Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
26 Reviews
1234.961545
Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review
October 2, 2014

more

October 2, 2014

Circulo de Vida, and especially, Carmen Ortiz, the organization's Executive Director, has her angel wings awaiting her. I was referred to Carmen when my mom was diagnosed with breast cancer over 20 years ago. My mom was reluctant to participate in any Spanish-language support groups - she did not want to share her innermost thoughts and fears with a group of strangers. By the time the 3rd session came around, my mom could not wait to attend her group sessions! It was the warm, Latina-oriented sessions in her language of comfort that kept her coming back. Thanks to Carmen, the ladies enjoyed excursions to Reno and Yosemite and other celebrations together. My mom's photo, along with others who have perished from this devastating disease, is on their altar. It is because of these joyous memories of Circulo de Vida and the culturally sensitive and respectful care that they give that compelled me to join their board first as a board member and now as the Board President. We host an annual fundraising walk at Stow Lake in Golden Gate Park. A day to remember those who have entered into the spirit world and those who continue to battle against it. We are blessed to have such a wonderful organization in our midst to provide the emotional support that is so badly needed in our communidad. Que viva Circulo de Vida!! Gracias, Circulo de Vida!!
September 30, 2014

more

September 30, 2014

I was first introduced to Circulo De Vida in 2007 when my Mom was diagnosed with cancer as a source of support and resources. I soon learned that there is a large Latino community that was being served and aided by this small (but growing) center. I never realized so many Spanish speaking individuals and families would not know what services were out there for them if it wasn't for Circulo De Vida. In 2009, my Mother passed away from this heartbreaking illness but I have vowed to help support Circulo De Vida so that they could continue the excellent work they do for victims and families of this illness. They have truely made outstanding contributions for peoples affected by cancer. Keep up the superb work!
September 23, 2014

more

September 23, 2014

I have known Circulo de Vida for almost 10 years. It's an extraordinary organization! They provide emotional support, education on cancer issues, and resources to Latino cancer patients and their families both in English and Spanish. They also provide counseling for children, in-home care, in-hospital care and end-of-life care. Circulo de Vida has created a network with other organizations in order to work together to ease the burden of cancer in the Bay Area Latino population.
September 13, 2014

more

September 13, 2014

A cancer diagnosis is devasting on a family. Imagine receiving that diagnosis and not fully understanding because you do not speak the language and you feel you have no where to turn.
Circulo de Vida gives people a place to turn for real information and support. They are an essential service
for the SF community. Thank you to all the volunteers who work to maintain this center!
September 11, 2014

more


1 previous review
June 1, 2013

Circulo de Vida (CDV) is an invaluable asset to Latino families in the San Francisco Bay Area who have been affected by cancer. They are the most comprehensive psychosocial health service provider for... more

September 11, 2014

Circulo de Vida has touched the lives of many Latinos experiencing the anguish of cancer. They provide cancer support services to the most needy and at no charge. They rely sole on the generosity of others. Please consider making a donation and encoring your social networks to contribute. They provide counseling for children, men, women, in-home care, in-hospital care and end-of-life care.
June 1, 2013

Circulo de Vida (CDV) is an invaluable asset to Latino families in the San Francisco Bay Area who have been affected by cancer. They are the most comprehensive psychosocial health service provider for Latinos with cancer and their families. They have helped numerous Latinos navigate their way through the diagnostic, treatment and survivorship phases of cancer. They have a wonderful center that is open to all and extremely welcoming. Spanish-speaking Latinos are diagnosed at later stages, with worse cancers and have worse quality-of-life and more distress than Whites and CDV is doing much to address these disparities. They never charge a fee for their services and really need your support in any way or amount that you are able to provide.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Give them lots of money so they can replicate their services and serve more people.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 10, 2014

more

September 10, 2014

I have known of Circulo de Vida for at least 5 years. It is a great resource to Latina women and men with cancer and their families. They provide emotional support, information, and resources. Carmen and her 'angelitas' (little angels - peer support counselors) are dedicated to helping people affected by cancer. They do not charge for their services - so their doors are open to everyone. It's a great organization!
August 24, 2014

more

August 24, 2014

Over the years as someone who works in behavioral cancer research I have had the opportunity in the context of patient interviews to hear first hand how Circulo de Vida transforms the lives of cancer patients and their families. By creating a supportive community, accompanying patients from a cancer diagnosis through whatever path the disease takes, patients feel strengthened. Being part of an organization that provides comprehensive social services, they feel seen and heard, they feel their dignity restored and no longer feel defined nor limited by a disease. I’ve seen patients thrive before and after reaching remission under the support of Circulo de Vida and I’ve known people who have departed due to cancer. In all these cases the time patients spent as part of this community brought happiness at a difficult time, peace in the midst of despair, and the certitude that they will not be forgotten.
Claudia Guerra

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 22, 2014

more

August 22, 2014

After having worked with many non-profit organizations in the SF Bay Area who address the issue of cancer for Spanish-speaking women, this one stands out! Circulo de Vida Cancer Support and Resource Center is located in the heart of the community, has bilingual staff that is culturally competent on the issue of cancer and understands the important role of familia.

They provide clients with accurate, up-to-date and thorough information and support.
August 18, 2014

more


1 previous review
September 22, 2013

I have known Carmen Ortiz for 30 years and was with her when she went through her battle with breast cancer. She was, as always, brave and focused, finding out all she could about her particular type ... more

August 18, 2014

Circulo de Vida is a haven of support and information for Latina women and their families facing cancer. The staff are professional and compassionate, no one is turned away.
Dr. Carmen Ortiz is the unflagging energy who keeps everything moving.

This organization was the first to
provide counseling and medical stewardship to the Latino community and is being emulated by local community groups. Dr. Ortiz acts as a consultant to answer questions and provide direction for new and ongoing groups.

Having visited the clinic, I can tell you the sense of warmth, support and professionalism makes you feel relieved, relaxed and welcomed the moment you walk in.

This is a service that truly holds the patient as the most important part of the equation. It deserves monetary support to be able to expand these most needed services.


Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Make Board members responsible for raising a specific amount of funding each year, increasing by a set percent each year.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

September 22, 2013

I have known Carmen Ortiz for 30 years and was with her when she went through her battle with breast cancer. She was, as always, brave and focused, finding out all she could about her particular type of cancer. At that time resources were scarce and physicians were not accustomed to having a patient ask questions and demand answers. Carmen did both. When she heard about the limited resources for Spanish speaking Latinas, she went into action. Carmen used her own breast cancer experience to help and guide non-English speaking Latinas find their way through the maze of treatment options and a complex and bewildering medical system. She is truly an amazing person.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would see that their funding was stable and ensured and able to expand services.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 15, 2014

more

August 15, 2014

I am the grandson on my beloved grandmother who provides a huge helping hand to Circulo De Vida, every chance i get i try to volunteer and help out for the breast cancer cause. Every time i have volunteered i had a great time met beautifully spirited cancer patients, survivors and other volunteers. The energy that Circulo De Vida provides for these women is unmatched, it gives diagnosed, recovering and even women who do not have breast cancer a place to go and feel accepted and be able to talk to other women about their experiences. Circulo de Vida provides information for women who are not completely aware of breast cancer or how to detect it. They are very much so involved in the community and want every woman in the area to know about their bodies. Overall the organization is a very helpful one, its brings light to those who live in darkness and i hope that this organization stays around for many more decades.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would like to see advertisement all around the bay area and get endless support

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Help with administrative duties and pre-event organization. Volunteers can also visit clients who live alone. Volunteer