Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
23 Reviews
1234.956525
| 1 2 3 |
Write A Review
October 3, 2013

more

October 3, 2013

I recently joined the Board of Circulo de Vida and was drawn by their presence in the Community and to know that the staff really share their time to work with their patients and are truly dedicated to their well being. I was impressed with Venecia who is our teen counselor who is compassionate and is incredible with the children considering their illness and their families. To be working with staff that care and do their best to bring funding for our cancer patients is very important to us all

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 3, 2013

more

October 3, 2013

CDV has been a longstanding community partner of San Francisco General Hospitals' Comprehensive Breast Care Program. Under Carmen Ortiz's superb leadership, our interdisciplinary breast clinic has been able to expand seamless breast cancer patient navigation and emotional support services for our Latina patients with a more personalized and culturally relevant approach. After receiving a diagnosis of breast cancer, CDV bridges the gap for a patient in need of a closer connection to their own community resources with both group and 1:1 based emotional and practical support. This peer-based model has been highly successful and we are so fortunate to work in partnership with Carmen and her team in ensuring that breast cancer survivorship needs are being met at multiple levels.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Find them a generous donor to help expand these vital services!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 26, 2013

more

September 26, 2013

I had the greatest pleasure of interning with Circulo de Vida for my graduate school practicum, and could not feel more fortunate to have had that experience. From Carmen, the clinical staff, the volunteers, and the incredible, inspiring clients (past and present), I feel forever blessed CDV came into my life. I will forever be impacted from my experience working there, and will carry a special place for this organization in my heart always. There is something so special and unique about CDV, especially given how scarce resources are in a city that should be filled with them. CDV fills that void with their enormous heart. Thank you for the experience and the shared moments with everyone a part of CDV!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 12, 2013

more

August 12, 2013

Circulo de Vida is quite an exceptional and welcoming haven for those directly or indirectly affected by cancer. I've had the privilege to see first hand the immense positive impact our services have on the SF Bay Area community. Seeing the volunteers, community members and Circulo members coming together every year to fundraise and advocate for our cause, is a clear sign that we are living up to our mission "...to walk alongside Latinos living with cancer and their families as they find their way through the fear, confusion, and uncertainty of a cancer diagnosis. We aim to reduce the devastating effects of a cancer diagnosis by helping Latinos identify coping skills that will support their ability to meet the challenge of a frightening disease."

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 30, 2013

more

June 30, 2013

Circulo de Vida is a place where survivors and people with cancer come for upliftment and encouragement. They become empowered by others who are experiencing the same turmoil and have the courage to face this dreaded disease.
Circulo de Vida is a safe place where Latinos with cancer feel heard
and their emotions and feelings validated. THANK YOU CIRCULO DE VIDA!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

June 27, 2013

more

June 27, 2013

I am a cancer suvivor and for the past 12 years I have had the help of Circulo de Vida, I don't know how my life could have been without the support of other survivors as well as the wonderful staff, I received a lot information to continue with hope and knowledge regarding this terrible illness. Thenk you Circulo for the great support.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 18, 2013

more

June 18, 2013

As a palliative care social worker for a home care agency in SF, I have used Circulo de Vida as the best resource for counseling and emotional support services for Latino/as who have been diagnosed with cancer. Sad to say but there is no other bilingual-bicultural support of this kind in SF. That's why the services offered by Circulo are so valuable. I have had patients who have told me that the only person they have to talk to as they go through chemotherapy or radiation is the Circulo counselor. Circulo de Vida is an important and greatly needed service to the Latino community in SF.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

have more counselors to provide emotional support.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 18, 2013

more

June 18, 2013

Circulo de Vida has for many years now done amazing things on a shoestring budget. The organization, under the direction of Dr. Carmen Ortiz, has stayed remarkably clear in purpose and resilient in the face of an always challenging financial environment for non-profits. The staff and vounteers of the center are extraordinarily and unwaveringly dedicated to delivering a unique and life-affirming experience for Latinas with a cancer diagnosis. With thanks for all that you do.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 10, 2013

more

June 10, 2013

When I first went to work as an oncology social worker at San Francisco General Hospital some 20 years ago, there was no support program for our many Spanish-speaking patients. It soon became clear that the need was great as people spontaneously began to find and support each other while waiting to see their doctor or during their chemo infusions. Not long after that, the first group was formed which eventually became Circulo de Vida. Over the years, I made many many referrals to Circulo, always confident that whether the needs were for practical help or emotional support or both, each patient would find a warm, reassuring, and culturally competent person ready to listen and help in their own language. Circulo's program to train former patients to work as peer counselors for new clients is just one of countless examples of the deep roots they have established in the Spanish-speaking communities of the Bay Area.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Make their public face more prominent, for example through a more professional and regularly updated page on the web.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 4, 2013

more

June 4, 2013

Circulo de Vida staff help translate for the patient and physician at the time of diagnosis, offer home and hospital visits during surgery and treatment, provide a wide range of Spanish-language support groups, as well as case management and referral to other programs. It has been an honor and privilege to work for Circulo. The people who walk through our doors fill us with hope by way of their courage during a very difficult time in their lives. There is no other organization quite like Circulo.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

More funds to meet the increase demand for services.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Help with administrative duties and pre-event organization. Volunteers can also visit clients who live alone. Volunteer