Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
27 Reviews
1234.962965
Write A Review
August 15, 2014

more

August 15, 2014

I am the grandson on my beloved grandmother who provides a huge helping hand to Circulo De Vida, every chance i get i try to volunteer and help out for the breast cancer cause. Every time i have volunteered i had a great time met beautifully spirited cancer patients, survivors and other volunteers. The energy that Circulo De Vida provides for these women is unmatched, it gives diagnosed, recovering and even women who do not have breast cancer a place to go and feel accepted and be able to talk to other women about their experiences. Circulo de Vida provides information for women who are not completely aware of breast cancer or how to detect it. They are very much so involved in the community and want every woman in the area to know about their bodies. Overall the organization is a very helpful one, its brings light to those who live in darkness and i hope that this organization stays around for many more decades.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would like to see advertisement all around the bay area and get endless support

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

August 15, 2014

more

August 15, 2014

Circulo de Vida is a one of a kind nonprofit serving a vital sector of our Bay Area Community with compassion. By supporting Latina cancer survivors, their children and families in a culturally sensitive and appropriate way, CDV has led the charge for this kind of service for over 20 years. Our Latino community faces considerable challenges when diagnosed, but Executive Director Carmen Ortiz walks with them throughout process and then stays with them by providing a circle of supportive peers going through similar experiences. The CDV community is a wonder to behold: they give back to each other over and over again.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

advocate for more resources--CDV needs YOUR support!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 14, 2014

more

August 14, 2014

When my mother was diagnosed with breast cancer many years ago, she felt alone and scared even though she had the support of family and friends she still felt alone and confused. During one of her many treatments she was talking to a women who was with Circulo de Vida so my mom and the lady kept close contact and the lady came out to visit my mom at her home and she shared her battle she had with breast cancer, my mom was able to understand that she was not the only one going through the tough time she was able to cope and understand her cancer.

My family and I thank Carmen Ortiz and Circulo de Vida for all the support they provided for my and our family. I love you guys!!!

I am proud to say that my mom Maria Rubio can share her story with others and is able to help and provide the support they need to get through their tough times.

Keep up the great work!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Volunteer my time to help with what is needed.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2007

October 16, 2013

more

October 16, 2013

I enjoyed volunteering at circulo de vida as I know that I am helping my community and at the same time honoring my abuelita who was a recipient of Circulo de Vida's spanish language cancer support services.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 3, 2013

more

October 3, 2013

I recently joined the Board of Circulo de Vida and was drawn by their presence in the Community and to know that the staff really share their time to work with their patients and are truly dedicated to their well being. I was impressed with Venecia who is our teen counselor who is compassionate and is incredible with the children considering their illness and their families. To be working with staff that care and do their best to bring funding for our cancer patients is very important to us all

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 3, 2013

more

October 3, 2013

CDV has been a longstanding community partner of San Francisco General Hospitals' Comprehensive Breast Care Program. Under Carmen Ortiz's superb leadership, our interdisciplinary breast clinic has been able to expand seamless breast cancer patient navigation and emotional support services for our Latina patients with a more personalized and culturally relevant approach. After receiving a diagnosis of breast cancer, CDV bridges the gap for a patient in need of a closer connection to their own community resources with both group and 1:1 based emotional and practical support. This peer-based model has been highly successful and we are so fortunate to work in partnership with Carmen and her team in ensuring that breast cancer survivorship needs are being met at multiple levels.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Find them a generous donor to help expand these vital services!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 26, 2013

more

September 26, 2013

I had the greatest pleasure of interning with Circulo de Vida for my graduate school practicum, and could not feel more fortunate to have had that experience. From Carmen, the clinical staff, the volunteers, and the incredible, inspiring clients (past and present), I feel forever blessed CDV came into my life. I will forever be impacted from my experience working there, and will carry a special place for this organization in my heart always. There is something so special and unique about CDV, especially given how scarce resources are in a city that should be filled with them. CDV fills that void with their enormous heart. Thank you for the experience and the shared moments with everyone a part of CDV!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 12, 2013

more

August 12, 2013

Circulo de Vida is quite an exceptional and welcoming haven for those directly or indirectly affected by cancer. I've had the privilege to see first hand the immense positive impact our services have on the SF Bay Area community. Seeing the volunteers, community members and Circulo members coming together every year to fundraise and advocate for our cause, is a clear sign that we are living up to our mission "...to walk alongside Latinos living with cancer and their families as they find their way through the fear, confusion, and uncertainty of a cancer diagnosis. We aim to reduce the devastating effects of a cancer diagnosis by helping Latinos identify coping skills that will support their ability to meet the challenge of a frightening disease."

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 30, 2013

more

June 30, 2013

Circulo de Vida is a place where survivors and people with cancer come for upliftment and encouragement. They become empowered by others who are experiencing the same turmoil and have the courage to face this dreaded disease.
Circulo de Vida is a safe place where Latinos with cancer feel heard
and their emotions and feelings validated. THANK YOU CIRCULO DE VIDA!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

June 27, 2013

more

June 27, 2013

I am a cancer suvivor and for the past 12 years I have had the help of Circulo de Vida, I don't know how my life could have been without the support of other survivors as well as the wonderful staff, I received a lot information to continue with hope and knowledge regarding this terrible illness. Thenk you Circulo for the great support.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Help with administrative duties and pre-event organization. Volunteers can also visit clients who live alone. Volunteer