Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
26 Reviews
1234.961545
| 1 2 3 |
Write A Review
October 23, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 23, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I run a non-profit and is Circulo De Amigas an excellent example of how to effectively run a non-profit organization. I can use their model to help my organization and to have ideas in how best to expand into other areas. Additionally, the labor of love by the volunteers and the passion of the organization are phenomenal. Their purpose in helping those in need in such desperate areas is a godsend!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 23, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

more

October 23, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

I started working with CdA as a casual volunteer about 14 years ago. Back then I knew it only as the non-profit that my friend Pat had started many years before, that helped girls and young women in a desperately poor area of poverty-stricken and war-torn Nicaragua. Now, I have a much deeper knowledge of the program, and have been to Nicaragua several times to see it in action. The work Circulo de Amigas does, the role it plays in the community and the difference it makes in the lives of all those it touches is difficult to overstate. Pat started something truly amazing, because she felt she had to. Those of us involved with it will keep it going, and keep it growing, because we know that we must: Educating girls has been proven to be the best track out of poverty, and that is what we are dedicated to doing - educating the girls, and by doing so helping them to lift themselves, their families, and their community out of abject poverty. Won't you join us?!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 19, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 19, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I was introduced to this wonderful nonprofit by a Rotarian from Villa Park, CA in April 2011. There was a request for vegetable seed to provide a variety of fresh vegetables to the needy girls and young women in Nicaragua. This was a terrific new contact for SEEDS OF HOPE!. I have been to Nicaragua and I have seen the malnutrition among the children. CIRCULO de AMIGAS has done a great job in taking seed to Nicaragua and working closely with local people in developing the gardens, harvesting the vegetables and feeding the children. I will continue to provide vegetable seed as needed by this highly organized group of individuals from Southern California. In the area of humanitarian service, CIRCULO de AMIGAS is a super succes story.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 19, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 19, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I sponsor a young woman and contribute monetarily to this non profit because I think they do amazing work! This m group serves over 100 young girls and their families in the hghlands of Nicaragua on a shoestring budget with a huge dose of hard labor from volunteers both in Nicaragua and Stateside, The goal of this non profit is to uplift Nicaragua by bettering the lives of young girls through education. Circulo de Amigas sponsors girls to keep them in school and has produced doctors, accountants, nurses and farmacists, professionals who go on to help their own communities. In addition, Circulo has a library, computer lessons and provides propane stoves and clean water barrels. You can sponsor a young student for as little at $50 a month and I doubt you will see your money go further in any other charity.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 18, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

October 18, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

CdA has given our family of avid readers and library patrons an opportunity to share our love of books. We sponsored a librarian's salary and then a tutor's salary. Seeing the smiles of the students in the reports we get make our small sacrifice well worth it.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 28, 2012

more

August 28, 2012

This summer I had the opportunity to go down to Nicaragua and visit Cda. I was quite amazed at the level of poverty that the people down there live at. Yet, the girls of Cda will do what they can to stay in school. This was a very humbling experience for me.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 28, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

August 28, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

This past summer our family of four seized an opportunity that few families get to experience. We opted to travel to a remote part of Nicaragua and engage with an impoverished community through the CdA program that is helping to alleviate poverty in their own special way. It is hard to express the multitude of impressions that this remarkable community of individuals left on us, but we gained a perspective that you cannot possibly see in our polished US communities. The 10 days spent in Jinotega flew by fast as we helped with teaching, repaired rooftops, ran field trips, and helped to manage baseball games with donated equipment that we carted down from the US. Another part of our interest in traveling to Jinotega was to meet a talented young girl whom we decided to start helping through school this year. Our two teenage boys came back inspired to really tackle Spanish fluency and to return as often as possible. They seemed oblivious to the rough setting (although they were very much aware of it) but thrived on the spirit of other young kids in the barrio. We are delighted to be part of CdA.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 30, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 30, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I recently had the opportunity to visit Circulo de Amigas in Jinotega and experience first hand the amazing work that this orgaization does for the development of young women and the community in general. The projects range from planting and maintaining gardens in the neighbourhood, improvements to homes and living conditions, a playground for the children, and overall providing a safe, clean, and inviting atmosphere for learning and sharing. The staff was amazing; warm, friendly and attentive, not just to our needs but you could really see the genuine pride and joy that they offered to the projects and to the participants. And the girls that we met were inspiring! They were sometimes shy but always engaged, intelligent and strong. They will undoubtably provide a positive contribution to the future development of Jinotega and Nicaragua. They deserve the highest respect and our continued support.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 23, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

April 23, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

My mother and I had the opportunity to visit C d A in early April 2012. We had the opportunity to meet both younger girls waiting for sponsorship as well as older girls who have been in the program for a few years. The need and the opportunity in the younger girls was apparent, but, importantly, the impact of the program on the older girls was very obvious. These are poised, confident, and bright young women with clear and positive ambitions. C d A does real and important good in the city of Jinotega and we are proud to be able to contribute to this amazing organization.

Photos

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

We visited the facilities in Jinotega, met the staff, and visited with the girls in the area who receive the benefit of C d A and it's program.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Create a template to replicate it to other towns and cities in Nica and elsewhere.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

What specific problem, purpose, priority, or project prompted your gift?

Educational opportunities for young, impoverished women in Nicaragua.

Why did you make your donation at this time?

No particular reason. Wish we'd known about it earlier.

What would you tell others about this organization?

What I said in my description and that sponsoring C d A gives you the chance to make a true connection that will not only expand your worldview, but expand your family :)

January 31, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

January 31, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I worked with Circulo de Amigas in while I was in Nicaragua for 2 years. I don't know of an organization that is doing better work for girls and young women in northern Nicaragua. The Nicaraguan staff made up of intelligent, dedicated, responsible strong women- great role models for the girls who are part of the organization. Their library is a treasure in the community. I saw first hand the amazing work Circulo de Amigas does, their dedicated sponsors make a true difference in the lives of the girls they sponsor and in the community at large.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers