Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
246 Reviews
1234.979675
Write A Review
October 9, 2014

more

October 9, 2014

To those Civil War History Buffs out there:
I have been a member of CWT for more years than I remember! Our organization is the most trusted non-profit out-fit you could "ever" hope to join and have fun at the same time. I look forward to purchase each parcel of Hollowed ground that most of the
the general public hav no idea exists. Now, being retired
I can't give the funds I'd like, but every dollar helps! We are preserving History for the decades of Civil War buffs in the future. Instead of jus reading about Battles & Generals; these young folks can VISIT and walk over these sacred acres we'vd saved across our great country. Look into CWT "TODAY" & YOU won't be disappointed!
October 9, 2014

more

October 9, 2014

I was first introduced to the Civil War Presentation Trust, not Civil War Trust, at the Stonewall Jackson memorial in Virginia. This is the house in which he died. I stated talking with one of the volunteers and learned about the Trust. From there I became a member and a donor. I do this because of my feelings that the past needs to be preserved, as far as the Civil War is concerned, and quickly found out that the Trust did conserving the battlefields better than anyone else. I am not a heavy contributor because I don't have what is necessary to be a heavy contributor, but I am a continual contributor. I give every year, not to everything, but to what appears to be the most important for the many. They make my money go a long way.
October 9, 2014

more

October 9, 2014

This is probably the best "business model" I have ever seen. This organization has managed to expand and multiply every dollar they have received into anywhere from 3 to 100x more to help buy land to preserve the physical locations that represent some of the most significant and cataclysmic events in our nation's history.
Few organizations in history have accomplished what the Civil War Trust has done. Even fewer have done so much with the limited resources available.
I am very proud to donate and be a part of this nonprofit agency.
October 9, 2014

more

October 9, 2014

I have been a donor-member from almost the very beginning, when it was called The Association for the Preservation of Civil War Sites (APCWS), and will never stop proud giving (presently at both at the Color Bearer Level and dedicated to the legacy-group, The Honor Guard). The organization's name may have morphed into The Civil War Trust, but the goal stays the same, preservation of Hallowed Ground. This mission means a lot to me, honoring the role my great-grandfather, Clinton L. Barnhart, played as a soldier in Sherman's March to the Sea.

Long live the CWT!
October 9, 2014

more

October 9, 2014

This great organization has done much to save and preserve Civil War sites. In addition they are
involved in education programs for schools, and in providing historical articles , maps and videos of
the war.
October 9, 2014

more


1 previous review
July 4, 2012

A decade ago (2002) I began making donations to the Civil War Trust. Other than my local church, it is the single charity I would whole-heartedly, unreservedly recommend. I know that almost the entire... more

October 9, 2014

I have goosebumps when I think about being able to help support the CWT in its sacred mission of saving hallowed ground, actual battlefield soil that Americans bled and died on to save our country and give it a new birth of freedom -- my latest donation is just as thrilling as my first so many years ago. The Trust is laser-focused, efficient, highly communicative to donors and supporters. But most important, it acts and uses every possible cent of my donation to accomplish its work. I cannot say enough good about the good it does.
July 4, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

A decade ago (2002) I began making donations to the Civil War Trust. Other than my local church, it is the single charity I would whole-heartedly, unreservedly recommend. I know that almost the entirety of every dollar I send will be spent saving hallowed ground where soldiers fought to save our country -- sacred soil that needs preservation. The Trust works diligently to achieve that mission, along with educating people about the places it saves. It acts speedily, in situations where the federal government doesn't or can't. Eventually, it can turn over the site into the care of the people of the United States. I cannot express enough how amazing it is to be part of this effort on behalf of our forebears and our descendants. We are, in our own way, helping save America, thanks to the CWT.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 9, 2014

more

October 9, 2014

this is a great organization. they do a fantastic job at preserving our America's most important history
October 9, 2014

more


1 previous review
November 30, 2012

I have been a member of the Civil War Trust since 2001. It seems I can not help them enough. They deserve more than I can give. Their efforts to preserve our history and heritage are second to none... more

October 9, 2014

Who is saving our History, grabbing hold of what made our country what it is?
The Civil War Trust (CWT) has been saving Civil War Battlefield land for many years. CWT also has dedicated significant resources to provide education and educational tools to help individuals and educators to
learn about the many aspects of the American Civil War. Without the efforts of CWT, so much of our history would be forgotten in the form of shopping centers or housing or other buildings. The lands saved and the materials provided for education provide for the understanding of what our ancestors sacrificed to keep our country whole and to free people who were enslaved. So many soldiers died or were wounded fighting for their cause. Significant blood was shed long ago on the battlefields preserved with efforts of the CWT staff. Our history needs to be preserved and learned, what better way than to have the Civil War Trust buy land and provide educational materials. I have been a donating member since 2001, and I am proud of the way CWT handles the money I have contributed.
November 30, 2012

I have been a member of the Civil War Trust since 2001. It seems I can not help them enough. They deserve more than I can give. Their efforts to preserve our history and heritage are second to none. Their successes are masterful considering their accomplishments in the number of acres preserved and their educational projects performed. The purpose of preserving Civil War Battlefields is to be able to tell the story of how this country fought to preserve the rights of each side and how the country mended after the harsh destruction of the war. Where in history has their been a war when one race fought itself to free another? The nation should be proud to have survived such a period in history. The Civil War Trust accomplishes its mission with a dedicated, resourceful staff and advisory board. A wholesome group of individuals that perform well as a team. I am honored to be associated with such people.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 9, 2014

more

October 9, 2014

I belonged to the APCWS. since 1997 prior to the merger between it and CWT in 1999. I go to the annual conferences every year. It is one of the best organizations to which I belong as far as achieving its objective of saving Hallowed Ground and obtaining matching funds to economize and make purchases easily possible. I am proud to be a member of such a good organization and support it very generously. They organize an excellent annual conference at which everything is done first-class. As one of the most efficient non-profits it is serving the American people and our heritage in a very efficient and creditable way.

Fr. Richard W. Frank Brunswick, MO
October 9, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 9, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

As a former board member of a predecessor organization to the Civil War Trust and a member and donor for almost 20 years (as well as a professional that works with the management and boards of many not-for-profit entities}, I can say without say reservation that the Trust operates in a completely straightforward and transparent fashion. It fund-raises and pursues its objectives with equal measures or professionalism and stridency--and always stays true to its mission in the process!

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers