Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
26 Reviews
1234.961545
Write A Review
October 2, 2013

more

October 2, 2013

This non profit was started, as I understand it, on the west coast but I am from Massachusetts. Fifteen years ago I was in Costa Rica and met a young women who impressed me greatly. She spoke of Circulo de Amigas and I, who had just finished putting my two daughters through college, decided we as a family could help one girl. So we were assigned our "Nicaraguan daughter ," Maryouri, who has now finished high school and is in her second year of a five year college degree program.
At the time Maryouri began grade school, the tuition was $25 a month and that included the staples needed at her home. Today the monthly donation is still very low and the monetary sacrifice very little. Be honest, don't most of us spend more than $5 a week on bottled water and Starbuck coffees. Most of us can educate a young lady and change her life. To educate a woman is worth triple the amount put into her education. Her family is helped immensely, her future children have a huge advantage and she can be independent. This is so important in poor countries of the world.
To open a door to the world of education for a young woman is possible through Circulo de Amigas, and it can can be done so economically through this nonprofit. We are proud of our "daughter" and we know she must be proud of herself.
My own daughter who is fluent in Spanish has gone To Nicaragua to see Maryouri and her family. She has seen first hand the great work they are doing. Our family is pleased that there are people like Pat McCully, Denise Flanagan and many others that are so generous with their time.

Pat Jackson
(suburb of Boston, MA)

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 11, 2013

more

July 11, 2013

We have been sponsoring a student through CDA for about ten years, since she was eight years old. We have watched her move gracefully through high school and now we are immensely proud to sponsor her studies at a university in Managua. The work of Pat McCully and CDA in Nicaragua have given us an opportunity to watch and participate in what a small community and group of volunteers can accomplish

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 10, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

July 10, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

As soon as I met founder Pat McCully, I was a fan of this NP org. doing amazing work in a small village in Nicaragua. From providing sewing machines to helping girls go to secondary school and now with a much broader focus and so many many donors and sponsors, CdeA is a sterling example of the impact of one woman on her world!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

There are no changes to the org. Only wish more donors and sponsors would give.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 15, 2012

more

November 15, 2012

I am very excited to be associated with this community of generous hearts. Please make sure you visit Unitarian Universalist Church in Anaheim at least once a year. We were happy to have you visit us and I am happy to have a precious life to sponsor.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 29, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 29, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I first heard of this small organization from the founder herself, Pat McCully. She was a one man show a few years ago, having started a means of economic support to the women of this tiny village in Nicaraugua through her sewing machine donations and trainings. Soon she became the go-between importer/exporter bringing handmade goods to U.S. citizens, and giving the entire cost of the item to the woman who made the product. This greatly improved the opportunities of the families concerned. Circulo de Amigas grew into a school for the girls in the village as well. Some have since attended local universities. It is possible to sponsor a girl for only 44 dollars a month and in Nicaraugua, this means a different life for that girl and her family. I am so delighted to be able to so directly make a difference to a family even though I cannot give very much money. It's the most directly helpful organization I know of.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 29, 2012

more

October 29, 2012

Five years ago, I discovered Circulo de Amigas through my Unitarian Universalist Church when founder Pat McCully came to give a presentation. Immediately I was struck by her passionate commitment to these impoverished women and girls who have few options because of early pregnancies and illiteracy. I adopted a girl that same day and the reward to MY life (which was completely unexpected) has been amazing. Over the years I have witnessed the contrast in photos of my little girl from wary and insecure to smiling and open...it makes me cry to know I have been a small part of her happiness and increasing options. I adopted a second little girl this year and, in July went down to Nicaragua where I had the incomparable experience of meeting "my girls" and seeing first hand their dire living situations. In spite of the extreme poverty, they are rich in spirit. I was made to feel a part of a community so foreign by the top-notch staff and felt both safe and useful. To see first hand the work that the community center does and the opportunities they provide through their computer lab, library, counseling and more, has inspired me to be increasingly involved. I cried when I left, and am counting the days til July when I am fortunate enough to get to go again. Through this organization, I have found my life's work and my calling and it has inadvertently changed my life in so many ways. I think it would change yours in unexpected ways as well, and it is with great hope and sincerity that I hope you will sponsor a girl and that I might one day meet you in the beautiful mountains of Nicaragua!

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 29, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 29, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

We have been sponsoring a young girl who, at 12 years old, had never been to school. She is now able to read and write and her life and the lives of her family members have been incredibly changed by our humble donation. Her family also eats better now and her younger sisters also go to school. It is so amazing what a huge change your sponsorship can make in many lives in the poor village of Jinotega. Because of this wonderful experience, we have started sponsoring a second girl. We were able to visit Jinotega this past summer and had a life-changing experience. Though the village is very poor, the people are very warm, welcoming and grateful. Circulo is staffed in the US by volunteers who work very hard for this wonderful cause. All the money donated goes to the girl you sponsor or to support the wonderful community center supported by Circulo in Jinotega. I cannot say enough good things about the worthwhile and worthy organization!!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 29, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 29, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

My family and I have been Circulo de Amigas supporters, donors and sponsors for the last thirteen years. CdA has taken our hearts and has taken our lives. We spend our summer volunteering in Jinotega and our winters raising funds for the programs there. As a community volunteers with experience as Girl Scout Leaders, AYSO soccer coaches, Boy Scout volunteers, PTA officers, we have found that our efforts at CdA have been most meaningful and affective. Circulo de Amigas is well run and every penny goes to the education and health for the impoverished community of Barrio Linda Vista Sur in Jinotega, Nicaragua. Please consider donating and volunteering in the US and in Jintoega and sponsoring a girl for her education. It will change your life and her life too!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 23, 2012

more

October 23, 2012

I have been a donor supporting Daryeling since she was about fiteen. She is now preparing to graduate from the University in Leon as a Pharmacy student. Since I have no children of my own and my last niece had been funded in her college 501 program (as my grandmother did for me) I was seeking a more direct contact that I could be responsible for in order to pass on my grandmothers tradition - but this time outside the family. In my first few years I wrote my check and recieved updates, but it was not until I was both inspired by Pat's actions and selfless giving in building a dormitory in Leon that I decided to visit Jinotega with my own mission in mind. With finanacial support from friends and family I was able to buy and oversee the installation of a generator for the night school students.Later, after meeting Daryeling and her family, I made a $100 donation for her school expense and clothes. I later found she bought a pair of shoes and the rest went to her family as their needs were also great. I am very proud to have been able to help in her education and watch as she has matured into a thoughful and level headed woman building her nest in preparation for her future. After my visit over five years ago I have served as Parlimentarion on the Board. I recommend a visit to Nicaragua to see the many needs firs and find where you may become a "part of".

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 23, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 23, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

My college Spanish teacher introduced me to Circulo de Amigas about 10 years ago. I committed to a sponsorship to help keep a sweet young girl in grade school and my role recently expanded to board member. Since then, my little girl has become a lovely young college co-ed with a future full of options! --- CdA is 100% volunteer run and all funds directly benefit the girls. This is no small feat for any charity. The donor's level of involvement with CdA varies from writing a modest check each month to traveling to the village of Jinotega and completing important projects. --- I've been involved in several charitable endeavors over the years and Circulo de Amigas stands apart as one that delivers meaningful, life-changing results. I highly recommend it.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers