Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
241 Reviews
1234.979255
| 1 ... 11 12 13...23 |
Write A Review
October 9, 2014

more

October 9, 2014

I have been a member of numerous non-profits in my lifetime and of The CWT for about 10 years. Bluntly stated they are the best at what they do and the way they do it. I believe there is a song out there somewhere..."Nobody Does it Better"...'nuff said
October 9, 2014

more

October 9, 2014

I started out with the Association for the Preservation of Civil War Sites in the late 80's and have continued my membership and donations through the merger with the CWT through today. The CWT is in my mind the gold standard for private historical preservation. The staff is first rate and works diligently to make sure that the maximum amount of donations/dues etc. are being channeled to the acquisition of historical sites. They are superb in leveraging dollars with matching programs. They are an invaluable resource for state and local preservation groups. They work very well with anybody in the preservation business. I cannot recommend the CWT enough.
October 9, 2014

more

October 9, 2014

There are many nonprofits in America that do a good job either raising money or building awareness or spending money or establishing and accomplishing clear goals or showing appreciation for their members, but CWT does them all! And no other nonprofit I've ever seen does a better job of leveraging the dollars they raise in order to accomplish great feats in historical preservation. I'm proud to be associated with this highly professional group of dedicated people.
WillG
October 9, 2014

more

October 9, 2014

I have been a member of the Civil War Trust since the Association for the Preservation of Civil War Sites merged with the Trust. I like the Trust for many reasons. let me enumerate a few:

(1) The Trust only asks for money when the Trust has identified a specific opportunity to acquire a
specific piece of land on a specific battlefield. You know where your money is going, and it feels great when you walk on preserved land at a site such as Malvern Hill and you KNOW that your money purchased a portion of the land that you are visiting.

(2) The Trust has developed a real sophistication in acquiring land and stretching donor dollars. The Trust always taps into matching funds from States, federal sources and other land preservation organizations to greatly enhance the value of my contribution.

(3) The Trust is like a smart general. The Trust fights the battles that have to be fought, but the Trust is much more interested in developing relationships with landowners long before a piece of property goes on the market. This adroit approach saves money (the Trust doesn't get into a bidding war) and it sends the message to landowners that the Trust is a friend and a resource, not a bogeyman that wants to stop land from ever being sold.

(4) The Trust's website and its magazine (Hallowed Ground) are terrific supplemental sources of information about the Civil War in general and battlefield preservation in particular.

(5) The Trust has been immensely successful. Donors are very proud of the accomplishments of our organization.

James G. Ryan
October 9, 2014

more

October 9, 2014

The Civil War Trust is doing an outstanding job of protecting and preserving Civil War Sites for both present and future generations. Much of the land that Civil War Trust saved would have fallen to developers. It sickens me to think of bulldozers desecrating land where brave men fought and many died. The Civil War defined us as a nation, and we must preserve the sites where these great issues were decided. Civil War Trust is doing just that. They are unquestionably one of the most important nonprofits in The US.
October 9, 2014

more

October 9, 2014

I have been a donor to the CWT for many years. I have named the CWT in my will as a beneficiary. I can thinkof no better way to help preserve for future generation wonderful historical sites. I have received timely thanks and small gifts for my contributions. I am extremely pleased with the professional manner the way the CWT operates.
October 9, 2014

more

October 9, 2014

It must be 25 years since joined the predecessor to the Civil War Trust, and the Trust has only gotten better and better during those years. Although I belong to many non-profit organizations, I contribute more--much more--to the Trust than any other, in part because I am confident that my contributions will be money well spent. The Civil War Trust has repeatedly been able to accomplish things I thought would be impossible.
October 9, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 9, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

The Civil War Trust has a truly splendid record of carrying out its mission of permanently protecting historic battlefield land. Over the years it has preserved more than 40,000 acres. And this land is not marginal heritage land. It is the most important land available to tell the story of the American Civil War. And a lot of it is challenging to acquire. Recently the Trust contracted to purchase a 4 acre parcel containing the building that was Lee's Gettysburg headquarters, an adjacent thriving motel and a restaurant -- this is hardly an easy transaction to pull off, but the Trust did it and is on track to pay not only for the acquisition but the removal of the non-historic buildings and the restoration of the historic house, with the property ultimately to be added to the Gettysburg National Military Park. LIkewise the Trust over the years has preserved entire battlefield landscapes that otherwise would have been destroyed by development -- Glendale, VA, Bentonville, NC, Champion Hill, MS, Harper's Ferry, MD and Petersburg, VA are just some of the examples.

I am confident that my contributions to the Trust will be put to work on the mission, with administrative costs and other overhead kept to a minimum. I know this not just because of the observable results, but the transparency of the Trust and the close contact I enjoy with the Trust staff and leadership. I strongly recommend folks interested in our Civil war battlefields, land conservation in the Eastern half of our nation, and our national heritage to get involved with the Civil War Trust.

I

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Cannot think of anything.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 7, 2014

more

October 7, 2014

My experiences with the Civil War Trust go back almost twenty years now, and in that time I've been continually impressed by their efficiency and commitment to their mission. The results are clear: the number of acres they have saved since inception past 39,000 acres now. These are real, tangible results that is evidence of their judicious use of member donations, grants and other funding. They have never waivered from their commitment to saving the hallowed ground on American soil, and for that I continue to be a staunch and willing supporter.
October 7, 2014

more

October 7, 2014

We have been a member of the Trust since 1999, yet we are still amazed at how good this organization is at what they do. No other organization in the history of our nation - including our Federal government - has accomplished what we have done - over 40,000 hallowed acres preserved forever. It's a very scary idea to think of how much of our history would have been lost forever had this organization not existed.

The Trust is efficient, effective and financially responsible - this is a combination that can't be beat.

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers