Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
246 Reviews
1234.979675
Write A Review
October 24, 2014

more

October 24, 2014

I am involved with land preservation efforts on the Eastern Shore of Maryland serving as the Treasurer of the Eastern Shore Land Conservancy. I am also a great admirer of Civil War history and events, over time I have have watched the Civil War Trust grow as a leader in land preservation and education with regard to this time period as a donor. Then just this past month our organization held it's annual fundraiser "Party To Preserve" in Caroline County, MD and as the speaking part of the event was going on I looked at the name tags of the folks standing next to me and here was Mr. & Mrs. Jim Lighthizer. A small world, so I introduced myself as a member and congratulated Jim and his wife on the great job CWT is doing.

Thank you for the opportunity on sharing this little story.

Jim Mullin

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 23, 2014

more

October 23, 2014

Every time I walk out onto a Civil War battlefield that has been preserved by the Civil War Trust, I feel that each donation I make is helping to fulfill Abraham Lincoln's charge that "these dead have not died in vain". The Civil War Trust gets maximum value for every donated dollar, and I am proud to be part of their legacy. Because of their - of our - work, we can learn from the lessons of the past, and preserve the battlefields where so many sacrificed everything they had for their country.
October 23, 2014

more

October 23, 2014

Thank God there are people who are willing to devote time and money resources to preserving our nation's heritage.
October 20, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 20, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

My wife and I have been members of the Civil War Trust for about twenty years. We believe in the importance of preserving land where significant events in our nation's history took place. Through this preservation, generations to come can better understand who we are as a nation, the sacrifices made, and the importance of preserving the history which binds us all.

We believe the Trust is a great steward of our donations as it consistently achieves among the highest ratings in charity effectiveness. We are proud to be active members and proud of the land we have helped in small measure to set aside.
October 19, 2014

more


1 previous review
July 22, 2012

For more than a decade my wife and I have vigorously supported the Trust with more than 50 donations...quite simply we 'trust the Trust' to stay on mission("we buy dirt"), to support preservation of h... more

October 19, 2014

The Trust, which my wife and I have enthusiastically supported for more than a decade, remains our best example of a superior 401 (c) 3 or academic institution. With remarkable operational efficiency and a focused mission ( "we buy dirt"), it has transformed hundreds of battlefields and their continued future operation. The Nation is blessed by the tens of thousands of men and women members who pledge their time and treasure to The Trust.
July 22, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

For more than a decade my wife and I have vigorously supported the Trust with more than 50 donations...quite simply we 'trust the Trust' to stay on mission("we buy dirt"), to support preservation of hallowed ground, to educate those who walk these grounds and participate in their educational offerings, to obtain matching funds and to minimize their 'overhead expenses'. In NC at Bentonville Battlefield alone during this decade, the Trust has led a cooperative effort to expand core battlefield from less than 100 to nearly 1500 acres...and the preservation continues! We have encouraged many others to participate regularly, for it is clear the Trust plans for the future...for our children's children and beyond.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 19, 2014

more

October 19, 2014

I realized the importance of battlefield preservation when I moved to Virginia in 1984 and saw the Chantilly Battlefield lost to townhouses as there was not an organized effort to stop the loss. I think I first started contributing to the then Civil War Preservation Trust after receiving a letter in the mail. The tone and content of that letter convinced me that this was an organization that was as passionate as I was about our Civil War heritage. I can see with each battlefield saved, that Civil War Trust uses my donations wisely and I can see the results. I have never been disappointed.
October 17, 2014

more

October 17, 2014

My interest in the American Civil War is familial and, at one point in my working career, it was also professional.

The battlefields of the Civil War are integral to the history and evolution of the United States and the nation it is today.

I have enjoyed visiting many
battlefields and associated sites and many years ago I had also had the pleasure of working on one of the major battlefields of the Civil War.

The Civil War Trust does exactly what it says its mission is - helping rescue and protect Civil War battlefields regardless of location and size. And the Trust does this with minimal fuss and maximum efficiency.

My contributions are quite modest, but I am proud to be a contributing member of the Civil War Trust. and being a small part in helping to preserve a bit of the heritage of the United States.
October 16, 2014

more

October 16, 2014

During the eighteen years I have supported The Civil War Trust, it has undergone a 180 degree reversal from an underfunded --although well intentioned-- organization into the nationally recognized premier organization dedicated to the acquisition and preservation of Civil War battlefields.In so doing it preserves our Nation's history.
Due to its focused , knowledgeable, and strong leadership,an efficient and competent staff, and its ability to apply virtually 90% of every dollar raised directly to its mission, it has recovered over 40,000 acres of battlefield land. Its devoted and generous base of donors grows annually. Contributions by donors are matched by Federal and State programs, thus creating the necessary leverage to pay the increased prices which must currently be paid to acquire battlefield land.
Supporting The Trust is rewarding and satisfying.it is also most enjoyable!

October 16, 2014

more

October 16, 2014

I have been a donor to the Civil War Trust for over 10 years. I'm proud of what they have accomplished and am always pleased to recommend their work to others. For the American history enthusiast I can think of no better cause to support. Their reach is nationwide and there is no tract of battlefield land too big or too small for them to protect. For almost any Civil War Battlefield you visit, you will find that the CWT has already been there and has made an impact in protecting our nation's hallowed ground. In some cases they have saved entire battlefields from scratch, taking land that was at risk of being turned into tract housing or strip malls, protecting it, and opening it to the public for the first time. Besides protecting battlefield land, the CWT is also active in providing educational tools and resources to students, educators, and the general public. This information is useful to the novice and the expert alike, and is an important investment in stimulating interest in Civil War History among the broader population, particularly the young. The CWT does a great job of tying our history back to the land itself, thereby making it come alive. This is a dedicated organization with a deep commitment to their mission, an outstanding track record of success, and big plans for the future. You can support it with confidence, and I encourage you to do so.
October 16, 2014

more

October 16, 2014

I've been a donor to the CWT and its previous for close to 20 years and I've always found them to be extremely efficient with our money. They have kept the administration costs to a minimum and not lost sight of their goal of preserving Civil War battlegrounds.

It's an honor on my part to
be a part of such an organization. I feel my money has been very well spent and the people working there are dedicated to the task.

Doug Stuart

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers