Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
5 Reviews
1234.45
Previous | Next
Write A Review
July 21, 2014

more

Review from Guidestar
July 21, 2014

Various members of my family have been at Camp Kinder Ring over many decades. My own kids have a total of 22+ summers there. Unfortunately, the camp budget is not made available, and money taken for camp tuition is subsidizing other Workmens Circle operations according to executives I have spoken to in the past. Despite collecting several million dollars in annual revenue, and paying the camp staff almost nothing, the food and the accomodations are mediocre. The camp seems to operate the same way it did in the 1950s, unfortunately, it really is not optimal. Recently the camp experienced a power blackout. They have no back up generator - not even a very small one, to run the camp well, for example - so toilets were not working in the bunks.
Executives are extremely defensive and secretive about operations and that leads me to believe a fair amount of funds are being mis-directed.

I find it highly suspect and encourage any one to think twice about donating money.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Open the books up completely.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

No

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 18, 2012

more

October 18, 2012

My family has been linked to Camp Kinder Ring for 4 generations. All of these: my parents, my children and my grandchildren have benefitted from the experiences and relationships formed in this special environment. In addition to all the sports, activities and friend-building, this is a place that nurtures growth, builds cultural Jewish identity and teaches children about their place in the world and their responsibilities to make the world a better place. The preservation of our environment, social and economic justice, historical and cultural lessons are all conveyed in a low-key and age-appropriate way. I work hard to make sure that this unique place always exists for generations who will continue to benefit from their summer experiences at Camp Kinder Ring.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 18, 2012

more

October 18, 2012

Camp Kinder Ring is a special place to all of those who went there as a camper or worked as a counselor. It is the place where we grew up and became friends for life. My daughter attends there and I donate to the Camp to keep it thriving for my grandcildren and great grand children someday.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 18, 2012

more

October 18, 2012

Camp Kinder Ring is, quite simply, a very special place. I attended the camp as a child, worked there as a young adult and now serve as a Board Member. I am fortunate that my children have also been able to experience Camp Kinder Ring as both campers and staff members. What makes Camp Kinder Ring unique in the camp world is its diverse programming. Camp Kinder Ring offers similar facilities and programs that other for-profit sleepaway camp offer. However, the camp follows the Workmen's Circle mission which differs it from other camps - improve the world through social change activism. By combining friendship, love and spirit with its message to help improve the world, Camp Kinder Ring gives its campers the opportunity to have fun while encouraging them to have a positive impact on our world.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 18, 2012

more

October 18, 2012

As a child, I attended Camp Kinder Ring. As a teenager and young adult I worked there (as did my wife). Now I am lucky enough to have my children attend Kinder Ring. A few years ago, I joined the Board of Directors as a volunteer because I wanted to give back to Kinder Ring as much as it gave to me as a child. It is simply a special place. The children get to enjoy an incredible summer camp experience, with sports, swimming, games, and camaraderie, while at the same time being exposed to the most important of Jewish values, traditions, and experiences. The religious aspects do not overwhelm the programming, but rather enhance it. At a time in the world where our children are so busy with their education, extra-curricular activities, and family obligations, what often gets a bit left behind is the positive reinforcement of the best parts of our culture and an opportunity to appreciate the values that are important in life - things like helping others, community, the environment, social activism, and justice. Camp Kinder Ring is a place where a summer of fun, games, sports and friendship meshes perfectly with the things that a parent would want their kids to have exposure. If you were to ask my kids, there is no greater place on Earth than Camp Kinder Ring. It is truly a great non-profit organization!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers