Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
119 Reviews
1234.966395
Previous | Next
Write A Review
October 10, 2013

more

October 10, 2013

I have been a very strong supporter behind the "Civil War Trust's" mission now for just over twenty years and also served as a volunteer with this non-profit organization for just over five (5) years; one and just over one-half year when it was known as the "Association for the Preservation of Civil War Sites" and three (3) and one-half years when it was known as the "Civil War Preservation Trust." In addition to preserving and protecting our country's irreplaceable history and heritage in land, the "Civil War Trust" to me represents and symbolizes the values of what I'll call "modern-day pastoral agrarianism."
In addition, the Trust in particular goes a long way in providing its members the "biggest bang" for their buck donations with its matching numbers, that way leveraging most efficiently their members' financial support.

Eric B. Martin
10-10-2013

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2007

October 5, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 5, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

My wife and I have been supporters of the Civil War Trust for many years. We appreciate the Trust's mission, and are continually impressed with the results being delivered for a very worthy cause. We will remain supporters as long as there is a need.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

continue to run the program in the professional manner.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 7, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

July 7, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

My wife and I have been members since 2005 and interacted with this group on many levels and on various projects and trips. We have made almost 50 donations and will continue to do so. Their wise stewardship of the funds and the brilliance of their acquisition strategies is exemplary. The staff is always helpful and courteous and frankly just a pleasure to work with. They have our trust and friendship and have changed how future generations will experience the Civil War immensely.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 7, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
July 7, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I got interested in the Civil War because of art. I saw the Ken Burns series in 1990 and loved it but it didn't inspire me to go out and search out Civil War sites although, being in Washington DC, I was near quite a few of them. It wasn't until 1997 when, while driving on the interstate in Maryland, I saw the sign for Sharpsburg for the umpteenth time and decided to visit a Civil War battlefield site. Once there, what struck me were the statues. I loved the stories they portrayed. That instantly hooked me and I found I was touring the park looking for other statues, then getting curious about the battlefield itself.

Pretty quickly, I decided to visit other Civil War sites. I kept running into sites that were crediting a group called the Association for the Preservation of Civil War Sites (APCWS) for buying the land and preventing it from being developed.

I believe we have a responsibility to pay our share for things that we consume so, in 1998, I joined the APCWS. Park rangers were also praising another preservation group -- the Civil War Trust -- so I joined that one also. I thought it was the best of all possible worlds when both of "my" preservation groups joined to become what would ultimately end up being called the Civil War Trust again.

I knew the Trust was protecting battlefields but it's also a membership organization. They have regularly-scheduled conferences for members. I went to my first conference in 1999 with some trepidation. Would I be surrounded by "the South will rise again" fanatics? But I found the members to be open, intelligent, fascinating people who shared my passion for the battlefields.

The Trust itself was this to the nth power, plus being dedicated, inspired, professional, and practical. This was a great organization doing great things. The more I checked, the more impressed I was with the organization. Park rangers spoke almost in awe of it. Famous authors were donating their time to lead Trust members on tours. And Charity Navigator's continually high ratings independently reassured me that my money was being well spent.

Seventy-some donations later, I'm proud of what the Civil War Trust has accomplished and that I'm a part of it.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 5, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
July 5, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Like about 50,000 other folks, I have long been a member of this organization. I am also a former Board member. So I know this organization well, and feel that it does more good, more efficiently, than any other non-profit I know of. And an interesting thing is that they seem to have so much fun doing it.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 5, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
July 5, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

As longtime members (since 1995) we have been stalwart donors (209) gifts of Civil War Trust. It has been an honor and privilege to contribute to an organization that protects and preserves our American heritage for generations to come. What we love about CWT is that we get to see tangible results of our contributions by walking and the studying the battlefields that we have preserved-we get to enjoy the historians who accompany us and provide the "walking history" of the site. We are always pleased to see the annual reports that let us know how our money was spent knowing this organization is following its mission statement to preserve our country's historical past. As a retired teacher I am always excited about the intense educational component that is available to all schools. This group is the best- continue the great work. Carol & Ralph De Rosa

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 4, 2012

I am a middle school history teacher and have found the Civil War Trust to be invaluable in helping me present the war and surrounding events to the students. Our school joined the Trust in 1999 and have contributed a total of $110,000 so far through 70+ fundraisers for various battlefields. This helps the students to learn to take responsibility for their history and gives them a sense that they are actually making a difference. The Trust has so many things to help teachers. For instance, they have a Teachers Institute that teachers can attend to learn first hand about battlefields, meet other teachers and exchange information. They have lesson plans for elementary, middle and high school. They have a Traveling Trunk that you can order to come to your school that have reproduction period items that can be used to teach the 1860's. They have vocabulary lists on line that one can easily use in the classroom. They have battlefield specific photos that a teacher can use to show students just what they are saving should they decide to have a fundraiser. They have contests where a student can either write or draw, whichever works for them, on a period theme. I use it for extra credit and the students really like it. They have timely updates on current events relating to Civil War themes so teachers and students can see what is happening regarding current events relating to preservation. I find their website quite easy to use. They have a Teacher Feature where various teachers explain how they teach the Civil War, so this is a great way to get ideas. They also feature schools and allow them to explain how they involve students in preservation. One more thing is that if I ever need information that I can't find on their website, I can always call them and get an expert answer. We expecially like the fact that the vast majority of donations go directly to purchasing land, a great use of our money. Teaching about the Civil War is just so much easier with their help.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 4, 2012

I have been a member of this fine organization since early 1998 and donated 188 times. During these tough economic times and due to recent health problems I have had to cut back on my charitible giving. However I feel the Civil War Trust is the most honest charity organization out there. I probably receive 4 to 6 charity mailings a day, some of which are scams. The Civil War Trust uses the money they receive the most efficiently of any organization I know of. They know what the mission is, how their members feel about it, and they accomplish the goal. I am as proud of being a member of this organization as anything I have accomplished in my life.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 3, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
July 3, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I joined the Civil War Trust in March of 1993, because it offered the opportunity to do something positive for saving the heritage of the American Civil War. It is not just as matter of preserving battlefields of that War, it is a concrete means of ensuring that future generations are afforded the opportunity to learn, in depth, the meaning of that great struggle that has defined our culture. One cannot truly understand our country and its culture without an in-depth understanding of the greatest upheaval of American society in our history to date. By preserving the fields where Americans shed so much blood and endured so much suffering, one gains the feelings of that era and of those gallant men who were willing to die for the cause for which they fought and in which they believed. I have given donations to the Civil War Trust 131 times to date, and I will continue to give so long as I possibly can.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers