Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
246 Reviews
1234.979675
Write A Review
November 16, 2014

more

November 16, 2014

In recent years I've been doing genealogy research to learn more more about myself and my family. I've been truly impressed with the battlefields and museums and memorials that help to preserve and protect the history as well as the memory of those who made history. I feel it is important to preserve this important piece of us. The men and women who made this history may be long buried but each and every one of us carry a part of them with us today. If we are to look forward to the future and build a better world we must learn from the the lessons left to us by the past. The most important saying that speaks to this is, "Those who fail to learn from history are doomed to repeat it." Keep history alive and vital so we never have to hear the saying "The sins of the father shall be visited upon the son".
October 30, 2014

more

October 30, 2014

The mission of the Civil War Trust is to preserve9 our history by rescuing land that once saw war between our countrymen. The professionalism and dedication of this organization's board to execute this is unmatched as demonstrated by the many awards and accolades the CWT has EARNED. I have attended several annual conference and have always come away even more energized, passionate, and extremely proud of the work we do. It is an organization made up of men, women, and students. The mix is diverse - some are retired, some are recent graduates, some are educators, some are spouses who come along for the comraderi - but we all share a common purpose, and we all are making a contribution and one heck of a difference together! I am a member of a few organizations, but none is run and managed more effectively than the Civil War Trust!
October 17, 2014

more

October 17, 2014

My interest in the American Civil War is familial and, at one point in my working career, it was also professional.

The battlefields of the Civil War are integral to the history and evolution of the United States and the nation it is today.

I have enjoyed visiting many
battlefields and associated sites and many years ago I had also had the pleasure of working on one of the major battlefields of the Civil War.

The Civil War Trust does exactly what it says its mission is - helping rescue and protect Civil War battlefields regardless of location and size. And the Trust does this with minimal fuss and maximum efficiency.

My contributions are quite modest, but I am proud to be a contributing member of the Civil War Trust. and being a small part in helping to preserve a bit of the heritage of the United States.
October 14, 2014

more


1 previous review
July 5, 2012

I started donating to the Civil War Trust in 2000 when I found it listed as one of the reputable charities to donate to through the government's annual Combined Federal Campaign. As a Civil War buff ... more

October 14, 2014

I've been a member of the Civil War Trust for nearly 15 years. It's one thing to know history, quite another to preserve and experience it. Sure you could read about the battles of Gettysburg, Shiloh or Antietam in a book, but standing on the field itself, imagining what happened there, is a moving experience. You get a better perspective. You see the contours of geography and begin to understand why troops were deployed the way they were. You can sense the bravery, courage and fear of the soldiers in places that have gone down in history with names like Bloody Lane, the Angle, and the Hornet's Nest.

Buying battlefield land in order to preserve it for future generations noble. It's also necessary if we're to preserve our heritage and keep it from being paved over by highways, shopping centers, or housing. I've always been proud to contribute to the Trust's campaigns because I know they don't waste my money. They buy key pieces of property that are needed to preserve history. They put together deals that maximize the benefit of my contributions. It's always the best bang for my buck.

In addition to buying historic land, the Civil War Trust can be counted on to defend battlefield land against the likes of developers who wanted to build a casino near Gettysburg. They helped squash the Disney Company's plan for a Civil War Theme Park in Manassas and worked with other preservation groups to find a suitable location for the Walmart Supercenter other than opposite the entrance to the Wilderness Battlefield.

As an organization the Civil War Trust does a superb job in their core mission -- buying battlefield property. They do an equally great job keeping their members informed of successes and ongoing campaigns through the www.civilwar.org website and the quarterly magazine Hallowed Ground. The website is a fantastic resource for educators, students, or anyone planning a trip to a Civil War battlefield. The ever expanding number of Battle App Guides for smart phones will enhance your trip experience.

Because I have a passion for history, I donate to many groups and foundations to preserve little bits and pieces of it. But let's be honest, George Washington's Mount Vernon or Thomas Jefferson's Monticello won't disappear without my donations. Without the Civil War Trust, and it's member's support, some important battlefield land just might.
July 5, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I started donating to the Civil War Trust in 2000 when I found it listed as one of the reputable charities to donate to through the government's annual Combined Federal Campaign. As a Civil War buff since childhood, I was happy to give money to an outfit that saved battlefield land from development for future generations. I joined the Trust in 2002 in order to help the cause even more. I've had the honor to donate money some 138 times to save parts of battlefields across the country. In addition to the thousands of acres of land preserved, I am proud of the Trust's part in preventing such atrocities as a casino in Gettysburg and a Walmart on the edge of the Wilderness battlefield. The Civil War Trust keeps its members informed through an outstanding quarterly magazine called Hallowed Ground and has developed a world-class web site as well. Available there are battlefield applications to download to your smart phone to use when touring some of the more famous battlefields. I'd certainly recommend looking at civilwar.org before touring any Civil War battlefield or whenever you want to learn a little something more about a particular battle. It's a great organization and I'll continue to give because I believe in their mission.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 12, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 12, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I have been a member of The CWT for more than ten years. Never have I seen an organization more dedicated to their cause. I feel appreciated whether I give five dollars or five hundred dollars. The money that is given is well accounted for which is more than I can say about many organizations.

Sincerely,
Nancy Kramer
October 10, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 10, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Civil War Trust is THE most valuable group to the preservation of our nation's historical lands as far as a non-profit organization. In conjunction with the National Park Service their efforts have been able to obtain critical hallowed ground that would otherwise be bulldozed and built upon by non-interested big business types that care only for the money in their pockets.

Our past is of utmost importance to us and must be preserved.

Harriett Condon
October 9, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 9, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

The Civil War Trust is one of the best organizations I have been aware of in the area of historical preservation. The Civil War was one of the most significant times in our nation's history-when our nation was preserved and slavery ended. The persistent efforts by Jim Lighthizer and the membership toward keeping the battlefields, cemeteries, and other historic sites free from development and ruin
have been nothing short of phenomenal.
October 1, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 1, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I have stood on Gettysburg and Antietam battlefield and looked out on land unsullied by personal homes, commercial building or theme parks. This is how our history should be experienced. We are connected to those who fought there. I'm proud to be a member of a respected organization whose purpose is to preserve these lands and the history of them.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 7, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

July 7, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I was first introduced to the Civil War Trust at a meeting of the Cape Fear Civil War Round Table back in May of 2002. I had recently retired from the military and corporate world and was feeliung my way around retirement activities. The Civil War Trust provided me with a way to contribute to the preservation of Hallowed Ground that would otherwise "be developed" and lost to future generations thus I made my first contribution. I was advised recently that I have made some 176 contributions. I am amazed. I feel that in some small way, I have made a difference.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 6, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
July 6, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I have been a contributor to the Trust or its predecessors since 1995 and have been very pleased with its results in saving threatened Civil War battlefields, both by purchasing and preserving land and, importantly, taking on tough political battles for preservation, like protecting the iconic Wilderness Battlefield from a Super Wal-Mart. While I have not studied its financial operations in any detail, all I am aware of suggests it has a strong ethical culture, an able, motivated and efficient staff, and that it is a good steward of donated funds.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers