Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
9 Reviews
1234.888895
Previous | Next
Write A Review
January 11, 2014

more

January 11, 2014

From our perch in suburbia we see films from all over the world--the Middle East, Japan, Australia, and half a dozen European countries as will as films dealing with challenging topics like corporate corruption, family challenges of may kinds and classic comic films--Carlie Chaplin, Buster Keaton--and my personal favorite Casablanca--all in a setting that encourages conversation and builds community. Other cinemas attempt to duplicate this rich mix and turn to the Cinema Arts Centre for inspiration.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

January 11, 2014

more

January 11, 2014

Cinema Art is undoutedly one of the most inspiring cinematic experiences on Long Island. I have been a member for several years now and enjoy the companionship of passionate film watchers. It is not only a familiar and friendly place to visit, but a place where intellectual culture exchanges occur daily. For anyone who loves films and desires to partake of good food, film and camraderie, join the Cinema Arts Centre....you will not regret the experience!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

After some discussion by members, they are currently in the process of adding "live theatre" to the Cinema Arts, as well as digital broadcasts of cultural performances in and around the tri-state area.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

January 11, 2014

more

January 11, 2014

CAC makes a significant contribution to the quality of life on LI. It is a terrific venue. As a 24-year Army Vet, my wife & I lived in many states and overseas. We have never known of a similar theater. We especially enjoy films followed by panels that has raised our awareness of many issues. The variety of films offered is un-matched.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

January 10, 2014

more

January 10, 2014

Cinema Arts Centre is a wonderful, low key, high quality venue for top rate movies! It is truly a gem of our town!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Pay the staff better!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

January 10, 2014

more

January 10, 2014

The Cinema is unlike any other theatre on Long Island. We drive 25 miles roundtrip to see the best independent and foreign films. And they also have the best popcorn!

More feedback...

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

December 31, 2013

more

December 31, 2013

Serving as a volunteer with the Circle of Friends has made me feel an intimate part of many of the Cinema's community functions. Where else can you pull a few tables together in the Sky Room for a Monday night Peace Network meeting and then be on stage in Theater One surrounded by celebrities like Isabella Rossellini on a Sunday afternoon? Where else can you watch the Academy Awards on the big screen, enjoy a fantastic buffet and win prizes for answering Oscar Trivia Questions? And what about the LGBT festival, and the Women's History Weekend that you helped plan, or seeing a controversial documentary and giving your feedback to the film maker. Perhaps I'm proudest of adding a Peace Pole to the Cinema Art Centre's exquisite garden near the weeping cherry tree planted in honor of Vic Skolnick, the late co-founder.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would make outreach to minority communities, and the eternal need to raise funds, easier!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

February 7, 2011

more

February 7, 2011

The Cinema is an amazing place, one of a kind. I have been involved in- volved with the Cinema for many years, and all that time the mission has remained the same--excellent films that make you think, films not available on Long Island and a facility that promotes community discussion.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

The films raise my awareness of other people and places and my understanding of their challenges and joys.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Expand the educational programs

November 25, 2010

more

November 25, 2010

I have been going to the Cinema Arts Center since it was called the New Community Cinema and showing films on bedsheets. It has since become a vital part of the Long Island culture scene. The word community has been dropped from its name, but the community that it has built is thriving. I fervently hope that it can survive the loss of one of its founders, Vic Skolnik. The community must come together to keep the light of Vic's vision alive.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I enjoy film that I would otherwise have to trek into Manhattan for. It is also a relaxing space to come and be with like minded folks.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would increase its social media presence, and use that to reach a younger demographic. I would also include the content of new local video artists in the pre-show powerpoint rolls.

November 24, 2010

more

November 24, 2010

I've been a member of the Cinema Arts Center for many years and have always enjoyed the quality and variety of the films that are shown there. It's also a plus to watch a good film along with other like-minded people who love film as entertainment. -- David C Pinkowitz (www.dcpmarketing.com)

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I've personally experienced watching many many films over the years at Cinema Arts Center.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Cinema Arts Center could be improved with additional seats at the film showings, so it wouldn't be so crowded.

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers