Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
28 Reviews
1234.714295
Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review
July 18, 2014
3 people found this review helpful

more

July 18, 2014
3 people found this review helpful

I have watched this "Rescue" and I have many concerns.
They posted on July 7, that they are taking in PIGS that are coming from PETA.
This week, they have been exposed as having lied about this.
They posted on their own FACEBOOK Page that people should donate to CJ ACRES for PETA and
these pigs.
The pigs are NOT coming to this Rescue.
PETA has publicly tweeted this fact.
Why would anyone donate to PETA via an intermediary?
Why would any reputable Rescue lie about this?
It is obvious that now PETA is onto this scam and their legal department is involved.
On Social Media, via Facebook it is OBVIOUS this 501 is lying to the public to get their money.
I cannot imagine how the people of Jacksonville and North Florida are so fooled by this place.
I have seen in my Animal Circles on Google + and my Horse groups that there is a Mustang here named STAR, and that she may be being starved as well.
The photo that has gone viral does not look good for this 501 (c).
First a Mustang being starved and then the FAKE claim about getting Pigs from PETA.
This is shameful.
They even have posted that they want $35.00. for these pigs.
PIGS THAT ARE NOT ARRIVING HERE.
PETA has emphatically stated this publicly.
There is duplicity going on at this Rescue.
Again, if you donate for PETA, in 2014, you can easily donate DIRECTLY to PETA.
I understand from PETA's Tweets on Twitter, their CID is now involved.

This "Rescue " has shown, that they are not really compassionate.
They do not care about animals.
I have watched them and spoken to people who have worked as "volunteers".

I noticed that when the "REVIEWS" began to feature photographs of animals that are here
especially the Horses and especially questions, again, about another PIG incident.
The "REVIEW" feature was hidden.
A purchase made by this Rescue, with the Receipt provided by a prior member of the board of directors, that the FACEBOOK page suddenly HID the "REVIEW" Feature and then completely
got rid of it.
They also changed the ability to post photos on their page.
What is going on here?
What has this Rescue to hide.
Save your money.
Give to those that are reputable and that do excellent work.
This 501 (c) has only been around since 2009 and by 2014 they are lying and using PETA's name?
This is not right.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would ask that they post their financial information on GUIDESTAR as all other non profits do.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Badly

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A little

Will you recommend this organization to others?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 13, 2014
4 people found this review helpful

more

June 13, 2014
4 people found this review helpful

Animals at this "FARM" are all in terrible states of health.
SIX have died in SIX MONTHS!~~
They arrive here & they die.
One arrived in late March & by April 16th, 2014 we saw posts of his almost NEAR DEATH!
Photographs of blood and an animal NOT SEDATED.
The owner by his own
admission allows his sheep to carry 50 + pounds of wool in the HORRIBLE Northeast Florida heat because to quote him " I cannot catch them" .
I recently saw photos from this past weekend of these sheep and their coats are
disgusting dirty and matted and filled with their excrement in the rear.
How can they eliminate if their wool is matted?
In April, CJ ACRES almost KILLED Two " NEW" RESIDENTs.
They gelded a donkey & by their own Admission that donkey "BLED OUT" and almost died.
On the same day a ram had an "ALLERGIC" reaction to anesthesia & also almost died.
Two botched procedures in one day?
Kevin the Rooster arrived in August 2013 and was dead by November 2013.
The Rescue posted photographs of the gelding procedure and the Donkey was NOT sedated, there is a man ( the man who runs the rescue) wearing gloves - holding the donkey's legs with a rope that is
SO TAUT that you can see the muscles in the donkey's leg moving -
which meant the DONKEY, a terrified & sentient being was indeed NOT sedated.
A sentient animal at a " rescue" GELDED and not sedated? Why?
Anyone familiar w/animal husbandry and equine KNOWS you do NOT Geld Donkeys
especially if they are over 12 years old as was the case with this one.
He, then posted a " plea " for monies to cover this botched procedure -
which took place on GRASS with no sheet and no clean area.
The donkey is SHOWN bleeding on the grass.
Grass means bugs, ants, and dirt and infection.
But the owner of this rescue DOES not have any common sense.
No responsible animal owner allows a 2 hour bleed out & a surgical procedure done ON GRASS!
Five to Six animals died between September 2013 and February 2014.
There is a revolving door of volunteers and NONE of them are familiar with animal husbandry.
Photos have been posted of the Mustangs coming out of winter with their Hip Bones
And RIBS showing.
These are the alleged "MIRACLE " Mustangs.
Any Horse Vet would tell you it is a miracle they did not DIE due to exposure & lack of food at this locale.
Florida was hit by the Polar Vortex TWICE this winter and to see mustangs so thin their ribs show- makes it evident that CJ ACRES does not tend to its animals and is UNDESERVING OF ANY MONIES.
This 501 (C) is currently being sued over the above mentioned donkey & a few other animals on his farm. Most 501 (c) deserving of money do NOT go to court and fight to keep animals they almost killed.
His pastures are filled with sand and weeds up to the horses withers.
Talk to the previous members of the Board of Directors and you will learn they ALL RESIGNED
as they could not work with the man who runs this "RESCUE"
He has even gone so far as to buy cute piglets and then post that the responsible owner he bought them from was actually "Being Investigated" again SO FAR FROM THE TRUTH, that when she learned of this
She advised him to remove his slanderous posts on Facebook & he did.
There is no "REHAB" at this locale, I understand the Mustangs are so feral they cannot be properly Vaccinated for East West Nile Virus, nor from what I could see at the Fundraiser I attended,
have they seen a Farrier in years.
As we all know an equine's hooves are it's health.
We have documented hooves so long on videos and photos the equine seem to have an odd gait.
The man who runs this "Sanctuary" has never adopted an animal out in the past two years,
I visited CJ ACRES & was shocked at the horrible conditions of the pastures and the extremely thin horses. Recently at an event I saw Esteban the Turkey, who appears to have been attacked by another animal.
I asked the owner, who does their hooves, in one breath he claimed he did & in the next he stated he could not CATCH the sheep nor the mustangs to tend their hooves.
SAVE YOUR MONEY AND DO NOT DONATE TO CJ ACRES!
Animals arrive and then die.
So many BAD REVIEWS went up on the FACEBOOK page that the administrator
moved the " REVIEWS" ~ so one has to SEARCH for them ~they are now hidden!~
That should speak to the integrity of this 501 (c)
He cannot afford a 500.00 Vet Bill ( Posted on Social Media)
but he can afford an Event called "WINE WITH THE SWINE"
Should this 501 ( c ) spend the money on his animals instead of wine?
Why is his board of directors ( if it exists) so silent on the many deaths & terrible states of the animals?
IF Farm Sanctuary is the GOLD Standard -- CJ ACRES ANIMAL RESCUE FARM should be shut down.
Or have their 501 (s) status revoked.
SAVE YOUR MONEY
GO TO OTHER 501 (c) who do NOT have a revolving door or volunteers.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would hire an interim director & get the Clay County Officials involved & ask that they walk through premises I would get the horses and mustangs on a proper diet. Volunteers should KNOW basic ANIMAL HUSBANDRY facts. Horse Weight. Horse Grooming. Shearing of Sheep. MOW the pastures & Provide CLEAN WATER & Shelter for all the animals. The brown dirty water buckets should NEVER be acceptable. I would ask that all Feed Store & Vet Bills & Schedule Be posted PUBLICLY for our review.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unsure

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

April 22, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 22, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I am proud to have donated to CJ Acres numerous times over the past several years. It is completely volunteer-run, which means your money is going directly to help the animals. CJ Acres in an incredible place, both for it's rescued animal residents, and for the inspiration and education it provides for its visitors. I highly reccanend visiting, volunteering, and donating!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Move them closer to Orlando so I could visit and volunteer more often!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

April 22, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
October 23, 2013

I have volunteered at CJ Acres for several months now, and assisted as a paying customer to several of their fundraisers. It is a great non profit, animal welfare centered. The more people can help, m... more

April 22, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Great organization. Many rescued farm animals that are taken care for. Its also a great place to visit and enjoy a tour of the facilities when they have one :-)
October 23, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I have volunteered at CJ Acres for several months now, and assisted as a paying customer to several of their fundraisers. It is a great non profit, animal welfare centered. The more people can help, more animals can be rescued and taken care of.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 22, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 22, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I have been a volunteer with the farm since January 2014 and have loved every minute of it. The animal residents are so very taken care of by Lee Sackett, caregivers and the steady volunteers. I am there twice a week, sometimes more, and consider the sanctuary my happy place :). These animals came from neglect, abuse and/or abandonment and now live a care free life filled with lots of love and open space to roam happily with lots of friends!!!
April 21, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 21, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I started volunteering here on March 15, 2014. I was so taken with the farm, the animals and the other people who volunteer I haven't been able to keep track of the number of times I've been back since then. I only wished I lived closer (57 miles one way) so that I could be there more. It is the most peaceful place that I can be....the animals are happy, they smile and they are loved! It is so rewarding also, to be around other like minded people who really love and care about the well being of animals---and not just the ones on the farm. I can't say enough good things about CJ Acres...
April 21, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 21, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I have been volunteering on the farm since January. It has quickly become my happy place. I have built bonds with some of the animals as well as volunteers and these bonds are impacting me in such a positive way. Lead Mare Lee Sackett is a compassionate animal advocate and amazing leader and educator. Because of Lee and the animals of CJ Acres, I have been inspired to become more active in doing something that really matters. Definitely a place worth getting involved with!!!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

April 21, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
October 23, 2013

I love CJ Acres! It's my favorite place and I met some great people while volunteering there. Animals are well cared for by Lee and the herd of volunteers. I'm glad there is a place like this. Farm an... more

April 21, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

CJ Acres is an amazing organization. I've been volunteering for over a year and everything is always very organized and animals have everything they need and more. I love this place!
October 23, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I love CJ Acres! It's my favorite place and I met some great people while volunteering there. Animals are well cared for by Lee and the herd of volunteers. I'm glad there is a place like this. Farm animals need our help!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I wouldn't change anything!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 2, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

November 2, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

CJ Acres is by far one of my most favorite places to be! It is a very peaceful place. The animals there have been through worse situations than most people can imagine but are still so loving. It shows that with kindness and care any animal can be given a second chance at a beautiful life. That is what CJ acres is to these animals. I am so glad that a place like this exists here in Florida. I have been volunteering there for 2 years and I have never had a bad experience. Lee and the volunteers are all very caring and wonderful people that I enjoy volunteering with!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 2, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 2, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Hands down this is the place to be! You can learn a lot about the true nature of life by being in the presence of pure love, forgiveness, compassion and beauty. The animals, caretakers and Lee (lead mare) are beacons of change igniting the words of Gandhi, "be the change you want to see ." It is a place I will continue to draw to for peace for many years to come!
Dr. Jon Repole
Jacksonville Health and Wellness Center

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers