Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
119 Reviews
1234.966395
| 1 ... 10 11 12 |
Write A Review
July 3, 2012

I have been interested in battlefield preservation since the late 1950s when I contributed to efforts that I believed would help preserve Gettysburg. Not until I began seeing the work of Civil War Trust, and its predecessor, Civil War Preservation Trust, did I believe that actual preservation would take place. I joined Civil War Trust in 1999 and have contributed steadily since. Civil War Trust has got it right. The maximum amount of donations go to actual preservation and the Trust has been able to maximize its funds by keeping expenses low and seeking out local, state and federal partnerships for matching contributions that substantially enhance my personal contributions. You can go to the preserved spaces and see tangible results that make battlefield interpertation easier. You can understand the sacrifices, courage and will of the men who fought on the same ground that you walk. You see where your money is going. You know you are making a diffeence for the Trust, for preservation, for the understanding of our history, today and for the future.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Likely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 3, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

July 3, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

We have been members of the Civil War Trust since October , 1998 and have donated over 95 different gifts. CWT is the type of charity we prefer because the money goes toward purchasing something tangible - land. Whenever we visit a battlefield, (which is fairly often) we always marvel at the hardships that the soldiers of both sides had to endure in fighting for what they believed in. We're proud and honored to be a part of an organization which accomplishes so much in such an efficient manner.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 3, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

July 3, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I have been a proud member of the Civil War Trust since 1997. I have given 50 gifts to show my level of support of this Preservation mission. I have left a legacy gift of$25,000 to allow this great organization to Preserve Battlefield properties. It is important that we maintain and preserve the principal Civil War Battlefields so that our children and grandchildren can walk the fields and experience an emotional empathy with the men and women who fought and died to make this a great nation

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 3, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
July 3, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I have been a donating member of the Civil War Trust since 2007. I am proud to have supported over 50 Trust initiatives to preserve Battlefields. The Trust efforts are focused, efficient and successful. The Organization remains focused on the task at hand. The Staff and Leadership are dedicated. I believe that the Civil War Trust is the single best avenue for me to help preserve this momentous and significant part of American History. I am particularly pleased with recent educational efforts to raise awareness amongst our youth and Educators.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 3, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

July 3, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I have been a donor to the Civil War Trust since 1998, making 62 gifts, supporting the overall work of the organization as well as individual battlefield projects. I have been impressed by the efficiency of the matching gifts packages, the high quality and evenhandedness of the educational materials, and the deep respect and passion that the staff and members bring to their goal of battlefield preservation. I have confidence that my gifts are used in the most effective manner, and that they have lasting value and consequences. They are a tribute to our nation's past, and an investment in its future.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 3, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
July 3, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

The mission of the CWT is clear: to save America's Civil War battlefields before they disappear to development. This is a key part of our history, maybe the most important part, and nothing can make that history live like walking the same ground, seeing the same ridges and rivers, experiencing the places where these epochal events occurred. I've been a member since 1999 and made more than 100 contributions -- each to a particular project. This is the best part of the CWT approach to me. They are constantly looking for properties and working on deals and, when a project is put together, usually involving a mix of government and private funds from other sources, they present it to the members as a concrete proposal. You get the feeling that you are directly contributing to a specific purchase, often with good leverage. You can see where the land is on a map and see photos of the site, with historical insight and commentary as to the signficance of the parcel. Sometimes it's adding to land already saved; sometimes it's a battlefield that has been neglected. The purchases add up and over time entire battlefields are put together and saved. Sometimes the land is held until the NPS can take it over. When I've visited the sites, the NPS rangers are always deeply appreciative of the role the CWT has played, which makes an enormous difference -- we can't stop the sprawl completely, but there have been some huge accomplishments and some major successes in increasing public aswareness. I've met some of the leadership and they are sincere, devoted and professional. It's a very well run organization, with excellent outreach and information. It's become a focal point for preserving our nation's unique legacy and I'm proud to be a part of it.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 3, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

July 3, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I joined this organization as a donor as soon as I was earning my own income and could donate anywhere. I am very interested in saving battlefields for posterity, and I've found that the CWT is highly efficient. They are always able to multiply each dollar I donate by finding matching funds from state and federal funds, or even local organizations, so that each dollar I donate is matched by $4 or even $11 in matching funds. That, combined with a very low administrative cost, means that they have been able to save over 50,000 acres! I think if every historical preservation organization could copy their business model, more historical places, structures, and objects would be saved. It's not fancy or complicated, only sound money management. I have been a member since 2001, and that is my impression of the organization in the last decade. Unlike some other organizations, I feel the CWT is focused on preservation rather than countless mailings and lobbying for legislation, both of which may be good ideas, but I prefer my dollar to go to buying the actual land. Action, rather than talk. And the CWT delivers that. Because of them, battlefields that I care about such as Chancellorsville and the Wilderness have been protected, and I am confident that their current campaign to save ground at another of my favorites, Cedar Creek, will be successful, saving a historically valuable piece of land for future generations to visit, learn about our country's history and heroes, and be inspired.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

their campaigns to preserve particular battlefields. Each campaign is focused, so I know exactly where my donation is going. I can also see how they have used my donation when they list the various campaigns where they have successfully purchased the land for preservation. So I know that my donations are not getting lost in the organization, merely because I can see the results.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

What specific problem, purpose, priority, or project prompted your gift?

I am a Civil War buff, and I would like to see battlefields preserved so that kids can visit them, tread the same ground as General Grant, Lee, Meade, and Jackson, and be inspired to learn more about our country's history. Visiting a battlefield is a way to engage a student's mind and perhaps get their noses out of their texting.

July 3, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
July 3, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I have been involved with The Civil War Trust since 1998. I attend functions regularly, have gotten to know staff and Board members, and donate some money each year. I am very much impressed with this group's organization, transparency, and results. When I donate a dollar I know from experience that most of my dollar will be used for land acquisition. My experiences with CVT have been very rewarding, and I look forward to a continued close association with this charity. J. H. Price, lll

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 3, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
July 3, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I have been a proud member of the Civil War (Preservation) Trust since 2003 and I highly recommend others consider joining this organization. One aspect of this organization that should inspire confidence is that the leadership team has largely been stable since I have been a member. They group has a great mission and is very transparent. There is frequent communication in form of letters, a magazine, emails, videos posted on-line, tweets, and a great website.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 3, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
July 3, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I have been a donor to the Civil War Trust for a number of years and have met with the president and with other members of the staff several times. I am impressed with their dedication and the efficiency of the organization. Unlike many non-profits, which are perpetual sinecures for the staff, they say they would like to complete their mission of protecting major civil war battle sites and go out of business. I have featured the Civil War Trust (formerly known as the Civil War Preservation Trust) as an example of a well-run organization in the best-selling college-level management accounting textbook that I co-author. I am an emeritus professor of accounting and a CMA.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers