Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
119 Reviews
1234.966395
| 1 ... 10 11 12 | Next
Write A Review
July 3, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
July 3, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

This is the best . Organized, focused on the task, efficently managed and shows results the battle sites we have saved. Since 1994 we have made 124 indiviuals gifts. Our gifts total over $10,000.00 dollars. In our advancing golden years the gifts are smaller but our belief in the task and the Trusts' determination to save all we can. Our overhead is low yet our staff continues to work at the highest lvel of commitment. This is a well run operation decidatwed to the task. Bruce and Barbara McNaughton

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

saving battlefied sites

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Not change one thing

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

What specific problem, purpose, priority, or project prompted your gift?

Save our history

Why did you make your donation at this time?

site came available to save

What would you tell others about this organization?

Join, give it is all worthwhile

July 3, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

July 3, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I have been a contributing member of the Civil War Trust since 2001. Since joining the Trust, I have made in excess of 95 contributions to their causes to save hallowed ground. As a result of the Trust's work, I have be able to visit battlefields at Gettysburg, Fredericksburg, Chancellorsville, Cedar Creek, the Wilderness and Franklin with the next generation (my 7 and 11 year old grand daughters) to witness first hand what the Trust has accomplished.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 3, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
July 3, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I totally believe in this charity, its efficiency and mission. Just last month my American Express statement shows I gave three gifts to them totalling $325. (I gave a total of $75 to two other civil war battlefield presrvation groups.) If I had millinios to give, they would get it. If not us, who? If not now, when?

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 3, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
July 3, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I joined the Civil War Trust in March of 1993, because it offered the opportunity to do something positive for saving the heritage of the American Civil War. It is not just as matter of preserving battlefields of that War, it is a concrete means of ensuring that future generations are afforded the opportunity to learn, in depth, the meaning of that great struggle that has defined our culture. One cannot truly understand our country and its culture without an in-depth understanding of the greatest upheaval of American society in our history to date. By preserving the fields where Americans shed so much blood and endured so much suffering, one gains the feelings of that era and of those gallant men who were willing to die for the cause for which they fought and in which they believed. I have given donations to the Civil War Trust 131 times to date, and I will continue to give so long as I possibly can.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 3, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
July 3, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

History matters. Our heritage matters. Our opportunty to preserve hallowed ground, the sites of so many of our Civil War battlefields, won't last forever. That is why I was curious when I first heard about the work of the Civil War Preservation Trust. After research, I soon discovered that this is an extremely well run non-profit organization. I'm impressed with how they leverage my financial gifts, their focus on keeping overhead costs low, and the effectiveness with which they get their important message to the broader community. The way in which they are evolving their model to applied history, including curriculum development, has been an added bonus for me. I'm honored to have been a donor since 2009.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 3, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
July 3, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

We've had the distinct pleasure of being members of Civil War Trust since it's merge in 1999. We've attended nearly every conference since then & had the most amazing people within the organization welcome us as family. We have never had such special feelings & treatment from any other organization. Forever Members!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 3, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
July 3, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Anytime a charitable organization can make sure that at least 80%-85% of every donated dollar goes straight to the main purpose of it - battlefield land purchase and preservation in this case - then I think the organization is running exactly as it should, and it's one in which I'll do business time and time again. I've had nothing but good experiences with the Civil War Trust and fully believe they will help continue to keep our history alive.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 3, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
July 3, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I first donated to this charity when it was the Civil War Preservation Trust, many years ago. They provide excellent information about the Civil War's historical importance, but also the war's continued relevance to the present. I know where my money is going to preserve history, and appreciate the hard work of the staff. The Trust keeps donors informed of its activities, and sponsors some excellent special events. I give every year.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 3, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
July 3, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I have been a donor to the Civil War Trust since 2004, making major annual contributions as well as responding to individual campaigns to save land at important battlefields. It is one of the two major charities that I contribute to consistently. Given the enormous amount of battlefield land preserved, I think it is an outstanding investment for my charitable contributions. The Trust has annual meetings that are highly professional, performing educational services for its members, and keeping us up to date on the progress made in fulfilling its mission. Furthermore, it educates the general public through its outstanding website, history articles, maps, and educational outreach programs. A five-star performance all the way.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

| 1 ... 10 11 12 | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers