Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
119 Reviews
1234.99165
Write A Review
September 25, 2013

more

September 25, 2013

We have volunteered in the past. Now we are only able to help with donations. All of the staff at Cain are top notch. They are always friendly and so grateful for any donations. But most importantly, they care deeply about their clients. Cain runs very smoothly with dedicated employees and volunteers. Cindy and Denny Bosse

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 25, 2013

more


1 previous review
October 29, 2012

CAIN is such a great place. People who need services are treated personally and warmly. They are guests not clients. Hospitality is an important aspect of CAIN. I love working there. more

September 25, 2013

CAIN is a wonderful place. The volunteers and staff are great. clients are called and are greeted as guests. Hospitality is very important at CAIN. I love volunteering there.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 29, 2012

CAIN is such a great place. People who need services are treated personally and warmly. They are guests not clients. Hospitality is an important aspect of CAIN. I love working there.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 22, 2013

more


3 previous reviews - show all
August 21, 2013

I have been at CAIN about 9 years. It is a Choice Pantry in a virtual food desert. (Last grocery store closed last week). I typically am there on Monday nights. Using 3 cars, we go to our local Food B... more

September 22, 2013

Working with the local Freestore Foodbank in Cincinnati, our choice pantry provides over 500 lb of fresh produce PER WEEK to our clients. I know this because I am one of 3 volunteers who go each Monday
to load our cars with the produce. Since Northside is a so-called "food desert" (no grocery
in the neighborhood), this effort is especially important. But the real joy is in helping our clients in selecting produce, comparing recipes, and talking with one another.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

If we had a kitchen, we could do more than just talk about food preparation. We could show our clients as well. My experience is that the use of "convenience foods" is killing the skill/art of cooking. A generation is here that doesn't really know "how to cook", but only how to "heat & eat".

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 21, 2013

I have been at CAIN about 9 years. It is a Choice Pantry in a virtual food desert. (Last grocery store closed last week). I typically am there on Monday nights. Using 3 cars, we go to our local Food Bank each Monday afternoon and load up about 500 lb. of fresh produce (yes, that is one ton per month!). We also serve a hot meal/casserole that evening. There is something about produce/meals that seems to promote good feelings among the volunteers and guests. There is pleasant conversation and laughter I wouldn't expect in a food pantry. But there it is. I go home on Monday night tired (I'm 81),but with a real feeling of joy.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I wish we had a kitchen where we could show our guests how to prepare nutritious meals. There are many who do not know what to do with egg plant or acorn squash, for example.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 18, 2012

A young woman with two pre-schoolers and working two jobs was at our food pantry recently. She seemed unusually tired. I sat down to talk with her a minute. She said she had low iron and couldn't afford iron tablets. Nown while iron tablets aren't very expensive (maybe $8/100), it just wasn't in her budget. One of our staff arranged for her to get some from our pharmacy contact. I saw her again about two months later. She said she had more energy for work and for caring for her children. I guess that went beyond the usual mission oof a food pantry, but it is the kind of thing we do at CAIN.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 11, 2010

I have been volunteering at C.A.I.N. for over 3 years now. It is a "choice pantry" doing an invaluable service to the community. The clients are treated with dignity and there seems to be a mutual feeling of friendliness among the clients and volunteers. On Monday nights I take a hot dish (soup, casserole) for our guests (especially welcome in the winter). That seems to add a sense of belonging and sharing for everyone.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

The happiness of a young mother finding a birthday cake for her little girl among the baked goods at our pantry.

More feedback...

What I've enjoyed the most about my experience with this nonprofit is...

Meeting and talking with so many different people. Gaining a new perspective on the meaning of joy and sharing.

If this organization had 10 million bucks, it could...

Expand the facility, add cooking classes/nutritional training for its clients. Many clients do not know what to do with fresh vegetables like zucchini, yellow squash,eggplant, etc. Mostly they opt for canned corn and white bread (sliced).

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

About every week

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

October 22, 2012

more

October 22, 2012

As a recent summer intern, CAIN provided me with a more rewarding experience than I could have imagined. CAIN not only helps the Northside community by providing groceries and hygiene supplies to those in need, but also establishes a welcoming atmosphere that becomes a sanctuary for volunteers and guests alike. I, like many others, found a home within the CAIN community that allowed me to broaden my perspectives, meet new people of all backgrounds, and contribute to the betterment of the surrounding community. CAIN is such a vital nonprofit organization because it provides the necessities that struggling families need, yet goes above and beyond through developing an entire support system in which volunteers and staff members truly listen to the families and do their best to provide all the help they can.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 22, 2012

more

October 22, 2012

The CAIN pantry is a vital local resource. Without CAIN, many local families would struggle to feed their children.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 20, 2012

more

October 20, 2012

One word that describes CAIN is "Hope", because that is what the organization tries to provide to people in the Northside community in Cincinnati, OH. CAIN puts forth their best effort to create a loving atmosphere where people feel at home. It is a not only a second home to guests but to volunteers. CAIN doesn't stop at providing free groceries and hygiene items to families, but they strive to educate on healthy eating habits which is beneficial in the long-run. Thank You CAIN!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 22, 2014

more


2 previous reviews - show all
October 18, 2012

I have been volunteering at CAIN every Tuesday for three years. Each time I step through their doors, I am gratified to realize that such a place exists...where volunteers, both young and old, from a... more

October 22, 2014

As a former volunteer at CAIN, I can attest to the critically important work they do. Not only do they provide food to those in need, but also assistance in how to get utility bills paid, or where to find housing, and maybe just as importantly, a sympathetic ear to listen. These people are vital to this community, and Cincinnati in general.
October 18, 2012

I have been volunteering at CAIN every Tuesday for three years. Each time I step through their doors, I am gratified to realize that such a place exists...where volunteers, both young and old, from all walks of life, are willing to give of their time or lend an ear to others who have fallen on hard times. There's a satisfaction and joy in knowing that in some small way we do make a difference. It's the right thing to do.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

December 7, 2011

I volunteer at CAIN every week and have seen firsthand what this organization means to folks in need. Some we see every month, some just come once or twice and we don't see them again. But the important thing is that CAIN is there for them and they can count on a place to go for not only food and household provisions, but an ear to listen and understanding hearts ready to do whatever is needed to make their lives a little easier.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

October 18, 2012

more

October 18, 2012

I and my 13-year-old son Joe have been volunteering at the CAIN Food Pantry for the past two years. For both of us, it has been an amazing experience. While the pantry is only about 2 miles from our comfortable home, Joe has discovered first-hand that many people in his world--even people who live close to us--are not living comfortable lives; they are hurting and struggling to survive. The unique and beautiful gift that CAIN brings is creating an environment in which the dignity and value of each person who walks through the door is cherished and celebrated. Guests are treated with warmth and genuine love, and are offered a kind listening ear---nourishment that is just as important (or more so) than the food we share.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 18, 2012

more

October 18, 2012

Helping prepare and serve one of the Friday meals each month is such an immediate and gratifying way to reach out to people in need right in our community.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 16, 2012

more


1 previous review
November 17, 2011

I always love volunteering at CAIN. I feel like I am really needed and the clients are so appreciative. Everyone is treatedwith dignity. more

October 16, 2012

Cain helps Northside residents lead better lives. Volunteers are trained and treat each client with love and respect. Monies are used in a very efficient and thrifty manner.Every time3 I am volunteering at CAIN I am impressed by the organization.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 17, 2011

I always love volunteering at CAIN. I feel like I am really needed and the clients are so appreciative. Everyone is treatedwith dignity.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Seeing the happines on clients faces when they get to pick Christmas presents for their children.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Get more people to volunteer.

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Shop with guests, serve food and re-stock pantry shelves.