Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
35 Reviews
1234.657145
Write A Review
October 26, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 26, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I have been volunteering at CJ Acres for over a year. I think of it as my happy place! It's such a pleasure to socialize with the animals and other volunteers. Lee Sacket, the Lead Mare, always gives great educational information. I learn something new each time I volunteer. It is so wonderful to see these animals being so well taken care of, after living a horrific life on a factory farm. CJ Acres gives these animals a wonderful place to live out their lives. It truly is one of the happiest places on earth!
October 15, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 15, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I have volunteered at CJ Acres several times and am proud to be a member of "the herd." Under the guidance of Lee, the farm is a great place for both volunteers and animals. Volunteers have the opportunity to learn new skills, grow as people, and help the animals, while the animals themselves get to live in a compassionate environment where they receive plenty of food, water, love, and attention, and have plenty of space to run, play and live. I am happy to have found CJ Acres to volunteer at and I think it is a worthwhile cause.
October 8, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more

October 8, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

I've volunteered at CJ acres several times so far & it's an absolute blast! The animals at CJ acres al alll have sad stories of their previous lifes but they are now all living a happy life! Volunteering at this rescue is very hands on & it's amazing to be able to socialize w these animals. I love everything about CJ acres & I recommend it to everyone as a place to volunteer,visit, donate towards, etc
September 26, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more

September 26, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

CJ Acres has a Go Fund Me Account, where they are LYING about receiving a PIG from PETA.
We have made contact with PETA who have begun an investigation.
The "PIG" that CJ ACRES keeps claiming is being sent to Keystone Hieghts, was NEVER even considered being sent to this horrible farm.

The pig went to Virginia- Why is CJAARF claiming that PETA is sending it here?
They are not legitimate.
Farm Sanctuary does not lie.
No legitimate Rescue lies.
There is no insurance on the 501 (c).
Who lies and runs a scam via GO FUND ME on their Facebook Page?

The man who runs it COLLECTED funds ILLEGALLY in PETA' s name.
WILLFULLY knowing that he would not be receiving ANY abused PIG from PETA.
Call PETA and confirm this or go to Twitter & check out CJAARF and the PETA PIG.
PETA's letters are uploaded
This RESCUE lied. They KILL.
Star the Blind Mare DIED here.
Kevin the Rooster lasted three month.
Star is Starving. Star is a Mustang who arrived healthy & fat almost.
Ask them about Nikki.
We have e mails and phone calls from PETA.
This farm lies and steals from the public.
Riverside Arts Mart, a farmers market in Jacksonville, recieved many protests, when CJAARF claimed that RAM requested they man a booth.
We discovered the truth - CJAARF paid the 25.00 REDUCED fee and was
given a slot just as anyone else that PAID the fee.
The manager agreed that she did not agree they should even be allowed at RAM but they let them.
They are aware of Star the Mustang being starved.
This MAN who runs the "Rescue" lies and lies.
This rescue was SUED in court over the animals he illegally obtained.
So this rescue AUCTIONED them off for CASH.
Moses the Ram ws the subject of a lawsuit, so was Opie the donkey and quite a few other animals.
This rescue SUBMITTED court documents signed by the owner, his name typed & his signature clearly legible STATING that every animal subject to this lawsuit was AUCTIONED off two weeks before the court hearing.
This "Rescue" took in animals in February.
They gelded a 12 year old donkey and almost killed it when it bled out.
That incident caused animal humane agencies to be contacted.
Star the Mustang was photographed in June with her bones exposed and ribs jutting out.
She is my profile photo on Facebook - her photograph went viral
As for the animals in the court case?
They lied about how the animals came to arrive at this location.
They lied about the previous owners and slandered them - calling them homeless and hoarders.
Not the truth.
They were taken to court and the LEAD MARE signed documents under the PENALTY of PERJURY that he and the 2nd "Rescue" auctioned the animals off to the highest bidder.
If you scroll down, you will see that the very RAM he told the Judge he "AUCTIONED" was the subject, of a HORRIFIC shearing party.
No proper animal RESCUE holds a SHEARING party.
They subjected Moses to hours of terrified abuse.
Why didn't they use a professional sheep shearer?
The job would have been done in less than 10 minutes.
It is obvious these people took pleasure in the harming and fear of the poor ram.
The women pose gleefully with scissors and the WRONG type of shearing tools.
Moses has been carrying dirty wool for months.
In March a volunteer, who was undercover photographed is feces & urine stained rear.
She photographed the matted coat and dead insects.
There are animals at this "Rescue" that should be removed.
If you read the comments of people who are "NEW" - it is easy to see they have no idea what they are doing.
No one but a PROFESSIONAL should Shear a "rescued" ram.
And if a Ram has been "AUCTIONED" Off and the court documents speak to that.
Then there is something wrong here.
This "Rescue" lies to Judges.
This "Rescue" lied about PETA and the Pig.
Are they going to REFUND the money to those who donate?
Are they going to write a check to PETA?
Are they going to keep lying and claiming animals are arriving and are not?
When are they going to give us the VET bills and financials that we keep requesting?
What have they to hide?
They MOVED thier last fund raiser OFF SITE.
I believe they are aware that many are revealing the horror of this place.
That doesn't change things.
We SAW on social media THE HORROR Moses went through when he was CRUELLY sheared.
TIED up like a dog.
Sheared on a DIRTY Floor.
With SCISSORS.
There are no real workers at this "rescue".
Just people that come and go.
Social Media is giving us the many photos we need.
As are the undercover volunteers who have decided to give photographs to authorities
Surrounded by people who looked drunk, at least 13 surrounded him - holding his legs as if they were going to put him on a grill and cook him

Shut CJAARF down.
Go to Twitter and look at the many posts about the PETA PIG and thier lies.
Go to Social Media And see what PETA has said about that PIG.
Do NOT donate to this place.
It MUST be shut down.
This place revels in cruelly harming animals.
Gelding Stevo without anesthesia.
Almost killing Moses by anesthestizing him and causing an almost DEADLY allergic reaction in March.
LYING AND PERJURY to the Clay County Municipal Court.
CJAARF must be shut down.
The animals are suffering and the people who go there revel in harming them
Reading that this woman "ENJOYED" the shearing is heartbreaking.
THIS is NOT a RESCUE.
The Florida State Authorities who govern 501 (c)'s and those who govern Matching Funds have been given all of this documentation.
PETA is also on their trail.
This could ONLY happen in FLORIDA.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Close it down and arrest the owner for animal cruelty and bring him up on the perjury charges.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Badly

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

Will you recommend this organization to others?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

September 26, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 26, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Afer just my first visit I found the experience to be absolutely wonderful I plan on making CJ's rescue farm a permanent part of my giving back.
September 25, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more

September 25, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

I helped shear Moses the ram and Ralph his little son. The farm is impeccably clean and the animals are happy and tame. Only humane and gentle training is used. It is a fun, upbeat and happy place!
Virginia (day job- bilingual school psychologist and Master Teacher)
September 24, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 24, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I have been volunteering at CJ Acres regularly for almost four months and have had nothing but positive experiences. The animals are beautiful, well-fed, cared for and respected. They take great pride in providing a safe environment for all of the animals in their care and every person I've encountered has been a loving, hard-working individual dedicated to the care and well-being of all of the animals.

I have never seen one animal in a poor state of health nor any negative conditions at all. I am proud and pleased to be able to be a part of the great work at CJ Acres and am grateful that there are other people near me who care so deeply and work so passionately to protect the animals that the majority of society prefers to forget. Kudos to CJ Acres and all its personnel and volunteers for all the hard work they do every single day not only with the animals in their charge, but also in their efforts to educate and encourage compassion in their fellow man.
July 18, 2014
4 people found this review helpful

more

July 18, 2014
4 people found this review helpful

I have watched this "Rescue" and I have many concerns.
They posted on July 7, that they are taking in PIGS that are coming from PETA.
This week, they have been exposed as having lied about this.
They posted on their own FACEBOOK Page that people should donate to CJ ACRES for PETA and
these pigs.
The pigs are NOT coming to this Rescue.
PETA has publicly tweeted this fact.
Why would anyone donate to PETA via an intermediary?
Why would any reputable Rescue lie about this?
It is obvious that now PETA is onto this scam and their legal department is involved.
On Social Media, via Facebook it is OBVIOUS this 501 is lying to the public to get their money.
I cannot imagine how the people of Jacksonville and North Florida are so fooled by this place.
I have seen in my Animal Circles on Google + and my Horse groups that there is a Mustang here named STAR, and that she may be being starved as well.
The photo that has gone viral does not look good for this 501 (c).
First a Mustang being starved and then the FAKE claim about getting Pigs from PETA.
This is shameful.
They even have posted that they want $35.00. for these pigs.
PIGS THAT ARE NOT ARRIVING HERE.
PETA has emphatically stated this publicly.
There is duplicity going on at this Rescue.
Again, if you donate for PETA, in 2014, you can easily donate DIRECTLY to PETA.
I understand from PETA's Tweets on Twitter, their CID is now involved.

This "Rescue " has shown, that they are not really compassionate.
They do not care about animals.
I have watched them and spoken to people who have worked as "volunteers".

I noticed that when the "REVIEWS" began to feature photographs of animals that are here
especially the Horses and especially questions, again, about another PIG incident.
The "REVIEW" feature was hidden.
A purchase made by this Rescue, with the Receipt provided by a prior member of the board of directors, that the FACEBOOK page suddenly HID the "REVIEW" Feature and then completely
got rid of it.
They also changed the ability to post photos on their page.
What is going on here?
What has this Rescue to hide.
Save your money.
Give to those that are reputable and that do excellent work.
This 501 (c) has only been around since 2009 and by 2014 they are lying and using PETA's name?
This is not right.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would ask that they post their financial information on GUIDESTAR as all other non profits do.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Badly

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A little

Will you recommend this organization to others?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 13, 2014
6 people found this review helpful

more

June 13, 2014
6 people found this review helpful

Animals at this "FARM" are all in terrible states of health.
SIX have died in SIX MONTHS!~~
They arrive here & they die.
One arrived in late March & by April 16th, 2014 we saw posts of his almost NEAR DEATH!
Photographs of blood and an animal NOT SEDATED.
The owner by his own
admission allows his sheep to carry 50 + pounds of wool in the HORRIBLE Northeast Florida heat because to quote him " I cannot catch them" .
I recently saw photos from this past weekend of these sheep and their coats are
disgusting dirty and matted and filled with their excrement in the rear.
How can they eliminate if their wool is matted?
In April, CJ ACRES almost KILLED Two " NEW" RESIDENTs.
They gelded a donkey & by their own Admission that donkey "BLED OUT" and almost died.
On the same day a ram had an "ALLERGIC" reaction to anesthesia & also almost died.
Two botched procedures in one day?
Kevin the Rooster arrived in August 2013 and was dead by November 2013.
The Rescue posted photographs of the gelding procedure and the Donkey was NOT sedated, there is a man ( the man who runs the rescue) wearing gloves - holding the donkey's legs with a rope that is
SO TAUT that you can see the muscles in the donkey's leg moving -
which meant the DONKEY, a terrified & sentient being was indeed NOT sedated.
A sentient animal at a " rescue" GELDED and not sedated? Why?
Anyone familiar w/animal husbandry and equine KNOWS you do NOT Geld Donkeys
especially if they are over 12 years old as was the case with this one.
He, then posted a " plea " for monies to cover this botched procedure -
which took place on GRASS with no sheet and no clean area.
The donkey is SHOWN bleeding on the grass.
Grass means bugs, ants, and dirt and infection.
But the owner of this rescue DOES not have any common sense.
No responsible animal owner allows a 2 hour bleed out & a surgical procedure done ON GRASS!
Five to Six animals died between September 2013 and February 2014.
There is a revolving door of volunteers and NONE of them are familiar with animal husbandry.
Photos have been posted of the Mustangs coming out of winter with their Hip Bones
And RIBS showing.
These are the alleged "MIRACLE " Mustangs.
Any Horse Vet would tell you it is a miracle they did not DIE due to exposure & lack of food at this locale.
Florida was hit by the Polar Vortex TWICE this winter and to see mustangs so thin their ribs show- makes it evident that CJ ACRES does not tend to its animals and is UNDESERVING OF ANY MONIES.
This 501 (C) is currently being sued over the above mentioned donkey & a few other animals on his farm. Most 501 (c) deserving of money do NOT go to court and fight to keep animals they almost killed.
His pastures are filled with sand and weeds up to the horses withers.
Talk to the previous members of the Board of Directors and you will learn they ALL RESIGNED
as they could not work with the man who runs this "RESCUE"
He has even gone so far as to buy cute piglets and then post that the responsible owner he bought them from was actually "Being Investigated" again SO FAR FROM THE TRUTH, that when she learned of this
She advised him to remove his slanderous posts on Facebook & he did.
There is no "REHAB" at this locale, I understand the Mustangs are so feral they cannot be properly Vaccinated for East West Nile Virus, nor from what I could see at the Fundraiser I attended,
have they seen a Farrier in years.
As we all know an equine's hooves are it's health.
We have documented hooves so long on videos and photos the equine seem to have an odd gait.
The man who runs this "Sanctuary" has never adopted an animal out in the past two years,
I visited CJ ACRES & was shocked at the horrible conditions of the pastures and the extremely thin horses. Recently at an event I saw Esteban the Turkey, who appears to have been attacked by another animal.
I asked the owner, who does their hooves, in one breath he claimed he did & in the next he stated he could not CATCH the sheep nor the mustangs to tend their hooves.
SAVE YOUR MONEY AND DO NOT DONATE TO CJ ACRES!
Animals arrive and then die.
So many BAD REVIEWS went up on the FACEBOOK page that the administrator
moved the " REVIEWS" ~ so one has to SEARCH for them ~they are now hidden!~
That should speak to the integrity of this 501 (c)
He cannot afford a 500.00 Vet Bill ( Posted on Social Media)
but he can afford an Event called "WINE WITH THE SWINE"
Should this 501 ( c ) spend the money on his animals instead of wine?
Why is his board of directors ( if it exists) so silent on the many deaths & terrible states of the animals?
IF Farm Sanctuary is the GOLD Standard -- CJ ACRES ANIMAL RESCUE FARM should be shut down.
Or have their 501 (s) status revoked.
SAVE YOUR MONEY
GO TO OTHER 501 (c) who do NOT have a revolving door or volunteers.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would hire an interim director & get the Clay County Officials involved & ask that they walk through premises I would get the horses and mustangs on a proper diet. Volunteers should KNOW basic ANIMAL HUSBANDRY facts. Horse Weight. Horse Grooming. Shearing of Sheep. MOW the pastures & Provide CLEAN WATER & Shelter for all the animals. The brown dirty water buckets should NEVER be acceptable. I would ask that all Feed Store & Vet Bills & Schedule Be posted PUBLICLY for our review.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unsure

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

April 22, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more

April 22, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

I am proud to have donated to CJ Acres numerous times over the past several years. It is completely volunteer-run, which means your money is going directly to help the animals. CJ Acres in an incredible place, both for it's rescued animal residents, and for the inspiration and education it provides for its visitors. I highly reccanend visiting, volunteering, and donating!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Move them closer to Orlando so I could visit and volunteer more often!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers