Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
26 Reviews
1234.961545
Previous | Next
Write A Review
November 15, 2012

more

November 15, 2012

I am very excited to be associated with this community of generous hearts. Please make sure you visit Unitarian Universalist Church in Anaheim at least once a year. We were happy to have you visit us and I am happy to have a precious life to sponsor.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 29, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 29, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I first heard of this small organization from the founder herself, Pat McCully. She was a one man show a few years ago, having started a means of economic support to the women of this tiny village in Nicaraugua through her sewing machine donations and trainings. Soon she became the go-between importer/exporter bringing handmade goods to U.S. citizens, and giving the entire cost of the item to the woman who made the product. This greatly improved the opportunities of the families concerned. Circulo de Amigas grew into a school for the girls in the village as well. Some have since attended local universities. It is possible to sponsor a girl for only 44 dollars a month and in Nicaraugua, this means a different life for that girl and her family. I am so delighted to be able to so directly make a difference to a family even though I cannot give very much money. It's the most directly helpful organization I know of.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 19, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 19, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I sponsor a young woman and contribute monetarily to this non profit because I think they do amazing work! This m group serves over 100 young girls and their families in the hghlands of Nicaragua on a shoestring budget with a huge dose of hard labor from volunteers both in Nicaragua and Stateside, The goal of this non profit is to uplift Nicaragua by bettering the lives of young girls through education. Circulo de Amigas sponsors girls to keep them in school and has produced doctors, accountants, nurses and farmacists, professionals who go on to help their own communities. In addition, Circulo has a library, computer lessons and provides propane stoves and clean water barrels. You can sponsor a young student for as little at $50 a month and I doubt you will see your money go further in any other charity.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 28, 2012

more

August 28, 2012

This summer I had the opportunity to go down to Nicaragua and visit Cda. I was quite amazed at the level of poverty that the people down there live at. Yet, the girls of Cda will do what they can to stay in school. This was a very humbling experience for me.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 28, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

August 28, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

This past summer our family of four seized an opportunity that few families get to experience. We opted to travel to a remote part of Nicaragua and engage with an impoverished community through the CdA program that is helping to alleviate poverty in their own special way. It is hard to express the multitude of impressions that this remarkable community of individuals left on us, but we gained a perspective that you cannot possibly see in our polished US communities. The 10 days spent in Jinotega flew by fast as we helped with teaching, repaired rooftops, ran field trips, and helped to manage baseball games with donated equipment that we carted down from the US. Another part of our interest in traveling to Jinotega was to meet a talented young girl whom we decided to start helping through school this year. Our two teenage boys came back inspired to really tackle Spanish fluency and to return as often as possible. They seemed oblivious to the rough setting (although they were very much aware of it) but thrived on the spirit of other young kids in the barrio. We are delighted to be part of CdA.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 30, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 30, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I recently had the opportunity to visit Circulo de Amigas in Jinotega and experience first hand the amazing work that this orgaization does for the development of young women and the community in general. The projects range from planting and maintaining gardens in the neighbourhood, improvements to homes and living conditions, a playground for the children, and overall providing a safe, clean, and inviting atmosphere for learning and sharing. The staff was amazing; warm, friendly and attentive, not just to our needs but you could really see the genuine pride and joy that they offered to the projects and to the participants. And the girls that we met were inspiring! They were sometimes shy but always engaged, intelligent and strong. They will undoubtably provide a positive contribution to the future development of Jinotega and Nicaragua. They deserve the highest respect and our continued support.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 31, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

January 31, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I worked with Circulo de Amigas in while I was in Nicaragua for 2 years. I don't know of an organization that is doing better work for girls and young women in northern Nicaragua. The Nicaraguan staff made up of intelligent, dedicated, responsible strong women- great role models for the girls who are part of the organization. Their library is a treasure in the community. I saw first hand the amazing work Circulo de Amigas does, their dedicated sponsors make a true difference in the lives of the girls they sponsor and in the community at large.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers