Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
20 Reviews
1234.75
Write A Review
June 19, 2012

more

June 19, 2012

I completed my training to be a mentor with CCC in September of 2008 and was matched to my mentee that October. She and I have now been matched for almost 4 years. She was the Jr. Bridesmaid in my wedding. I have been to all her foster sister's weddings and baby showers and she has been to mine. She loves to get pedicures and do arts and crafts. Her favorite ice cream isn't ice cream at all. It is vanilla frozen yogurt and she loves to put all the toppings on herself. Her favorite color is lime green. We are "BFFs."

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 18, 2012

more

June 18, 2012

I love Citizens Caring for Children! I am a foster parent and have been now since 2009. CCC is a wonderful resource I use to help me take care of these kids who have been neglected and abandoned by their families. I truly appreciate their help and assistance with getting clothes, personal hygiene items, and school supplies.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 18, 2012

more

June 18, 2012

We have volunteered by donating and sorting new clothes, helping kids go shopping at the CCC store, wrapping many presents and, of course, donating money when we can. We were foster parents for years without a resource like this, and many times we sure could have used it! Foster parents and the kids that live with them are blessed by all the programs that Citizens Caring for Children has available for them. We think it is a much needed and very valuable addition to the foster care program in Oklahoma. Sharon and Tracy Freeny

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 18, 2012

more

June 18, 2012

I have been a foster parent for 6 different children over the last four years. Citizens Caring for Children have always been a great resource. With all the expenses that are not covered by DHS, they help with school supplies and 4 sets of clothes a year. They have saved me many times, especially when we first get a child and they come with nothing. They always make the kids feel special and the clothes they have are new and in style. The kids are always excited over the new shoes and a new back pack.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 18, 2012

more

June 18, 2012

I am a foster parent and there is just not enough help for the children and foster parents in Oklahoma we foster several children and try to provide everything for them,they want brand names in shoes and clothes ,and we want them to have what we put on our very own children,because it's hard on children these days if you don't wear brand names you get made fun of kinda bullied,so I have to give credit to all the people for helping our foster children have brand names and nice shoes it's amazing to me the blessing these people are donating so much of their time for these children ..God bless you all and I have to thank Melba for the time she takes to letus know each time to bring our children..God bless you all!Great job...

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

June 18, 2012

more

June 18, 2012

I am a volunteer through the mentorship "leg" of the Citizens Caring for Children organization. I love mentoring my foster friend and really appreciate everything the CCC does to help us. They not only matched me to my foster friend, but also provide great insights into community events and even offer tickets to shows or ball games that help me fund our outings. CCC also provides clothing, books, school supplies, and entertaining games for the kiddos to take with them. Citizens Caring for Children offers a safe location with nurturing people to help both my foster friend's and my needs.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 18, 2012

more

June 18, 2012

I have volunteered and many of the events organized by Citizens Caring for Children. Sorting and processing donatied clothing, assembling backpacks with school supplies for the children, participating in fundraisers at both Bids for Kids, Santa Stop, and the Redbud Classic, to name a few. These have been both fun and rewarding because of the passion the director and the entire staff have for doing everything in there power to insure the children served have a great experience when picking out their clothing as well as every foster parent feels appreciated for what they are doing to break the cycle these children are experiencing. Thank you Amy and Team, for making Citizens Caring for Children and important part of my life!

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

The joy in the faces of the foster children who have been supplied with clothing, but also seeing how proud the children are when they pick up their school supplies for the first time!. I had never thought of the issues both the students and the families face when it comes to the first day of school. Never did I imagine the lonliness and isolation a child feels when the teacher asks them where their pencil is and they have to reply "I don't have one. We can't afford it...)

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Improve the public relations campaign. This organization does too many good things that get attributed to social wellfare agencies like DHS. They assist the same families in some cases, but DHS gets all the credit and recognition. If more people knew the great things Citizens Caring for Children are doing, they would receive more donations and volunteer hours.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

What one change could this group make that would improve your volunteer experience?

Nothing--they clearly communicate the days activities, and are truly appreciative of every volunteer.

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

The relationships I have developed with other community leaders and business people have strenthened my network in the community. This in turns assists me finding other volunteer events for my family and for my team members

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

Outstanding, and also very fortunate. My grandmother raised me, but if not for her, I might have found myself in a situation similar to the ones these foster children are going through.

June 18, 2012

more

June 18, 2012

I have been a kinship foster parent for four and half years and have experienced receiving clothing, shoes, books and personal hygiene items. I have always had a great experience, nice and kind people and greatly appreciate the items we received. All were very helpful; also the school items to begin school with. Thank you for all you do!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 18, 2012

more

June 18, 2012

CCC is awesome! From birthday parties, to fulfilling Christmas wish lists, providing clothings, mentoring and more, CCC helps foster kids in Oklahoma County and surroundings areas. I am a mentor with CCC, currently mentoring a 13-year-old. My work with CCC has truly been one of the most fulfilling experiences of my life. Their staff is friendly, knowledgeable, helpful and motivating. I can't say enough about their wonderful program!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 18, 2012

more

June 18, 2012

With so few places that help foster children, CCC is a life saver. Everyone is super nice and really goes out of the way to help.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers