Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
246 Reviews
1234.979675
Write A Review
October 30, 2012

more

October 30, 2012

The Civil War Trust is a uniquely effective organization. It has been extremely successful in its core mission - to save battlefield land. It does this by raising awareness of preservation opportunities for its 55,000 members through effective mailings and a wonderful quarterly magazine. In recent years it has put emphasis on education - interpreting battlefields it has preserved, making them accessible to all, and they have created a wonderful internet website to support Civil War preservation and education. The result is that the CWT has preserved over 32,000 acres over the past +20 years. I have had a chance to watch this organization and its predecessors grow from a new idea to the very professional organization it is today. This view has come from close observation, as I started raising money for battllefield preservation in 1989. The Trust became the default organization to direct our fund raising to due to the trust it built with the Civil War community. I have personally supported the Trust since then. The battlefield where my ancestor was wounded, Brandy Station, was saved in large part by the Civil War Trust and its members supporting the local Brandy Station preservation group. The CWT is worthy of your support.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 12, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

July 12, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

I have had the opportunity to be associated with the Civil War Trust for the past 15 years. The Civil War Trust has funded seven major land acquisitions in the state of Mississippi comprising of more than 3,000 acres. Goals that are incorporated into the mission of the Civil War Trust are reinforced in the professional manner in which they have dealt with land owners before and after the acquisitions. Furthermore, the association has provided additional help in making those battlefields available to the American public. I would not hesitate to recommend this charitable organization to any individual who is committed to preserving American Civil War history. Attorney John D. Haynes, Baldwyn, MS

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 12, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
July 12, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

I have been a supporter since 12/21/2006 and have given 12 gifts to support their critical mission. I have been on the board almost three years. The leadership and staff of the Trust is first rate. Extremely passionate, knowledgeable, efficient and cost effective. They are wonderful custodians of the money they raise. The hallowed ground saved is indeed a huge priority but they also have an increasing role in education, stewardship and interpretation.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 11, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

July 11, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

The mission of the Civil War Trust is truly amazing! To reclaim battlefield sites for future generations is a unique objective. Coupled with the "saving" battlefield concerns is an educational dimension. The education function is to help teachers, students, and citizens in general understand the importance and significance of the Civil War to all of us. The lessons learned in that great domestic conflict can be applied to current issues affecting our country. I have been a supporter since June 25, 2009 when I became aware of the Civil War Trust and its work. Since that time, I have given fourteen gifts to demonstrate my support for the mission.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 5, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
July 5, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I started contributing to the cause of battlefield preservation over 20 years ago, and in 2003 my wife and I decided to make this cause one of our principal charities. In 2005, I joined the Board; I will rotate off the Board next year. In my time on the Board, I have seen the organization mature in terms of internal governance and transparency. The Trust's primary mission -- preserving the hallowed ground on which Americans fought and died in the Civil War -- is fulfilled through public-private partnerships in which government (federal, state, and even local) matches private donations from 55,000 members and other public-minded persons. This partnership demands continuous accountability to government agencies as well as to current and potential donors. The tight focus on this mission requires a highly committed staff, and the Trust is served by a small group of highly dedicated individuals. The Trust also works with a variety of other non-profit organizations that focus on battlefield preservation in their communities or regions, futher leveraging its ability to carry out its mission. The result is the permanent preservation of 32,000 acres of sacred soil to date, and another 2-3,000 acres being added each year. I am proud to be a part of this history effort to protect America's heritage.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Seeing hundreds of acres of battlefield land come into permanent protection by purchase in fee simple (and subsequent donation or resale at net cost to government ownership) or by conservation easement.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

How did you learn about this organization?

I was a member of two earlier organizations both dedicated to battlefield preservation (the Association for Preservation of Civil War Sites and the CIvil War Trust) which were formed in the late 1980s and early 1990s, and merged in 1999 to form the Civil War Preservation Trust, which renamed itself in 2011 as the Civil War Trust. I learned about the predecessors because of the struggles to protect land at Manassas, Chantilly, and Brandy Station from development in the late 1980s.

What is this organization's top short-term priority?

Securing protection of currently unprotected land that is at immediate threat of development.

What is its top priority in the long run?

Opening all protected land to the public as an outdoor classroom to understand the courage and commitment of the men and women, on both sides, who gave their "last full measure of devotion" to causes in which they believed, and thus shaped the United States democracy that we cherish today.

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers