Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
119 Reviews
1234.966395
| 1 2 3 4...10 |
Write A Review
July 17, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

July 17, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

For more than a decade, my wife and I have been active supporters of the Civil War Trust and its activities because we share with the Trust leadership and fellow members a strong commitment to the preservation of sites hallowed during the conflict of 150 years past. To date, we've been pleased to be able to make some 50 gifts to the cause. CWT is unparalleled in its effective use of donations, leveraged by such means as matching grants and local, state and government programs, to achieve remarkable successes in saving sites threatened by development or neglect, thereby providing opportunities for future generations to better understand one of the most momentous periods in the Nation's history. We are confident that CWT utilizes our donated funds to achieve the largest positive effect in accordance with its mission and our intentions. Innovative ideas, capable staffing and boldness of action are hallmarks of the Trust. Squandering of funds on "overhead" is never an issue. We'll continue to support the Trust with full confidence in the outcomes.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 16, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

more

July 16, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

The Civil War Trust, in my humble opinion, is the best-managed, finest-staffed charity in this country. I have been a continual member since 1988 and am closely familiar with the "inner and outer workings" of the Trust and fervently believe this organization is one of the few that actually lives up to its noble purpose. It is important to note that the Trust is supremely successful simply because its managers are viewed as honest brokers wherever they go. And, they don't make enemies.. Rather, the Trust works closely with landowners, local, state & federal officials, and they studiously avoid contentious fights, when possible. But when the Trust does enter a preservation fray, they almost always prevail. I am proud to be a donor and member of the Civil War Trust and they will continue to get my monetary support as long as I am around.. Why? Because I "trust the Trust" to spend my donations where they will always do the most good.. Thanks, Clark B. Hall

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 15, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

July 15, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

I have been a member of the Civil War Trust since June of 2006. I have been a Civil War buff for many many years. Since becoming a member I have attended 4 of their Annual Conventions, missing only 2010 when my wife was dying of cancer. In that time I have made over 65 gifts to the Civil War Trust. I have also walked on ground purchased by the Civil War Trust at a number of different battlefields. I cannot imagine a group where the contributions go more directly to support the goals of the membership than this group. That also goes along with the continually emerging fights against Wallmart at The Wilderness and the attempt to build a casino at Gettysburg. L R Trotter

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 15, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
July 15, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

The Civil War Trust is the best of the best! Not only does my contribution help to preserve Civil War Battlefields, but on average Trust managers have found ways to obtain government grants and funding from outside sources that quadruple the value of my donation. In addition, the Trust has an excellent website that is both educational and informative, provides excellent seminars for its members, and acts as a powerful representative for all Americans who understand the benefits of preserving our history.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 13, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

July 13, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

I have been a supporter of Civil War Trust since 1995. During that time I've made 17 individual contributions to the organization. In every case, I've been gratified to see that my donation has been put to good use in preserving the hallowed ground of our nation's Civil War battlefields. In my experience, CWT is (and has been) the premier nonprofit working in this vital area of preserving for future generations our country's history. For example, due to CWT's tireless efforts over the years, the battlefield at Glendale, Virginia (the climactic battle of the Seven Days Campaign) has been fully preserved. I've walked that ground with my children, and it has brought to life for them the significance of what happened there 150 years ago. I've included CWT in my estate planning. That's the best endorsement I can give them! Robert E. Eberly Jr., Esq.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 12, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
July 12, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

I have been a contrbutor to the Civil War Trust for seven years and have made almost thirty gifts in support of its mission. There a few, if any, more important causes to support today. The opportunities to forever preserve Civil War battlefields are slipping away, and the Trust is true to its preservation mission. Its leadership and staff are dedicated to their work, and are people of energy and integrity. The dollars you give to this group will be well invested in the cause of America's hallowed ground.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 12, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
July 12, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

My interest in the Civil War began in 1961 during the 100 year anniversary of the conflict that formed the United States. As a young boy, I was amazed by the story of the war as illustrated in Life magazine and other publications of the time. This began my lifelong study of the war, but more important, my desire to visit the battlefields to walk were the soldiers had fought for what they believed; both North and South. It is very disturbing to visit a battlefield only to find out that a shopping center, factory or housing developement now sits on the sacred ground. When I found out about the Civil War Trust and their mission, I immediately joind. I have been a member for more than 10 years and I have contributed to over 40 special preservation drives during that time. The Civil War battlefield preservation fight continues as the Civil War Trust leads the battle against amusement parks and casinos encroaching on battlefields, while acquiring lands and deeding them to the government. Because of the Civil War Trust, my grandson Henry will be able to visit these battlefields and get a better understanding of the Civil War and how this country became the United States.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

visiting many of the battlefields saved by the Civil War Trust

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Change nothing....this organization does an outstanding job saving the history of this country by saving the battlefields that made this country what it is today....great.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

What specific problem, purpose, priority, or project prompted your gift?

My interest in the Civil War and the need to save the history for future generations to comprehend the magnitude of this war and the impact on the United States to make it what we are today.

Why did you make your donation at this time?

Time is critical to save these battlefields from permanent distruction through 21st century developement.

What would you tell others about this organization?

This outstanding organization preserves the most historical pieces of land in this country. Without this mission, future generations will never fully understand the impact and sacrifice that Americans of the 1860s made to make the United States who we are today (and in the future).

July 11, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
July 11, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

For many years I have been a student of US history. I have focused on military history, especially the War Between the States. When I first discovered this charity was involved in preserving battlefield sites in 1993, I researched the organization. The results of that search led me to believe it was quite worthwhile and effective. My opinion of the organization continues to grow as it started to do when I first made a contribution. Over the last almost 20 years, I have made contributions as I am able to saving over 100 portions of historic land that would have been subsumed into modern development without this organization. My only regret is that I cannot give more than I have. It is a superb group.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unsure

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 11, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
July 11, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

I have been a member of the Civil War Trust since 2001. I strongly support the Mission of the Trust. It is dedicated to "saving and preserving" the battlefields of the American Civil War. I have made donations to over 150 of their so-called "campaigns" to save this "Hallowed Ground." I have also included the Trust in my Will. I have enjoyed the Annual Conferences that are sponored by the Trust. Each conference focuses on a different battle or campaign of the Civil War. Battlefied tours are lead by experts. I have actually walked in the footsteps of the soldiers who made Pickett's Charge at Gettysburg. I am very proud to be a member of a organization that is a strong advocate for the preservation of America's Civil War Battlefields.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 9, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

July 9, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

I have been a member of the CWT and its predecessor organization for more than ten years. Over that time I have witnessed the organization succeed where others have been twarted in preserving precious and sacred battleground. Jim Lighthizer has assembled an exceptionally qualified staff and supplied singularly outstanding leadership by setting challenging goals combined with a clear vision of what is needed for success. Land preservation, educational outreach, and effective application of leading-edge technology have been the enduring focus of CWT and the results have been outstanding. By developing collaborations with organizations of similar goals and fostering strong political relationships at all levels of governments, exceptional leverage has been achieved on donations made by the membership. Personally, I have benefited from the excellent communications and programs that CWT produces and conducts. My wife and I have attended several of the special programs the Trust has sponsored over the years and we both count them as memorable. Vicksburg, Glorieta Pass, Richmond, Gettysburg, and other Civil War battlefields now have special meaning beyond just reading about them since we have had opportunity to witness them in person and in the presence of expert historians who make the fields come alive. As someone who seeks the evidence of an organization's success, I have witnessed firsthand the contributions the CWT has made in areas such as Malvern Hill, Gettysburg, Frayser's Farm, and numerous others that have been saved through the efforts of the Trust and its cooperating entities. I can testify that future generations will be able to enjoy and appreciate these hallowed fields as I have been able to do. If you, like me, want to see the tangible fruits of your donations, I know of few other organizations that can match the Civil War Trust with respect to the successful execution of a shared vision!!!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers