Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
18 Reviews
12345
Previous | Next
Write A Review
September 24, 2010

more

September 24, 2010

Circle of Women(CoW) is a brilliant effort to build self-sustainable educational institutions for women in developing nations. I have been thoroughly impressed with the work of CoW. As a student-run organization, CoW has raised funds using unique and creative ideas ranging from poker nights and holiday bazaars to women’s brunches. After working with the organization, I have observed that CoW is extremely efficient and works like a “well oiled machine”. Efforts of these women are laudable and have inspired me to work with them towards an important social cause. Education is synonymous with independence and success. Universal Education is one of the United Nations Millennium Development Goals. Moreover, in developing nations, a large percentage of women do not have access to formal education (85.1% in Afghanistan). By understanding and addressing this need in developing nations, Circle of Women is acting as a social change agent across borders and changing numerous lives in the process. By maintaining low operation costs and successfully raising funds, CoW is solving an important problem at the grassroots level. Watching women, from one of the world’s greatest educational institutions: Harvard University, work towards the goal of providing underprivileged women in remote areas of the world with post-secondary education, is particularly exciting and satisfying. CoW is committed to working for the educational development of women who lack similar opportunities. We sorely need many CoWs to make this world a better place.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Working with the Web Team and see the latest efforts(Project Keiri Reki) in Nathiagali (http://notesfromnathiagali.blogspot.com/)

More feedback...

What I've enjoyed the most about my experience with this nonprofit is...

Passionate teams working collaboratively towards an important social cause

The kinds of staff and volunteers that I met were...

Passionate, results-oriented, collegial and collaborative

If this organization had 10 million bucks, it could...

Build schools for women in a significant number of locations in various developing nations and thus increase women literacy globally!

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

About every week

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

September 8, 2013

more

September 8, 2013

Going into my 6th year with Circle of Women, I couldn't be more thrilled to work for such an incredible organization! Everything from the other members of the management team, to our graduate board, and the projects themselves has been such a pleasure to be a part of. Circle of Women is an amazing opportunity for students across the country to work together and make a tangible difference in the quest for access to secondary education for girls around the world. Great job Circle!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 11, 2012

more

June 11, 2012

Circle of Women quite simply allows girls to invest in themselves through investing in others. It believes that through seeking to educate others, we educate ourselves, building infinite possibility. As a Circle volunteer, donor, and board member, I have seen this organization progress since the beginning and am proud to say that despite its growth and success it has never lost its sense of curiosity, acceptance, and passionate drive.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 11, 2012

more

June 11, 2012

When a couple of friends and I started Circle of Women, we had a basic goal: tap into the high-energy and abundant resources of college campuses to promote women's education by building schools. The way in which the women who lead this organization continue to fine-tune and propel this goal is inspiring. With several building projects comleted and others in process, the organization has started to focus on assessing our impact and growing our network at home. I hope to always be a part of this organization because it creates a fertile environment for young women leaders to improve themselves and the opportunities for those around them.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 10, 2012

more

June 10, 2012

it has been an honor and true pleasure to be involved with such an incredible organization since 2009. Circle of Women has exposed me to an inspiring group of dedicated leaders and change-makers that are passionate about increasing access to education for women and girls around the world. One of the most inspiring components of Circle of Women is the Impact it has had on the members involved resulting in creating a true 360-degree impact on a local and global level. Circle of Women has evolved into an incredible model for driving innovation and ownership both on a collective and individual level. The organization's infrastructure allows for flexibility that engages students by providing an outlet to channel their passions and energy and contribute meaningfully to a tangible goal. I very much look forward to watching Circle of Women continue to strengthen and grow it's network while whole-heartedly pursuing it's mission.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 7, 2012

more

June 7, 2012

Circle of Women has allowed me, a mere rising junior in college, to feel as though I am making a tangible, meaningful impact on women’s education at a global level. This is no small feat. Circle not only raises the funds necessary for our projects abroad through our innovative, creative, and tenacious efforts, but then works actively with partners on the ground, chapters across the county, and other NGO’s to make informed, highly strategized decisions about how best to translate these dollars into the education of another young girl. Sometimes, this means something intuitive—such as building a school. And yet in other instances, a village may call for a hostel, a computer lab, or even sanitary napkins. Circle’s members recognize how crucial these seemingly tedious details can be in determining the enrollment and success of our students. But our focus on women’s education is not simply unilateral. In the process of connecting a young girl in Pakistan to a classroom, we, Circle’s members, find ourselves applying for grants, filing taxes, acquiring and coordinating with corporate sponsors, designing compelling media, and raising awareness in our communities. That is to say, through this journey we too are learning.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 24, 2012

more

May 24, 2012

Circle of Women has been a defining part of my time at Harvard thus far. It continues to be a personally changing experience for me as an individual as well as constantly presenting an opportunity for me to see the incredible collective impact that college students and young professionals can make on the world. As a primarily collegiate organization, Circle has incredibly unique fundraising efforts, and a unique appreciation of girl's secondary school education; we all have incredible stories of how education has impacted us, how great teachers have allowed us to get where we are today. Circle firmly believes that that access and opportunity is the right of every child, of every girl and that consequently, girl's education is a worthy, and immediately necessary investment to make. One of the most unique parts of Circle of Women in comparison to other nonprofit solutions is the localized and customized solutions that our research team comes up with for each project. Instead of coming into these communities and preaching the importance of education and dumping a school there and then handing off the key with no further instructions, Circle hopes to give these communities a chance to take ownership of the change that they will enact. We work with on the ground NGOs and contractors to build to the school and ensure sustainability. The enthusiasm, passion and creativity of the young women I have worked with in this organization never stops amazing me. With two new projects on the table and research in the works, I can't wait to see what future growth we'll have.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

How did you learn about this organization?

I learned about it word-of-mouth during a college tour at Harvard from then-member, Emily Milan.

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers