Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
246 Reviews
1234.979675
Write A Review
October 9, 2014

more


1 previous review
July 4, 2012

A decade ago (2002) I began making donations to the Civil War Trust. Other than my local church, it is the single charity I would whole-heartedly, unreservedly recommend. I know that almost the entire... more

October 9, 2014

I have goosebumps when I think about being able to help support the CWT in its sacred mission of saving hallowed ground, actual battlefield soil that Americans bled and died on to save our country and give it a new birth of freedom -- my latest donation is just as thrilling as my first so many years ago. The Trust is laser-focused, efficient, highly communicative to donors and supporters. But most important, it acts and uses every possible cent of my donation to accomplish its work. I cannot say enough good about the good it does.
July 4, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

A decade ago (2002) I began making donations to the Civil War Trust. Other than my local church, it is the single charity I would whole-heartedly, unreservedly recommend. I know that almost the entirety of every dollar I send will be spent saving hallowed ground where soldiers fought to save our country -- sacred soil that needs preservation. The Trust works diligently to achieve that mission, along with educating people about the places it saves. It acts speedily, in situations where the federal government doesn't or can't. Eventually, it can turn over the site into the care of the people of the United States. I cannot express enough how amazing it is to be part of this effort on behalf of our forebears and our descendants. We are, in our own way, helping save America, thanks to the CWT.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 9, 2014

more

October 9, 2014

this is a great organization. they do a fantastic job at preserving our America's most important history
October 9, 2014

more


1 previous review
November 30, 2012

I have been a member of the Civil War Trust since 2001. It seems I can not help them enough. They deserve more than I can give. Their efforts to preserve our history and heritage are second to none... more

October 9, 2014

Who is saving our History, grabbing hold of what made our country what it is?
The Civil War Trust (CWT) has been saving Civil War Battlefield land for many years. CWT also has dedicated significant resources to provide education and educational tools to help individuals and educators to
learn about the many aspects of the American Civil War. Without the efforts of CWT, so much of our history would be forgotten in the form of shopping centers or housing or other buildings. The lands saved and the materials provided for education provide for the understanding of what our ancestors sacrificed to keep our country whole and to free people who were enslaved. So many soldiers died or were wounded fighting for their cause. Significant blood was shed long ago on the battlefields preserved with efforts of the CWT staff. Our history needs to be preserved and learned, what better way than to have the Civil War Trust buy land and provide educational materials. I have been a donating member since 2001, and I am proud of the way CWT handles the money I have contributed.
November 30, 2012

I have been a member of the Civil War Trust since 2001. It seems I can not help them enough. They deserve more than I can give. Their efforts to preserve our history and heritage are second to none. Their successes are masterful considering their accomplishments in the number of acres preserved and their educational projects performed. The purpose of preserving Civil War Battlefields is to be able to tell the story of how this country fought to preserve the rights of each side and how the country mended after the harsh destruction of the war. Where in history has their been a war when one race fought itself to free another? The nation should be proud to have survived such a period in history. The Civil War Trust accomplishes its mission with a dedicated, resourceful staff and advisory board. A wholesome group of individuals that perform well as a team. I am honored to be associated with such people.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 9, 2014

more

October 9, 2014

I belonged to the APCWS. since 1997 prior to the merger between it and CWT in 1999. I go to the annual conferences every year. It is one of the best organizations to which I belong as far as achieving its objective of saving Hallowed Ground and obtaining matching funds to economize and make purchases easily possible. I am proud to be a member of such a good organization and support it very generously. They organize an excellent annual conference at which everything is done first-class. As one of the most efficient non-profits it is serving the American people and our heritage in a very efficient and creditable way.

Fr. Richard W. Frank Brunswick, MO
October 9, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 9, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

As a former board member of a predecessor organization to the Civil War Trust and a member and donor for almost 20 years (as well as a professional that works with the management and boards of many not-for-profit entities}, I can say without say reservation that the Trust operates in a completely straightforward and transparent fashion. It fund-raises and pursues its objectives with equal measures or professionalism and stridency--and always stays true to its mission in the process!
October 9, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 9, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I have been a Civil War buff since long before I knew how to describe my passion. I was sixteen and living in a small city in Arizona -- not exactly a prime location for Civil War sites. One of the reasons I took advantage of an opportunity to "come east" to teach after law school was so I could be close to at least some of those Civil War battlefields and other locations I had been reading about for years. And all too often I saw those sites -- especially the lesser known ones -- being whittled away by development and neglect so that it took a great deal of imagination to envision what had occurred in these places. And then along came the Civil War Trust and its ancestor organizations. What a difference this dedicated group of professionals and volunteers has made in the preservation and protection of civil war resources, education of young people and teachers, exciting state of the art media presentation, and great touring opportunities for the rest of us. The Civil War Trust is a model not-for-profit. They are prudent with our money, aggressive when they need to be, but mainly patient -- developing relationships over years that lead to preservation opportunities. It's a great organization and I am proud to support it.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 9, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 9, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

The Civil War Trust is the best organization I have ever joined. I became interested in civil war history by touring battlefields in the 1990's. I have been a member of the trust since about the time it was formed and I have attended all but a few of the annual meetings. I have never been not pleased with an annual meeting of the CWT. Everything from the tours, the historians, the logistics, the professionalism of the staff, the interesting conversations with members and staff, the accommodations, and the esprit of everyone connected with the trust has been and I know will continue to be superior. I have learned more about the Civil War in the years I have been a member due to what I stated above. I shall continue to support this organization to the best of my abilities and shall make time available to attend the annual meetings. This organization for me represents what is best about the United States because of the hard work of the staff, the superior quality of the staff, and the manner in which they serve the members.
October 9, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 9, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I live in Culpeper County, one of the most fought-over counties in America, where the Battle of Brandy Station began General Lee's move north to the high-water mark at Gettysburg. The Civil War Trust has been committed to preserving the sprawling and lovely fields on which the largest predominantly cavalry battle in North American history was fought between the forces of Beau Sabreur J.E.B. Stuart and Alfred Pleasanton's newly bold Yankees. The sense of pride I felt as a contributor swelled as I stopped to visit the historic site last weekend. A stunningly ugly modern mansion had been constructed on the site of Stuart's Headquarters atop Fleetwood Hill, an incongruous and offensive intrusion on Sacred Ground. With the help of local groups, the CWPT made the critical difference in acquiring the property, and to see the ugly house being ripped down to restore the site to its historic appearance made me proud to be a member- and an American.

J.R. Reddig
Culpeper

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Have more money to donate to this exceptional charity.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 9, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 9, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I have been a donor/member of the Civil War Trust for so many years I can't remember! The Trust does a fantastic job in obtaining donations and matching funds for purchase of hallowed ground that I shudder to think what some of these battlefields and sites would look like without their guidance. These lands must be available for our future generations so that we never live through another period of such epic destruction. My youngest son has also caught the "Civil War bug" and is also a member of this fine organization. However, no matter what the Trust does, there is always more.
October 9, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 9, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Leading out front with the colors of regiment that can turn into a CORP of preservation funds is a great way to describe the Civil War Trust. The results are in the acres of hallowed ground preserved. The legacy of the many donors, volunteers, educators and professionals is to preserve the most sacred places, while maintaining the historical relevance of the Civil War that shaped this country.

Preserve today - tomorrow may be too late. The CWT provides this avenue to save our civil war battlefields.

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers