Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
119 Reviews
1234.966395
Previous | 1 2 3...12 |
Write A Review
October 10, 2013

more

October 10, 2013

I have been a very strong supporter behind the "Civil War Trust's" mission now for just over twenty years and also served as a volunteer with this non-profit organization for just over five (5) years; one and just over one-half year when it was known as the "Association for the Preservation of Civil War Sites" and three (3) and one-half years when it was known as the "Civil War Preservation Trust." In addition to preserving and protecting our country's irreplaceable history and heritage in land, the "Civil War Trust" to me represents and symbolizes the values of what I'll call "modern-day pastoral agrarianism."
In addition, the Trust in particular goes a long way in providing its members the "biggest bang" for their buck donations with its matching numbers, that way leveraging most efficiently their members' financial support.

Eric B. Martin
10-10-2013

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2007

October 8, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 8, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

We have been members of and contributors to the Civil War Trust for about 10 years. It is our favorite non profit because of the quality of the work and the mission of the Trust as well as the efficient and prudent use of our contributions. We frequently recommend the Trust to others with a passion for history.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

If it were possible, I'd make the Trust more visible so more people would be aware of the great work done by this organization in both education and preservation of land.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 6, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 6, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

This is a great organization!! We give to several organizations, but Civil War Trust is the best I know of to make your donations double, triple and make a difference. This organization has leadership that has skill, knowledge, integrity and is always on top of situations to preserve battlefields with not only donations but matching grants and keeps expenses for running the organization to a minimum. We are acquainted with several staff members, who are always very courteous & helpful, and are very knowledgable of their duties, the organization itself and the purpose of the organization. The staff are young, friendly, energetic and efficient. We usually see them about twice a year and have always enjoyed being around this group of people. We have been members for several years now and will continue to be members.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Add me to their payroll - it would be an honor to work with an organization like this one.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 5, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 5, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

My wife and I have been supporters of the Civil War Trust for many years. We appreciate the Trust's mission, and are continually impressed with the results being delivered for a very worthy cause. We will remain supporters as long as there is a need.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

continue to run the program in the professional manner.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 5, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 5, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

The Civil War Trust (CWT) has been doing a fantastic job of keeping many Civil War sites preserved despite all the development that is going on all over the country. When my husband and I traveled from California to visit CW battlefields in the East, we sometimes came across signs that said that the land had been acquired by the Civil War Trust Foundation (which is CWT's former name) --- for example, the battlefield of Brandy Station and the White Oak Road battlefield, both in Virginia. We don't see those signs at other Civil War battlefield parks even though CWT was involved in the acquisition of the land, because, as I learned during the trip, the CWT's goal is to turn over acquired land to the National Park Service. So CWT is very much like people who do all the heavy-lifting behind the scenes, hidden from the audiences --- not for acclaim but out of their passion for history! Still, the signs made me proud as a contributor! Also, the CWT's e-newsletters are terrific and full of interesting and latest information.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 5, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 5, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

America was riven by an all-out civil war from 1861 to 1865; as time passes this war that shaped what the US is today is less and less well known. The Civil War Trust (CWT)'s mission is to preserve battle fields and provide education so America doesn't forget its own heritage. The preserved battlefields also represent in modern society scarce open space and are used in addition for: hiking, nature walks, biking, meditation, and battle reanactments. Once a year I attend annual meetings most always in different locations. The meetings I have attended include: Gettysburg Pa, Louisville Ky, Chantilly VA, Jackson Missisippi, and 2014's meeting will be in Nashville Tennessee. The CWT has a dedicated staff always able to provide great battlefield tour guides which makes the meetings educational, memorable, and fun.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

change as little as possible for the time being

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 4, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 4, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I developed a fervent interest in the Civil War as a child when Life magazine published a series on the centennial. I have continued to read avidly and broadened my interest in the conflict by touring many of the battlefields with my wife.
The CWT offers me an extremely gratifying way of
saving this part of our country's history by increasing the number and acreage of preserved battlefields and preventing the threat of encroaching development. Their success in leveraging additional funding to match members' contributions has accentuated the battlefields saved and subsequently the War's legacy for all of us.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

not change much. On only one occasion were they slow to respond to a request from this member.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 4, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 4, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Since I was a young boy, I have always been interested in U.S. history. In 8th grade, I was fortunate to go on a class trip to Washington DC and we also stopped at gettysburg. This fired my passion for Civil War history. About 10 years ago, I learned of the Civil War Trust and the work they did in striving to preserve historic battlefields. I joined and have since increased my support levels. I gladly did so because the Trust uses my donations efficiently and wisely to protect and preserve the history that is so important to me. As the Trust does, my family carefully stewards the dollars we give to non-profit organizations. After our church, we believe the money we give to the Trust is the best money we can donate. In 2012, I saw first-hand what happens to battlefields if exposed to rampant development. We visited Franklin, Tennessee which was the site of a major and bloody engagement but is now substantially paved over. Fortunately, the trust is endeavoring to recover portions of the battlefield acre by acre. I support this and other Trust efforts and know they will maximize the value of my donation.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I can't think of any changes other than increasing the number of members supporting Civil War Trust efforts.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 4, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 4, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I have always loved history from when I was a child. I moved to the DC metro area almost 40 years ago. Soon thereafter, I discovered the large number of Civil War battlefields within 50-75 miles of my home. I soon began visiting them and dragging my son with me. I find them very moving and educational. About 20 years ago, I began noticing and reading about encroaching development on these battlefields including of all things a NASCAR racetrack (thankfully never built). I also visited places like Quebec where I could barely find a plaque to Richard Montgomery and seeing the Plains of Abraham overrun with stuff related to a rock concert.

About 10-15 years ago (and I am not sure how) I got involved with the (then) Civil War Preservation Trust. I have donated thousands of dollars since and taken their battlefield tours on occasion. The (now) Civil War Trust has succeeded in blocking many potential developments near Civil War battlefields over the past years. They invest money wisely. Now they are also helping teachers learn how to better teach the Civil War. This is something that is badly needed as our schools are failing to teach history.

The Civil War Trust is my favorite non-profit organization!!!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Only one thing--stay out of political battles like the Gettysburg Casino...

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 4, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 4, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I grew up in Virginia near Washington, D.C and fell in love with the Civil War as a small child. I love the history, but I equally love the open spaces the Civil War battlefields provide across a developing area like Northern Virginia. Just like the Civil War my first exposure to the preservation movement came at Bull Run and Disney's efforts to build a new theme park near First Manassas. At a young age I realized Civil War preservation was something important to me and have been active with the Civil War Trust and its predecessors for +20 years. The Civil War is something that impacts every city, small town and county, to this day, across the United States. Even though I live in the West now, I still want people to understand the importance of the Civil War and enjoy some of the most beautiful vistas in the United States, which is why I donate my money, my time and my efforts to the Civil War Trust.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 3...12 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers