Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
17 Reviews
1234.941185
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
July 10, 2014

more

July 10, 2014

Excellent small organization that maximizes potential of participants.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 30, 2013

more

October 30, 2013

I've been working with City Mission Society for several months as the Seminarian in the City. This program has provided me with many valuable, hands-on, practical learning experiences. CMS does incredible work within the city of Boston with projects that benefit the community as well as the volunteers. It is inspiring to be working with such passionate people committed to empowering others and transforming lives! I know that the skills and experiences I am gaining here will continue to help me throughout my career.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 29, 2013

more

October 29, 2013

I have been serving on the Board of Directors for over a year now. The staff and volunteers are both extremely dedicated and passionate about the communities CMS serves! I feel very honored to have the opportunity to work with CMS and I look forward to seeing it grows as the organization moves toward its 200th anniversary!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 29, 2013

more

October 29, 2013

I started volunteering at City Mission Society eight years ago. I kept coming back because I loved the people there, both co-workers and the people we serve. I feel that I am part of a dedicated group of people who exemplify openness, understanding, acceptance and compassion. I admire them as adjunct angels, here on earth to make the world a better place. I am honored that they have welcomed me in. They inspire me.,
I've done everything from licking and stamping envelopes, to cleaning out the supply closet, archiving original records related to CMS going back to 1816, making picture boards for public events, framing and arranging art donated by caring artists, arranging for donated food from local restaurants for a reception of 70 people, buying hundreds of coats for our annual coat drive, now helping to organize our annual Christmas Shop serving more that 4,000 low income and homeless people, families living in shelters, low income elderly folks.
When archiving, I discovered that City Mission Society has changed its focus, but not its mission, over time, to address the changing needs of immigrant groups and the various differing reasons for poverty, from a sagging economy, to decentralized mental health services, substance abuse, history of incarceration, institutionalized racism, regardless of race or belief system. I understand the world we live in more clearly now that ever before in my 66 years.
CMS has been a quiet presence in the city of Boston for close to 200 years. Hopefully it will be around until its mission becomes obsolete.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

give CMS more space, more staff, more resources.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 29, 2013

more

October 29, 2013

I have been volunteering at City Mission Society of Boston for a year, and will continue to do so. City Mission Society has a very dedicated staff and makes a positive impact on the community.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 29, 2013

more

October 29, 2013

I run a teen summer service-learning program at Brandeis University. For the past 5 years we have worked with City Mission Society and Carl McDonald in various capacities. CMS offers my teens a unique opportunity for real encounter and dialogue with people who have experienced homelessness. The program with CMS is always the most highly-rated part of our summer program.

It is obvious that a ton of good is accomplished through the various ways in which CMS reaches out to those in need. In addition, by bringing young people into direct contact with poverty and homelessness, they are doing crucial work in spreading awareness and unity, not just in the Boston community, but in communities nationwide.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Quite well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 29, 2013

more

October 29, 2013

Participating in the MLK Day of Service is always inspiring. The coat drive provides wonderful support to the community.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 29, 2013

more

October 29, 2013

I've been volunteering with City Mission's Coat Boston event for a few years now. It's amazing to experience the results of such a dedicated and hard working organization. When I see the smile on a child's face after receiving a brand new winter coat -- or the relief on Mom's face because her child will be able to go to school in warmth -- it makes me so happy to be able to help and be part of this team -- and that's what keeps me coming back!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 26, 2013

more

October 26, 2013

I am the volunteer coordinator at Boston Rescue Mission and can't express enough how grateful we are to have City Mission Society as our community partner to help serve over 2,000 meals a week to those in need. We could not do it without the volunteers and City Mission has provided us with many groups from all over the country and state throughout the years. Thank you Carl for all your help and efforts to serve thousands of people in our city.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 22, 2013

more

October 22, 2013

I'm glad to be serving a second term on the board of City Mission Society of Boston. I recently had the chance to hear the testimonies of graduates of A Lift Up, on of CMS's programs. These women spoke to the support they received, and to the sense of empowerment they have toward creating a better future for their families. I've also had the privilege to volunteer for several years at the Christmas Shops. Every year I'm reminded of how broad CMS's reach is within Boston. Truly, June, Paul, Carl and the entire staff are compassionate, creative and well networked. Boston is blessed by City Mission Society!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you tell others about this organization?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers