Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
246 Reviews
1234.979675
Write A Review
October 16, 2014

more


1 previous review
July 4, 2012

As students of the U. S. Civil War, my husband and I joined the Civil War Preservation Trust (now Civil War Trust) after receiving positive feedback about it from individuals we queried at various bat... more

October 16, 2014

Hearing positive reviews from a variety of sources encouraged my husband and me to join CWT over a decade ago. The Trust's consistent top-notch performance in carrying out its mission to preserve Civil War sites impels us to remain members. Its website that features, among other things, animated battle maps and biographies of important Civil War figures, is an ever-growing informational resource for Civil War enthusiasts.

CWT's educational division helps teachers and students to learn about the Civil War in numerous ways, such as teacher institutes, on-line lesson plans, poster contests, and photo contests. These activities play a critical role in helping young people appreciate the Civil War's role in shaping the United States of today.

Because of its consistent success in preserving Civil War battlefields, its creativity in reaching an expanding audience, and its efficient operation, my husband and I remain loyal members of CWT.

July 4, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

As students of the U. S. Civil War, my husband and I joined the Civil War Preservation Trust (now Civil War Trust) after receiving positive feedback about it from individuals we queried at various battlefield parks and museums. Once a part of the group, we learned of its cooperation with other preservationist groups, its ability to work with governmental agencies at all levels, and its abilty to garner matching funds that gave our donations more buying power. As a result, we became part of its Color Bearers program. Saving 32,000+ battlefield acres is by itself a remarkable accomplishment, but CWT's efforts to educate the general public, teachers, and students through its publications, its website, teacher institutes, and student contests make it a truly outstanding organization. We are proud to be CWT members and recommend it to others on a regular basis.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 15, 2014

more

October 15, 2014

I have been a member of the Civil War Trust for over 10 years and the Trust does an outstanding job of preserving our heritage. In addition to saving hallowed ground for future generations, the Trust is also the leading organization for providing educational materials for educators so that the Civil War will be taught with the thoroughness it deserves. Finally, the Trust has been in the forefront of applying technology to the study of the Civil War through the development of mobile apps to interpret major battlefields. The Civil War Trust is the premier organization for preserving Civil War battlefields and preserving the history of the Civil War for posterity.
October 15, 2014

more

October 15, 2014

The Civil War Trust and its predecessor organizations have been a favored charity of ours for over 15 years. We were drawn to it through our interest in "things Civil War" and what we found from experience to be a strong and well-led organization focused on land preservation and educational outreach. Over the years we have come to know a number of the organization's leaders personally though participation in several of the CWT sponsored events both in the East/Midwest and in California. We are continually impressed with the range of the initiatives that the Trust identifies and pursues as well as their remarkable successes such as the acquisition of the Lee's Headquarters property at Gettysburg. We whole-heartedly endorse CWT for its effectiveness in use of our donations and look forward to supporting it through our estate planning.
October 15, 2014

more

October 15, 2014

I have been a member of the Civil War Trust for 15 years; the work this nonprofit does to protect historic, hallowed civil war sites is outstanding. Civil War battlefields are being paved over at an alarming rate every day and the CWT literally rescues acres of key historical Civil War sites so that future generations can visit and remember what happened over 150 years ago in a war in which over 620,000 Americans died for a cause they so ardently believed in.

The ratio of donor dollars to CWT expenses is one of the best in the nonprofit industry and by leveraging
donations with select government grants gives more "bang for the buck" in maximizing acres saved.

The Civil War Trust is by far the best leader in Civil War battlefield site preservation.
October 14, 2014

more

October 14, 2014

I cannot begin to express my level of satisfaction with the Civil War Trust. Where else can I give money to an organization and know that nearly every penny will go towards the goal, battlefield preservation? Where else, as a donor and member, do I feel like I am the one honored to be a part of group of such fantastic people? I give to as many campaigns as I can afford, and give knowing that my donation has an impact, has a true purpose. I only hope they can continue to be such a land preservation force for decades to come.
October 14, 2014

more


1 previous review
October 4, 2013

I developed a fervent interest in the Civil War as a child when Life magazine published a series on the centennial. I have continued to read avidly and broadened my interest in the conflict by tourin... more

October 14, 2014

I have been a member of the Civil War Trust for more than 12 years – my wife for more than five. Being a member has been a wonderful way for me to satisfy an interest I first developed as a child in the Civil War and to insure that the history we’re passionate about is preserved for future generations. The Trust’s work to preserve a site serves to inform members and the public (through the web site) of what took place (through histories and educational tools such as battle maps) and usually matches the financial contributions of their members with government funding.
The matching government funding that has been reallocated by Congress several times over a number of years is an acknowledgement of the important role that private funding provided by the Trust and others plays during a time of restricted government spending. It allows the CWT to save battlefields from development, an especial threat now in times of economic recovery and increased development. Robert Sykes

In 2009, we took our first road trip to visit as many Civil and Revolutionary War battlefields and national parks as possible. Our home being in California, it was a major cross-country road trip. On top of that, I was a few-months-old naturalized American citizen, which meant that I had a staggeringly steep learning curve! As you may have guessed, the citizenship test covers only the very basics. Luckily, the Civil War Trust Web site was right there for me to peruse. I can’t say that when we left home, I was as knowledgeable as my husband, but it was clear to me that the Civil War Trust Web site could be educational to not only kids in school but also middle-aged naturalized American citizens like me! So thank you, Civil War Trust! Kyoko Ito
October 4, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I developed a fervent interest in the Civil War as a child when Life magazine published a series on the centennial. I have continued to read avidly and broadened my interest in the conflict by touring many of the battlefields with my wife.
The CWT offers me an extremely gratifying way of
saving this part of our country's history by increasing the number and acreage of preserved battlefields and preventing the threat of encroaching development. Their success in leveraging additional funding to match members' contributions has accentuated the battlefields saved and subsequently the War's legacy for all of us.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

not change much. On only one occasion were they slow to respond to a request from this member.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 14, 2014

more


1 previous review
July 26, 2012

I have been a life-time Civil War buff. Three of my great-great-grandfathers served in the CSA...thankfully one survived! I have strongly and generously supported the... more

October 14, 2014

I have been a member of the trust for many years. My gifts are modest, but frequent, as I have made it my goal to support each campaign. The Trust is very effectively managed, and I have never felt the need to question any decisions management has made.

I enjoy walking the ground we have
saved and contemplating the sacrifices made on those grounds. My greatest satisfaction is knowing that my children, grandchildren and generations beyond them will be able to walk and cherish those same grounds.

There are indeed many worthwhile charitable organizations, but I can think of none other than the Civil War Trust that will provide such a long term benefit to this country and its' citizens.
July 26, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

I have been a life-time Civil War buff. Three of my great-great-grandfathers served in the CSA...thankfully one survived! I have strongly and generously supported the Civil War Trust since January of 1998. Although I contribute to other worthy causes, CWT is at the top of my list. I have attended several meetings, and met many staff members, all of whom are genuinely dedicated and devoted to the preservation of battlefields that played a role in shaping our nation as we know it today. I am thankful that my (modest) donations not only help preserve these historical sites, but also help educate the youth of today about their importance. I am grateful that someday my grand-children, and possibly even their grand-children, will be able to visit these "Hallowed Grounds". Respectfully submitted...John E. McAuliffe, MD.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Visits to many battlefields which would by now be buried under asphalt and concrete without the work of the CWT.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

What specific problem, purpose, priority, or project prompted your gift?

Born in the South, ancestors in the Civil War

Why did you make your donation at this time?

Regularly schduled donation as a member of The Color Bearers

What would you tell others about this organization?

Worthy of all the support you can give them. Their efforts will benefit many generations to come!

October 14, 2014

more

October 14, 2014

I receive many, many appeals for financial support from many different organizations. I will only support those organizations where the bulk of my donation will be used for the stated purpose, not pay for some executives extravagant lifestyles. As a supporter since 1994, the Civil War Trust has proven over and over that they are able to multiply my donation by various grants and other methods which pleases me very much. I will never refuse an appeal for help from the CWT because they get the job done !

D.C.Moody
Nashport, Ohio
October 14, 2014

more


1 previous review
July 5, 2012

I started donating to the Civil War Trust in 2000 when I found it listed as one of the reputable charities to donate to through the government's annual Combined Federal Campaign. As a Civil War buff ... more

October 14, 2014

I've been a member of the Civil War Trust for nearly 15 years. It's one thing to know history, quite another to preserve and experience it. Sure you could read about the battles of Gettysburg, Shiloh or Antietam in a book, but standing on the field itself, imagining what happened there, is a moving experience. You get a better perspective. You see the contours of geography and begin to understand why troops were deployed the way they were. You can sense the bravery, courage and fear of the soldiers in places that have gone down in history with names like Bloody Lane, the Angle, and the Hornet's Nest.

Buying battlefield land in order to preserve it for future generations noble. It's also necessary if we're to preserve our heritage and keep it from being paved over by highways, shopping centers, or housing. I've always been proud to contribute to the Trust's campaigns because I know they don't waste my money. They buy key pieces of property that are needed to preserve history. They put together deals that maximize the benefit of my contributions. It's always the best bang for my buck.

In addition to buying historic land, the Civil War Trust can be counted on to defend battlefield land against the likes of developers who wanted to build a casino near Gettysburg. They helped squash the Disney Company's plan for a Civil War Theme Park in Manassas and worked with other preservation groups to find a suitable location for the Walmart Supercenter other than opposite the entrance to the Wilderness Battlefield.

As an organization the Civil War Trust does a superb job in their core mission -- buying battlefield property. They do an equally great job keeping their members informed of successes and ongoing campaigns through the www.civilwar.org website and the quarterly magazine Hallowed Ground. The website is a fantastic resource for educators, students, or anyone planning a trip to a Civil War battlefield. The ever expanding number of Battle App Guides for smart phones will enhance your trip experience.

Because I have a passion for history, I donate to many groups and foundations to preserve little bits and pieces of it. But let's be honest, George Washington's Mount Vernon or Thomas Jefferson's Monticello won't disappear without my donations. Without the Civil War Trust, and it's member's support, some important battlefield land just might.
July 5, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I started donating to the Civil War Trust in 2000 when I found it listed as one of the reputable charities to donate to through the government's annual Combined Federal Campaign. As a Civil War buff since childhood, I was happy to give money to an outfit that saved battlefield land from development for future generations. I joined the Trust in 2002 in order to help the cause even more. I've had the honor to donate money some 138 times to save parts of battlefields across the country. In addition to the thousands of acres of land preserved, I am proud of the Trust's part in preventing such atrocities as a casino in Gettysburg and a Walmart on the edge of the Wilderness battlefield. The Civil War Trust keeps its members informed through an outstanding quarterly magazine called Hallowed Ground and has developed a world-class web site as well. Available there are battlefield applications to download to your smart phone to use when touring some of the more famous battlefields. I'd certainly recommend looking at civilwar.org before touring any Civil War battlefield or whenever you want to learn a little something more about a particular battle. It's a great organization and I'll continue to give because I believe in their mission.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 14, 2014

more

October 14, 2014

I have been a proud member of the Civil War Trust having joined its predecessor, ASPCWS, in 1994 simply because it is the right thing to do. Saving battlefields of this great conflict for future generations is more than just preserving fields and places where northern and southern men fought and died, it is saving part of our American heritage and culture as well, for us and for future generations of Americans. The Civil War Trust has proven to be a very effective leader in this preservation effort, having saved thousands of acres of hallowed ground from being lost to developers. Moreover, they have provided leadership and resources to local preservation groups engaged in this effort and they also provide educational programs to raise awareness of the monumental struggle that occurred 150 years ago. I believe that no other preservation group has been so effective or so deserving.

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers