a central role in improving the lives of many in the Clarkston community.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

December 15, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

As an employee, I can say that it's as much of a pleasure to work at the Clarkston Community Center as it is to participate in the wonderful events that bring the Clarkston community together.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

teach children in afterschool program, socialize with and help seniors live independent, active livesplay with dirt at our community gardenhelp receive, sort, package and distribute food from our food bank, staff a booth at farmers marketplay soccer, basketball and other sports with our kidsassist refugee adults with vocabulary and topics for GED prepcommunity service days - clean up of center's campusand much, much more. Call us! Volunteer