Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
27 Reviews
1234.851855
Previous | Next
Write A Review
June 13, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more

June 13, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

Animals at this "FARM" are all in terrible states of health.
SIX have died in SIX MONTHS!~~
They arrive here & they die.
One arrived in late March & by April 16th, 2014 we saw posts of his almost NEAR DEATH!
Photographs of blood and an animal NOT SEDATED.
The owner by his own
admission allows his sheep to carry 50 + pounds of wool in the HORRIBLE Northeast Florida heat because to quote him " I cannot catch them" .
I recently saw photos from this past weekend of these sheep and their coats are
disgusting dirty and matted and filled with their excrement in the rear.
How can they eliminate if their wool is matted?
In April, CJ ACRES almost KILLED Two " NEW" RESIDENTs.
They gelded a donkey & by their own Admission that donkey "BLED OUT" and almost died.
On the same day a ram had an "ALLERGIC" reaction to anesthesia & also almost died.
Two botched procedures in one day?
Kevin the Rooster arrived in August 2013 and was dead by November 2013.
The Rescue posted photographs of the gelding procedure and the Donkey was NOT sedated, there is a man ( the man who runs the rescue) wearing gloves - holding the donkey's legs with a rope that is
SO TAUT that you can see the muscles in the donkey's leg moving -
which meant the DONKEY, a terrified & sentient being was indeed NOT sedated.
A sentient animal at a " rescue" GELDED and not sedated? Why?
Anyone familiar w/animal husbandry and equine KNOWS you do NOT Geld Donkeys
especially if they are over 12 years old as was the case with this one.
He, then posted a " plea " for monies to cover this botched procedure -
which took place on GRASS with no sheet and no clean area.
The donkey is SHOWN bleeding on the grass.
Grass means bugs, ants, and dirt and infection.
But the owner of this rescue DOES not have any common sense.
No responsible animal owner allows a 2 hour bleed out & a surgical procedure done ON GRASS!
Five to Six animals died between September 2013 and February 2014.
There is a revolving door of volunteers and NONE of them are familiar with animal husbandry.
Photos have been posted of the Mustangs coming out of winter with their Hip Bones
And RIBS showing.
These are the alleged "MIRACLE " Mustangs.
Any Horse Vet would tell you it is a miracle they did not DIE due to exposure & lack of food at this locale.
Florida was hit by the Polar Vortex TWICE this winter and to see mustangs so thin their ribs show- makes it evident that CJ ACRES does not tend to its animals and is UNDESERVING OF ANY MONIES.
This 501 (C) is currently being sued over the above mentioned donkey & a few other animals on his farm. Most 501 (c) deserving of money do NOT go to court and fight to keep animals they almost killed.
His pastures are filled with sand and weeds up to the horses withers.
Talk to the previous members of the Board of Directors and you will learn they ALL RESIGNED
as they could not work with the man who runs this "RESCUE"
He has even gone so far as to buy cute piglets and then post that the responsible owner he bought them from was actually "Being Investigated" again SO FAR FROM THE TRUTH, that when she learned of this
She advised him to remove his slanderous posts on Facebook & he did.
There is no "REHAB" at this locale, I understand the Mustangs are so feral they cannot be properly Vaccinated for East West Nile Virus, nor from what I could see at the Fundraiser I attended,
have they seen a Farrier in years.
As we all know an equine's hooves are it's health.
We have documented hooves so long on videos and photos the equine seem to have an odd gait.
The man who runs this "Sanctuary" has never adopted an animal out in the past two years,
I visited CJ ACRES & was shocked at the horrible conditions of the pastures and the extremely thin horses. Recently at an event I saw Esteban the Turkey, who appears to have been attacked by another animal.
I asked the owner, who does their hooves, in one breath he claimed he did & in the next he stated he could not CATCH the sheep nor the mustangs to tend their hooves.
SAVE YOUR MONEY AND DO NOT DONATE TO CJ ACRES!
Animals arrive and then die.
So many BAD REVIEWS went up on the FACEBOOK page that the administrator
moved the " REVIEWS" ~ so one has to SEARCH for them ~they are now hidden!~
That should speak to the integrity of this 501 (c)
He cannot afford a 500.00 Vet Bill ( Posted on Social Media)
but he can afford an Event called "WINE WITH THE SWINE"
Should this 501 ( c ) spend the money on his animals instead of wine?
Why is his board of directors ( if it exists) so silent on the many deaths & terrible states of the animals?
IF Farm Sanctuary is the GOLD Standard -- CJ ACRES ANIMAL RESCUE FARM should be shut down.
Or have their 501 (s) status revoked.
SAVE YOUR MONEY
GO TO OTHER 501 (c) who do NOT have a revolving door or volunteers.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would hire an interim director & get the Clay County Officials involved & ask that they walk through premises I would get the horses and mustangs on a proper diet. Volunteers should KNOW basic ANIMAL HUSBANDRY facts. Horse Weight. Horse Grooming. Shearing of Sheep. MOW the pastures & Provide CLEAN WATER & Shelter for all the animals. The brown dirty water buckets should NEVER be acceptable. I would ask that all Feed Store & Vet Bills & Schedule Be posted PUBLICLY for our review.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unsure

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

April 22, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 22, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I am proud to have donated to CJ Acres numerous times over the past several years. It is completely volunteer-run, which means your money is going directly to help the animals. CJ Acres in an incredible place, both for it's rescued animal residents, and for the inspiration and education it provides for its visitors. I highly reccanend visiting, volunteering, and donating!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Move them closer to Orlando so I could visit and volunteer more often!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 30, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 30, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

We and the rescued animals are beyond fortunate to have CJ Acres here in Northeast Florida. Lee Sackett's tireless energy and dedication benefit not only the lucky animals who call CJ Acres home, but also the community. Here's how: In addtition to their fundamental rescue mission, CJ Acres educates and reaches out the community, With Lee's expertise and sensitivity, the animal ambassadors provide information and are living testimonials to help people make the personal connection between farm animal exploitation and their plates. The CJ Acres team does a great job participating in outreach events that help bring CJ Acres to the public, as well as organize ongoing events that bring people to CJ Acres -- all the while prioritizing care of the animals.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Clone Lee! Seriously, it's not just Lee but his passionate team of volunteers and board members who pull this off. I'd like interest and funds to increase to such an extreme that they could rescue more animals and do even more outreac. LIke other farmed animal rescues/sanctuaries, their mission should ultimately be to phase themselves out. That's why the education and outreach is key. But until we get animals off our plates, we need places like CJ Acres.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 23, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 23, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I am a volunteer and a donor to CJ Acres Animal Rescue Farm. I can't think of a more deserving charity. All the money goes to the care of the animals--nobody takes a salary from this organization. Everyone, including the Lead Mare (Executive Director) is a volunteer. The animals receive the best care. The animals may be adopted, and if not, they end up with a wonderful home for life right there at CJ Acres Animal Rescue Farm. CJ Acres is straightforward, honest, and does a fantastic job.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

. . . create an endowment to fund the organization.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers