Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
246 Reviews
1234.979675
Write A Review
November 16, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 16, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Many people talk about the sad fact that Americans are losing touch with their history and their heritage. Many Americans have lost sight of what it means to be an American, and what sacrifices were made to give us the privileges and rights that we sometimes take for granted. The Civil War Trust has done more than talk--they have bought land that might otherwise become a shopping mall, or a housing development, or a quarry, and preserved it, usually donating it back to the American people by giving it to the National Park Service or state of local parks. This land is preserved (and sometimes restored), so that visitors can stand on the same spot where brave men and women stood, and fought and died, and see the same landscape that those soldiers saw, and imagine the terrifying sights that they witnessed. The experience of "place" can only happen if these sacred places are preserved for the future, and the Civil War Trust, acting alone and in partnership with other public, private, and governmental organizations, has preserved over 40,000 acres of land. There are battlefields that today, thanks to the Civil War Trust and its members and donors, that have gone from NO preserved acreage to nearly completely preserved battlefields. A battlefield where my ancestors fought, Brandy Station, is a case in point. For this accomplishment alone I would rate the Civil War Trust with 5 stars. Many a time I have stood on land that the trust has preserved, and come to understand a little better each time, that indeed freedom is not free, and many people gave their lives so that we might enjoy the freedoms we have today.

But the Civil War Trust has also reached out to Americans so that these places can become more than static relics or places of funereal somberness. For example, I have been to land that the trust preserved in Winchester VA, and seen bicyclists and hikers mingling with Civil War tourists. The trust also provides educational services directly to the public, with an informative website--THE first place to turn for information and detailed maps about the Civil War, as well as incredibly creative "apps" for use when touring battlefields. I used the Chancellorsville app and followed the trail of Jackson's flank attack thanks to one of these informative apps. The trust's educational mission also extends to teaching the teachers, with a teacher's institute that I have been privileged to attend. And they do all of this on a shoestring budget compared to much larger and better known charities.

Recently, the trust has extended its mission even further, helping to preserve land at Revolutionary battlefields as well.

The Civil War Trust is the type of charity that can show tangible results of every dollar that is contributed. You can stand on the dirt that was purchased. You can see the vistas that were protected. You can learn from the educational materials they have created.

I highly recommend the Civil War Trust to historians, genealogists, historic preservationists, battlefield tacticians, recreational users of park land, educators, and Americans who wish to share our shared past with the future generations who follow us.
November 16, 2014

more

November 16, 2014

In recent years I've been doing genealogy research to learn more more about myself and my family. I've been truly impressed with the battlefields and museums and memorials that help to preserve and protect the history as well as the memory of those who made history. I feel it is important to preserve this important piece of us. The men and women who made this history may be long buried but each and every one of us carry a part of them with us today. If we are to look forward to the future and build a better world we must learn from the the lessons left to us by the past. The most important saying that speaks to this is, "Those who fail to learn from history are doomed to repeat it." Keep history alive and vital so we never have to hear the saying "The sins of the father shall be visited upon the son".
November 11, 2014

more

November 11, 2014

I inherited my father's fascination with the battles, personalities and politics of the Civil War at a formative age. Supplemented by extraordinary history teachers in my middle and high school years, I developed a profound connection to the war, the time period and the masterworks of historians to capture all the complexities of an all-encompassing war. I don't know why it is important to save the places where these tragic events took place, but I do know what I feel when I visit them. That feeling engages me in honoring their lives, contextualizing my life and times, and continuing the work to form a more perfect union.

The Civil War Trust, better than any other organization, not only saves these special places but invests in those of our generation connecting this history to the next. Their excellent communications expands my knowledge of the war while showing my value and effectiveness as a member of the Civil War Trust team. I look forward to continuing this work with the Civil War Trust for many decades to come.
November 5, 2014

more

November 5, 2014

I have been a contributor to the Civil War Trust for well over 10 years. Having had 4 GG Grandfathers fighting for the Union (and Rebs on my wife's side) saving this ground is important to us. Some of my happiest days have been spent at Shiloh, Gettysburg, Antietam, Vicksburg, etc.

Very important work.
October 31, 2014

more

October 31, 2014

In the mid 1990's I visited battlefields with signs and markers generated by The Association for the Preservation of Civil War Sites, I realized then and there that this was an organization I wished to donate to. I already was a member of The Civil War Trust as it existed in the 1990's.

What a benefit when they merged and morphed to a dedicated land acquisition and preservation group . I feel that more has been done by this private group to preserve and encourage American Battlefield heritage than has been done since the veterans themselves did in the immediate post Civil War years.

I feel that any donation to The Trust is an investment in United States history and I gladly contribute
with frequency.

ExRad

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 30, 2014

more

October 30, 2014

The mission of the Civil War Trust is to preserve9 our history by rescuing land that once saw war between our countrymen. The professionalism and dedication of this organization's board to execute this is unmatched as demonstrated by the many awards and accolades the CWT has EARNED. I have attended several annual conference and have always come away even more energized, passionate, and extremely proud of the work we do. It is an organization made up of men, women, and students. The mix is diverse - some are retired, some are recent graduates, some are educators, some are spouses who come along for the comraderi - but we all share a common purpose, and we all are making a contribution and one heck of a difference together! I am a member of a few organizations, but none is run and managed more effectively than the Civil War Trust!
October 30, 2014

more

October 30, 2014

The Civil War was a turning point in American history. The Civil War Trust does an amazing job in preserving Civil War battlefields, and does so by utilizing every possible type of funding -- donors, federal dollars, state dollars, civil war organizations contributions. Where purchase is not possible, they are ale to get easements to prevent battlefield land from disappearing.
October 30, 2014

more

October 30, 2014

I don't remember how long we've been supporters of the Civil War Trust (ne'e Civil War Preservation Trust), but it must be at least 10 years now. We support the Civil War Trust because it is a very effective advocate for preservation of historically important property related to the Civil War. Moreover, the Trust is a good steward of donors' money. We know that our donations will be used for their intended purposes. In addition, the Trust thinks strategically and partners effectively with key governmental and private sector partners. We are proud to be supporters.
October 28, 2014

more


1 previous review
August 7, 2012

I have been a supporter since 2004 and have given over 40 gifts including those to the organization as well as specific appeals. The message is communicated well and is clear. But just as important t... more

October 28, 2014

we have contributed over the last 8 years or more to support specific history preservation efforts. The communication is clear & the donations are applied to the intended use.
We are also contribute to support the organization as we feel they do a great job preserving the history of our civil
war. Preserving that history helps us understand who we are as a country.
We value the job they do.
August 7, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

I have been a supporter since 2004 and have given over 40 gifts including those to the organization as well as specific appeals. The message is communicated well and is clear. But just as important the use of the funds follow the message.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Improve the year end record keeping so we got a complete statement of contributions for the year.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

What specific problem, purpose, priority, or project prompted your gift?

A specific appeal that is clear & concise.

Why did you make your donation at this time?

Because I understand & agree with the appeal.

October 27, 2014

more


1 previous review
July 3, 2012

I have been a donating member of the Civil War Trust since 2007. I am proud to have supported over 50 Trust initiatives to preserve Battlefields. The Trust efforts are focused, efficient and successfu... more

October 27, 2014

The Civil War Trust has been part of our giving for 7 years. We have contributed to over 70 history saving initiatives. The Trust has faithfully and efficiently focused on preserving this essential part of our Heritage. The Civil War Trust is the single best way to save these hallowed fields.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 3, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I have been a donating member of the Civil War Trust since 2007. I am proud to have supported over 50 Trust initiatives to preserve Battlefields. The Trust efforts are focused, efficient and successful. The Organization remains focused on the task at hand. The Staff and Leadership are dedicated. I believe that the Civil War Trust is the single best avenue for me to help preserve this momentous and significant part of American History. I am particularly pleased with recent educational efforts to raise awareness amongst our youth and Educators.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers