Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
119 Reviews
1234.966395
| 1 2 3 4...12 |
Write A Review
July 28, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
July 28, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

I have contributed to the Civil War Trust for over 10 years and have always been extremely pleased with the effectiveness of the organization in fulfilling its mission of saving important Civil War battlefields. CWT’s results – over 32,000 acres
preserved – speak for themselves. CWT also
gives superb feedback to its donors, through regular e-mails, conferences, and a magazine. I am not aware of another non-profit organization which provides such accountability to its donors.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 27, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
July 27, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

I have been a donor for many years and have been very pleased with their stewardship of my contributions. From the beginning of my involvement with CWT there has been a personal interaction with them that has set them apart from others. Their mission to save Civil War battlefields from development fits well with my interest in the Civil War and conservation generally. I have been very pleased with the efficiency of their operations which allows more money to go to conservation and education. I further have been impressed with the focused opportunities they provide to support specific battlefield preservation initiatives, I.e. it costs this much to save an acre. It makes the contribution feel quite real in it's impact. The educational component has become truly impressive and if one has the good fortune to attend one of their events you are in for a treat. CWT is a top notch organization.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 26, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

July 26, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

I have been a life-time Civil War buff. Three of my great-great-grandfathers served in the CSA...thankfully one survived! I have strongly and generously supported the Civil War Trust since January of 1998. Although I contribute to other worthy causes, CWT is at the top of my list. I have attended several meetings, and met many staff members, all of whom are genuinely dedicated and devoted to the preservation of battlefields that played a role in shaping our nation as we know it today. I am thankful that my (modest) donations not only help preserve these historical sites, but also help educate the youth of today about their importance. I am grateful that someday my grand-children, and possibly even their grand-children, will be able to visit these "Hallowed Grounds". Respectfully submitted...John E. McAuliffe, MD.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Visits to many battlefields which would by now be buried under asphalt and concrete without the work of the CWT.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

What specific problem, purpose, priority, or project prompted your gift?

Born in the South, ancestors in the Civil War

Why did you make your donation at this time?

Regularly schduled donation as a member of The Color Bearers

What would you tell others about this organization?

Worthy of all the support you can give them. Their efforts will benefit many generations to come!

July 22, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
July 22, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

For more than a decade my wife and I have vigorously supported the Trust with more than 50 donations...quite simply we 'trust the Trust' to stay on mission("we buy dirt"), to support preservation of hallowed ground, to educate those who walk these grounds and participate in their educational offerings, to obtain matching funds and to minimize their 'overhead expenses'. In NC at Bentonville Battlefield alone during this decade, the Trust has led a cooperative effort to expand core battlefield from less than 100 to nearly 1500 acres...and the preservation continues! We have encouraged many others to participate regularly, for it is clear the Trust plans for the future...for our children's children and beyond.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 17, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

July 17, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

For more than a decade, my wife and I have been active supporters of the Civil War Trust and its activities because we share with the Trust leadership and fellow members a strong commitment to the preservation of sites hallowed during the conflict of 150 years past. To date, we've been pleased to be able to make some 50 gifts to the cause. CWT is unparalleled in its effective use of donations, leveraged by such means as matching grants and local, state and government programs, to achieve remarkable successes in saving sites threatened by development or neglect, thereby providing opportunities for future generations to better understand one of the most momentous periods in the Nation's history. We are confident that CWT utilizes our donated funds to achieve the largest positive effect in accordance with its mission and our intentions. Innovative ideas, capable staffing and boldness of action are hallmarks of the Trust. Squandering of funds on "overhead" is never an issue. We'll continue to support the Trust with full confidence in the outcomes.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 16, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

more

July 16, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

The Civil War Trust, in my humble opinion, is the best-managed, finest-staffed charity in this country. I have been a continual member since 1988 and am closely familiar with the "inner and outer workings" of the Trust and fervently believe this organization is one of the few that actually lives up to its noble purpose. It is important to note that the Trust is supremely successful simply because its managers are viewed as honest brokers wherever they go. And, they don't make enemies.. Rather, the Trust works closely with landowners, local, state & federal officials, and they studiously avoid contentious fights, when possible. But when the Trust does enter a preservation fray, they almost always prevail. I am proud to be a donor and member of the Civil War Trust and they will continue to get my monetary support as long as I am around.. Why? Because I "trust the Trust" to spend my donations where they will always do the most good.. Thanks, Clark B. Hall

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 15, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

July 15, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

I have been a member of the Civil War Trust since June of 2006. I have been a Civil War buff for many many years. Since becoming a member I have attended 4 of their Annual Conventions, missing only 2010 when my wife was dying of cancer. In that time I have made over 65 gifts to the Civil War Trust. I have also walked on ground purchased by the Civil War Trust at a number of different battlefields. I cannot imagine a group where the contributions go more directly to support the goals of the membership than this group. That also goes along with the continually emerging fights against Wallmart at The Wilderness and the attempt to build a casino at Gettysburg. L R Trotter

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 15, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
July 15, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

The Civil War Trust is the best of the best! Not only does my contribution help to preserve Civil War Battlefields, but on average Trust managers have found ways to obtain government grants and funding from outside sources that quadruple the value of my donation. In addition, the Trust has an excellent website that is both educational and informative, provides excellent seminars for its members, and acts as a powerful representative for all Americans who understand the benefits of preserving our history.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 13, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

July 13, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

I have been a supporter of Civil War Trust since 1995. During that time I've made 17 individual contributions to the organization. In every case, I've been gratified to see that my donation has been put to good use in preserving the hallowed ground of our nation's Civil War battlefields. In my experience, CWT is (and has been) the premier nonprofit working in this vital area of preserving for future generations our country's history. For example, due to CWT's tireless efforts over the years, the battlefield at Glendale, Virginia (the climactic battle of the Seven Days Campaign) has been fully preserved. I've walked that ground with my children, and it has brought to life for them the significance of what happened there 150 years ago. I've included CWT in my estate planning. That's the best endorsement I can give them! Robert E. Eberly Jr., Esq.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 12, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
July 12, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

I have been a contrbutor to the Civil War Trust for seven years and have made almost thirty gifts in support of its mission. There a few, if any, more important causes to support today. The opportunities to forever preserve Civil War battlefields are slipping away, and the Trust is true to its preservation mission. Its leadership and staff are dedicated to their work, and are people of energy and integrity. The dollars you give to this group will be well invested in the cause of America's hallowed ground.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers