Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
5 Reviews
12345
Write A Review
May 22, 2012

more

May 22, 2012

Unlike most screenwriting competitions, CineStory operates as a non-profit, and instead of just offering the winner a cash prize, a couple of meetings, and a copy of Final Draft, writers from the Semi-Finalists on up are invited to attend a multiple-day writers retreat in beautiful Idyllwild, California, the perfect setting for such an event. Writers are paired with three mentors, Hollywood pros who graciously volunteer their time to read their work and provide valuable insight, feedback, and advice. The mentors also host larger group sessions dealing with the craft of screenwriting, as well as insider knowledge of the industry. It's such an inviting, encouraging event that I would highly recommend it to any writer with great stories to tell, looking to advance their careers. My writing will never be the same as a result of having attended the CineStory retreat, and I now feel like a Hollywood writing career is a real possibility because of the people I was able to meet there.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

As a result of attending the retreat, I currently have a script making the rounds in Hollywood, and am about to secure representation.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Increase its funding to a level that would allow it to offer the retreat free of charge to deserving writers.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

How did you find this group?

Internet search.

What, if any, change in your life has this group encouraged?

They gave me the confidence I needed, just as I needed it most, to continue writing and pursuing a career in the field. My writing has advanced to a new level, and I now have valuable contacts in the industry.

May 18, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

May 18, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Cinestory exists to help writers move forward in their writing and their careers. The retreat is unlike anything I’ve been exposed to. Time with working professionals, to suck every bit of knowledge you can from them, which they give freely. Meetings with people making their living in the business right now, who have read your work beforehand. It’s invaluable. And, incidentally, really fun. They honor and revere writers, which is refreshing and encouraging. I've recommended Cinestory to every writer I know.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

May 18, 2012

more

May 18, 2012

What makes Cinestory unique is the supportive nature of their yearly retreat. This is the only non-profit organization that I know of whose primary focus is to nurture and help grow writers who come from a variety of backgrounds. The staff and volunteers are knowledgeable, friendly and dedicated -- and they make it a point never to sell products or services to writers. Most screenwriting organizations seem dedicated to enriching themselves -- Cinestory's goal seems to be enriching the lives of writers.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

April 4, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
April 4, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

I have worked with many other screenwriting organizations and this is pretty much the only one I will offer my expertise to now. I have been involved for well over a decade. They are a NON-PROFIT with a commitment not to sell product or make money off the writers which alone sets this organization apart. The intimate nature of the retreat experience offers true personal shifting about what they are writing and why, as well as unparalleled access to information, experience, and challenges in order for the writers who attend the retreat to elevate their craft. The alumni and mentors are loyal and the connections and outreach continue well beyond the end of the retreat.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 29, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
February 29, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Cinestory is an amazing organization which offers the opportunity for fresh, talented voices to be heard in Hollywood. The devotion of the staff and other volunteers is unparalleled.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers