Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
119 Reviews
1234.966395
Previous | Next
Write A Review
October 1, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 1, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I have stood on Gettysburg and Antietam battlefield and looked out on land unsullied by personal homes, commercial building or theme parks. This is how our history should be experienced. We are connected to those who fought there. I'm proud to be a member of a respected organization whose purpose is to preserve these lands and the history of them.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 7, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

July 7, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I was first introduced to the Civil War Trust at a meeting of the Cape Fear Civil War Round Table back in May of 2002. I had recently retired from the military and corporate world and was feeliung my way around retirement activities. The Civil War Trust provided me with a way to contribute to the preservation of Hallowed Ground that would otherwise "be developed" and lost to future generations thus I made my first contribution. I was advised recently that I have made some 176 contributions. I am amazed. I feel that in some small way, I have made a difference.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 6, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
July 6, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I have been a contributor to the Trust or its predecessors since 1995 and have been very pleased with its results in saving threatened Civil War battlefields, both by purchasing and preserving land and, importantly, taking on tough political battles for preservation, like protecting the iconic Wilderness Battlefield from a Super Wal-Mart. While I have not studied its financial operations in any detail, all I am aware of suggests it has a strong ethical culture, an able, motivated and efficient staff, and that it is a good steward of donated funds.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 3, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
July 3, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I have been a donor to the Civil War Trust since 2004, making major annual contributions as well as responding to individual campaigns to save land at important battlefields. It is one of the two major charities that I contribute to consistently. Given the enormous amount of battlefield land preserved, I think it is an outstanding investment for my charitable contributions. The Trust has annual meetings that are highly professional, performing educational services for its members, and keeping us up to date on the progress made in fulfilling its mission. Furthermore, it educates the general public through its outstanding website, history articles, maps, and educational outreach programs. A five-star performance all the way.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers