Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
119 Reviews
1234.99165
Write A Review
October 27, 2014

more

October 27, 2014

I have donated and helped with CAIN Christmas. Everyone is so helpful and treats everyone else with such respect and kindness.
September 28, 2013

more

September 28, 2013

I learned about CAIN when I attended a church in Northside. I have been a volunteer and a donor there. I admire their contribution to the community by helping those in need. I support their mission and feel that CAIN is a vital outreach. As quoted in scripture, "Each one should use whatever gift he has received to serve others, faithfully administering God's grace in its various forms', CAIN's mercy and love towards the people that they service exemplifies God's beauty by touching one hand and one life at a time. Praises to the leadership, the staff and the volunteers that continue to make it happen at CAIN.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I believe the organization is doing a great job, and I do not know of any changes needed at this time.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 30, 2014

more


2 previous reviews - show all
September 25, 2013

I have been a guest served by CAIN as well as a volunteer and a general member of the public. I now have the privilege to be a donor and give back to an agency that has helped me in the past. CAIN ma... more

October 30, 2014

CAIN is a warm and wonderful place to get assistance and a smile from volunteers who love what they do. I have had the pleasure of being involved with this agency for more than 25 years. I have seen the needs of the guests grow from serving about 50 households monthly to over 350. They do what they can and give a hand up to those in need. I am blessed more by giving my time to this agency than I could ever have wished!!
September 25, 2013

I have been a guest served by CAIN as well as a volunteer and a general member of the public. I now have the privilege to be a donor and give back to an agency that has helped me in the past.

CAIN makes a difference in the life of the community with each guest that is served.
Serving
the guests with a choice pantry gives the guest the best experience and allows each person choices available to them according to their medical and dietary needs.

It is my pleasure to give to an agency who gives dignity to each person who they serve. You can tell that the volunteer love giving of their time and serving the people who come to get needed food, diapers and other baby items as well as household and hygiene products. Many of these things may not be purchased with their food stamps.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I pray that more people would give more finances. They would be able to do more than their resources allow now. More help with rent and utility and resources for children's basic needs.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 27, 2010

I have been on both sides of this agencies help. I have been served by this agency when my family was in need of assisitance. Now I am able to help those who come to CAIN feel a little of the love and grace that was shown to me. One of my favorite things to do is to recycle old tee shirts into bags to let the guest carry home some of their food in a recycled tee shirt bag. They seem to appreciate the bag and many have said oh I can do that (and a few do bring in a few tfor me to give away.) They have been glad to give back. I also like it when the guest asks when can they come to volunteer and I can tell them someone will call you on the next voluntter day.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Being helped years ago when we my family were in need of help. Have seen how this agency goes the distance when the rescources are low but the needs of the community keep increasing.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Try to find donations to offset the expences of serving so many households and running out of much needed items. I wish we could find connections to large companies who have damaged or overflow products to share. Especially in the household and hygiene area of our choice pantry. It's hard to say to someone we don't have what they need to keep yourself clean or do your laundry.

September 25, 2013

more

September 25, 2013

Apartment Association Outreach, Inc. is a partner with CAIN (Churches Active in Northside) financials donations to provide rent assistance to those who need a bridge over a tough patch as a one time payment directly to the landlord. Housing stability increases the stability for families and individuals. AAO also provides food donations to the pantry. We appreciate this partnership so much we showcase CAIN in a video about the work of the Outreach on our website www.gcnkoutreach.org, select the About Us tab and click the arrow to view.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Help CAIN grow with more donations as they are doing a great work in their community. It would be wonderful to clone their model in other communities.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 25, 2013

more

September 25, 2013

I am both a donor and a volunteer. This is a great organization! There are so many organizations clammoring for donations and you wonder where your money is going and who is being helped?! You don't have to wonder at CAIN. The emails they send out keep me connected to what's going on even when I can't get in to volunteer. I love their "Can You Help?" program where they email specific needs out to their email list and then you can "Help" if you are able. I often include my children in these "Help" shopping trips - one time we bought shoes for a whole family of kids, clothing for a working adult, shoes, etc. It helps my kids understand that there are people who struggle to provide things for their families. We also love the Angel Workshop at Christmas where clients can come in to "shop" for Christmas presents for their families. This is another opportunity to get my kids involved and we always support a number of children and adults during the holiday season as well as coming into CAIN to organize gifts and help the shoppers. I look forward to helping more with my time when I retire and my kids are on their own life adventures! Keep up the awesome work, CAIN!!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 27, 2014

more


2 previous reviews - show all
April 6, 2013

C.A.I.N. was the first volunteer program that I embarked upon as an adult. I was enticed to come there by a wonderful neighbor and fellow volunteer (who is still quite active with C.A.I.N.). The lev... more

October 27, 2014

Although I have moved away from the state (live in San Diego) I still visit C.A.I.N. when I make a trip back home. They are always so gracious and welcoming to me even though they are usually very, very busy with clients. It reminds me of how gracious and welcoming they are to EVERYONE that steps across their threshold. C.A.I.N. has been in operation form many years yet their enthusiasm and respect for those in need is just as new and encompassing as they were in the early days. What a wonderful operation they run. I am glad to say I was a part of the C.A.I.N. family.....and still feel I am.
April 6, 2013

C.A.I.N. was the first volunteer program that I embarked upon as an adult. I was enticed to come there by a wonderful neighbor and fellow volunteer (who is still quite active with C.A.I.N.). The level of devotion and enthusiasm was nothing short of marvelous. I watched them grow from borrowed space in a church basement into the wonderful program they now present. I am still amazed at all of the opportunities they afford the working poor with such limited funds. C.A.I.N. makes me smile.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 27, 2012

After working with C.A.I.N. for several wonderful years while I lived in Cincinnati, I moved my family to San Diego, California. Mimi Chamberlain, the director, has kept me in the loop and a part of the C.A.I.N. family like I had never left. Their email messages and brilliant web campaigns to garner the support and supplies they need to care for their needy is always interesting, intriguing and gets me thinking of what I can do to help from so far away! On an extended visit to Cincinnati to spend time with family, I was welcomed back into the fold and quickly was back in action as a volunteer. It takes a very special kind of group to emit that kind of warmth and family-like feeling while facing all of the obstacles that they face each year. And ALWAYS with a quiet, graceful smile! I brag about C.A.I.N. to all of my fellow volunteers out here on the left coast. It is quite a program! Cyndi Craig

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 18, 2012

more

October 18, 2012

I often take items to CAIN for donation. Not only are they helpful and friendly to me but it is clear how all of the customers feel as well. It seems to be a place to get help along with love and respect.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 18, 2012

more

October 18, 2012

I live in the neighborhood that CAIN serves and support CAIN's work with gifts as I am able. I am consistently impressed with the creativity and integrity with which CAIN serves my neighbors who are struggling to meet basic needs. I notice that the people being served by CAIN are treated with respect and dignity and that CAIN events like the Friday night summer cookouts often provide an important meeting place for neighbors who come from very different class backgrounds and might not otherwise have a chance to get to know each other. I have no doubt that CAIN makes my Northside neighborhood a better place for everyone who lives here!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 18, 2012

more

October 18, 2012

CAIN is a vital asset to the Northside community. They feed and clothe the working poor and provide other provisions for those in need. We support CAIN because we believe in their mission. We are a church in Northside and CAIN is helping us fulfill our own mission by extending our hands and our hearts to those less fortunate than ourselves.
New Spirit Metropolitan Community Church

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 27, 2010

more

November 27, 2010

CAIN is an integral part of the Northside and surrounding community. Families in need not only count on the groceries, rent and utility assistance but on the genuine concern and support from the staff and volunteers at CAIN. I believe that CAIN's success is due to the excellent staff and the consistent way CAIN communicates the specific needs of the neighborhood to the donors and voluteers. CAIN is a smaill but mightly organization. They help hundreds of fmaiies throughout the year. At this time of the year I think of the many families who will have Christmas because of CAIN's Secret Angel program. It always amazes me how this small agency can help so many. God Bless.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I enjoy shopping every year for Christmas gifts for the families of CAIN. I find this very easy since CAIN started the Choice Pantry. This way I know that the gifts I purchased will be just what the family might have chosen for themselves or their children.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

look for more an ongoing endowment. CAIN could do so much more if there was more funding. People now need help more than ever.

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Shop with guests, serve food and re-stock pantry shelves.