Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
246 Reviews
1234.979675
Write A Review
October 14, 2014

more


1 previous review
July 26, 2012

I have been a life-time Civil War buff. Three of my great-great-grandfathers served in the CSA...thankfully one survived! I have strongly and generously supported the... more

October 14, 2014

I have been a member of the trust for many years. My gifts are modest, but frequent, as I have made it my goal to support each campaign. The Trust is very effectively managed, and I have never felt the need to question any decisions management has made.

I enjoy walking the ground we have
saved and contemplating the sacrifices made on those grounds. My greatest satisfaction is knowing that my children, grandchildren and generations beyond them will be able to walk and cherish those same grounds.

There are indeed many worthwhile charitable organizations, but I can think of none other than the Civil War Trust that will provide such a long term benefit to this country and its' citizens.
July 26, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

I have been a life-time Civil War buff. Three of my great-great-grandfathers served in the CSA...thankfully one survived! I have strongly and generously supported the Civil War Trust since January of 1998. Although I contribute to other worthy causes, CWT is at the top of my list. I have attended several meetings, and met many staff members, all of whom are genuinely dedicated and devoted to the preservation of battlefields that played a role in shaping our nation as we know it today. I am thankful that my (modest) donations not only help preserve these historical sites, but also help educate the youth of today about their importance. I am grateful that someday my grand-children, and possibly even their grand-children, will be able to visit these "Hallowed Grounds". Respectfully submitted...John E. McAuliffe, MD.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Visits to many battlefields which would by now be buried under asphalt and concrete without the work of the CWT.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

What specific problem, purpose, priority, or project prompted your gift?

Born in the South, ancestors in the Civil War

Why did you make your donation at this time?

Regularly schduled donation as a member of The Color Bearers

What would you tell others about this organization?

Worthy of all the support you can give them. Their efforts will benefit many generations to come!

October 14, 2014

more

October 14, 2014

I receive many, many appeals for financial support from many different organizations. I will only support those organizations where the bulk of my donation will be used for the stated purpose, not pay for some executives extravagant lifestyles. As a supporter since 1994, the Civil War Trust has proven over and over that they are able to multiply my donation by various grants and other methods which pleases me very much. I will never refuse an appeal for help from the CWT because they get the job done !

D.C.Moody
Nashport, Ohio
October 14, 2014

more

October 14, 2014

I have been a proud member of the Civil War Trust having joined its predecessor, ASPCWS, in 1994 simply because it is the right thing to do. Saving battlefields of this great conflict for future generations is more than just preserving fields and places where northern and southern men fought and died, it is saving part of our American heritage and culture as well, for us and for future generations of Americans. The Civil War Trust has proven to be a very effective leader in this preservation effort, having saved thousands of acres of hallowed ground from being lost to developers. Moreover, they have provided leadership and resources to local preservation groups engaged in this effort and they also provide educational programs to raise awareness of the monumental struggle that occurred 150 years ago. I believe that no other preservation group has been so effective or so deserving.
October 14, 2014

more

October 14, 2014

There is never a moment's doubt about where our money is going -- we can walk the land we've saved, we can see the educational programs at work. I've been a member of the Civil War Trust since 1995 and my confidence in the group has led me to increase my giving from small amounts in the beginning to more significant totals today.
October 14, 2014

more

October 14, 2014

I've donated to the trust and its predecessors for over twenty years. I continue to donate to the trust because of their focus on one thing...purchasing and protecting civil war battlefields. In addition the trust is a streamlined organization with little overhead. In recent years I have stopped donating to other organizations because of a either a lack of focus or the seeming exponential growth of bureaucracies. I look forward to helping the trust continue its efforts to protect hallowed ground.
October 13, 2014

more

October 13, 2014

I have been a donor to the Civil War Trust since its predecessor the APCWS came into existence. I don't have the exact amount that I have donated but it has been in the several thousands of dollars. It is the only organization that I have donated to that I have 100% confidence that they will be great stewards of my money. In every instance they try to leverage donations with funds available elsewhere to maximize the impact of the donor's contribution. In addition, the land they have purchased is of immense historical value. One only needs to walk places like Malvern Hill, the Slaughter Pen, Third Winchester or Shiloh to realize what an impact the Trust has had not only for us but for every generation of Americans going forward.
October 13, 2014

more

October 13, 2014

This organization exceeds expectations, has made fantastic contributions to preservation and awareness about the importance of historic preservation, and is THE standout among the philanthropic organizations to which I contribute.

The work that they accomplish is truly amazing. The
financial reports they provide are clear and demonstrate that individual contributions are making a difference and how/where they are making a difference. Their communications clearly lay out their objectives. More to the point, they frequently communicate, seeking input from their contributors.

Interested in preserving American history? Telling the story of patriots that gave the full measure to help create the nation in which we live today? You can do no better than take a moment to make a contribution to help fund the ongoing projects of the Civil War Trust.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 13, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 13, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I have been a contributing member of the Civil War Trust since 2002 and have been fortunate to be able to help them with over a hundred donations during that time. This is an extremely well-run and dedicated organization which has been able to secure and preserve thousands of acres of Civil War battlefields, thus preserving the legacies of both sides on such hallowed ground. Under the leadership of Jim Lighthizer, President of the Board of Trustees, they have joined and coordinated the efforts of multiple organizations as well as preservation-minded businessmen and donors in creating matching funds for each site that has enabled them to set aside significant new battlefield acreage alongside existing preserved sites. I am proud to be a member of such an organization. Dr. Charles P. Ade

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 13, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 13, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

My name is Jim Stewart and I am writing on behalf of the Civil War Trust. They are the most active and effective non profit that I am aware of from my experience. I frequently give to their calls for funding for various battlefield properties and invariably you find that they achieve their goal. They are highly rated and seem very effectively managed so you give your money with great confidence that it will be used wisely and help do some good. It is a tremendous feeling of personal success when you see what you help make happen.
October 13, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 13, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I have been a loyal contributor to the Civil war Trust since 1999. I have given more than 150 such contributions to them for their appeals to save our country's historic Civil War sites and battlefields.
I continue to give them money because of their proven track record of buying and
preserving such historic land, and I know that the trust does everything in its power to multiply donor giving with some excellent matching gifts which helps leverage the buying power of the donations.
The trust also keeps its member/donors informed of the progress of such land transactions and the reasons behind every purchase. I know that contributions to the trust goes towards buying the land/property that they claim they need to money for.
It is almost always given a very high ranking by organizations which evaluate charities and their use of donor donations. It is a effective steward of my donations and it is doing invaluable work in preserving our nations history. I will continue to support their mission as long as I am able to.

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers