Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
14 Reviews
12345
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
October 16, 2013

more

October 16, 2013

I enjoyed volunteering at circulo de vida as I know that I am helping my community and at the same time honoring my abuelita who was a recipient of Circulo de Vida's spanish language cancer support services.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 3, 2013

more

October 3, 2013

I recently joined the Board of Circulo de Vida and was drawn by their presence in the Community and to know that the staff really share their time to work with their patients and are truly dedicated to their well being. I was impressed with Venecia who is our teen counselor who is compassionate and is incredible with the children considering their illness and their families. To be working with staff that care and do their best to bring funding for our cancer patients is very important to us all

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 3, 2013

more

October 3, 2013

CDV has been a longstanding community partner of San Francisco General Hospitals' Comprehensive Breast Care Program. Under Carmen Ortiz's superb leadership, our interdisciplinary breast clinic has been able to expand seamless breast cancer patient navigation and emotional support services for our Latina patients with a more personalized and culturally relevant approach. After receiving a diagnosis of breast cancer, CDV bridges the gap for a patient in need of a closer connection to their own community resources with both group and 1:1 based emotional and practical support. This peer-based model has been highly successful and we are so fortunate to work in partnership with Carmen and her team in ensuring that breast cancer survivorship needs are being met at multiple levels.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Find them a generous donor to help expand these vital services!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 26, 2013

more

September 26, 2013

I had the greatest pleasure of interning with Circulo de Vida for my graduate school practicum, and could not feel more fortunate to have had that experience. From Carmen, the clinical staff, the volunteers, and the incredible, inspiring clients (past and present), I feel forever blessed CDV came into my life. I will forever be impacted from my experience working there, and will carry a special place for this organization in my heart always. There is something so special and unique about CDV, especially given how scarce resources are in a city that should be filled with them. CDV fills that void with their enormous heart. Thank you for the experience and the shared moments with everyone a part of CDV!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 22, 2013

more

September 22, 2013

I have known Carmen Ortiz for 30 years and was with her when she went through her battle with breast cancer. She was, as always, brave and focused, finding out all she could about her particular type of cancer. At that time resources were scarce and physicians were not accustomed to having a patient ask questions and demand answers. Carmen did both. When she heard about the limited resources for Spanish speaking Latinas, she went into action. Carmen used her own breast cancer experience to help and guide non-English speaking Latinas find their way through the maze of treatment options and a complex and bewildering medical system. She is truly an amazing person.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would see that their funding was stable and ensured and able to expand services.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 12, 2013

more

August 12, 2013

Circulo de Vida is quite an exceptional and welcoming haven for those directly or indirectly affected by cancer. I've had the privilege to see first hand the immense positive impact our services have on the SF Bay Area community. Seeing the volunteers, community members and Circulo members coming together every year to fundraise and advocate for our cause, is a clear sign that we are living up to our mission "...to walk alongside Latinos living with cancer and their families as they find their way through the fear, confusion, and uncertainty of a cancer diagnosis. We aim to reduce the devastating effects of a cancer diagnosis by helping Latinos identify coping skills that will support their ability to meet the challenge of a frightening disease."

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 30, 2013

more

June 30, 2013

Circulo de Vida is a place where survivors and people with cancer come for upliftment and encouragement. They become empowered by others who are experiencing the same turmoil and have the courage to face this dreaded disease.
Circulo de Vida is a safe place where Latinos with cancer feel heard
and their emotions and feelings validated. THANK YOU CIRCULO DE VIDA!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

June 27, 2013

more

June 27, 2013

I am a cancer suvivor and for the past 12 years I have had the help of Circulo de Vida, I don't know how my life could have been without the support of other survivors as well as the wonderful staff, I received a lot information to continue with hope and knowledge regarding this terrible illness. Thenk you Circulo for the great support.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 18, 2013

more

June 18, 2013

As a palliative care social worker for a home care agency in SF, I have used Circulo de Vida as the best resource for counseling and emotional support services for Latino/as who have been diagnosed with cancer. Sad to say but there is no other bilingual-bicultural support of this kind in SF. That's why the services offered by Circulo are so valuable. I have had patients who have told me that the only person they have to talk to as they go through chemotherapy or radiation is the Circulo counselor. Circulo de Vida is an important and greatly needed service to the Latino community in SF.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

have more counselors to provide emotional support.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 18, 2013

more

June 18, 2013

Circulo de Vida has for many years now done amazing things on a shoestring budget. The organization, under the direction of Dr. Carmen Ortiz, has stayed remarkably clear in purpose and resilient in the face of an always challenging financial environment for non-profits. The staff and vounteers of the center are extraordinarily and unwaveringly dedicated to delivering a unique and life-affirming experience for Latinas with a cancer diagnosis. With thanks for all that you do.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Help with administrative duties and pre-event organization. Volunteers can also visit clients who live alone. Volunteer