Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
105 Reviews
1234.980955
| 1 2 3 4...6 |
Write A Review
December 8, 2011

more

December 8, 2011

CAIN is a place that embodies love - there is an atmosphere of love and respect with guests, volunteers, staff. People go the extra mile for each other and inspire others to do the same. Folks get help in a tough time, hope for tomorrow and are helped to get into better situations for the long term. One person's family was helped in a time of need years ago. This family comes back and serves. I first volunteered as a personal shopper during the "Angel Shop" held open over the holidays. It was very humbling to be thanked over and over and feel the gratitude a parent felt at being able to do for their family - to leave with food for balanced meals and gifts for children and more. Everyone who has volunteered with me comes back. This is a very special place and run with many best practices.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

December 7, 2011

more

December 7, 2011

You come here to work, and you just love everyone. There's nobody here that you don't like. They put me in on the Enquirer Wish List last year, and I got a new tub! You can tell that everyone loves it here. I never had so many friends until I got here. I've been with CAIN since it started, and I'll be here until the end-- or my end. Being here gets you closer to God. I know I am. I've learned a lot being here; I learn something every time I'm here. I worked over at the Senior Center before I came here, and many of them came here, too. When you go to the store and you see people who come to CAIN, they always say hello. They give me a lot of credit, but MiMi is really a driving force behind CAIN. Everyone else is, too. They put all of their hearts into CAIN, and it shows. People ask, "How is it up there?" And I say that you go through it just like a grocery store, and they like that. If I ever won the money or the lottery (if I played the lottery), I'd give it all to CAIN. People ask why, and I say because God is the one who gave it to me! I love this place. It's just like home.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

December 6, 2011

more

December 6, 2011

My name is Darla and I have been volunteering at CAIN for the last 4 years. It is a warm and welcoming environment where people are treated with respect and love. They leave with dignity and hope and feeling loved. I love volunteering there, I bring my children with me. I feel like CAIN is changing the world if not for only one person at a time. The experience at CAIN for me has been lifechanging. The staff are some of the most wonderful and caring people I have ever met. I appreciate the opportunity to serve along side each and everyone of them.......especially the one we call Amazing Grace!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

December 6, 2011

more

December 6, 2011

CAIN does many things well but their Angel Shop during the Holidays is truly special. They provide their guests with the opportunity to do a little giving of their own. Families can sign up through this program and go through the pantry picking out gifts they think their children and family members would enjoy. There is no better experience than giving a loved one a gift. I had a guest express to me that we keep the Christmas Spirit alive in their household. Everything CAIN does is such a huge help to the Northside Community!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

December 6, 2011

more

December 6, 2011

I am a student from Miami University, and I have been a volunteer at CAIN for quite awhile. Every person that works at CAIN is so joyful, friendly, kind, loving, enthusiastic, and personable. You can absolutely see that they are doing God's work. They had tasks for us that we were able to accomplish well, and really allowed us to feel like we were making a positive impact. I love volunteering at CAIN! Thank you CAIN for being so wonderful! You are really making a big difference.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

December 6, 2011

more

December 6, 2011

I enjoy seeing that we are able to help people out with finances, food, and bills. I love seeing smiles on their faces, and I love to be a blessing to the people, showing them that we love and support them. I love ministering to people about God. We have a prayer box set up so that if they have a request, they can submit it there. Hilda prays over them, and we can put them on a prayer list. I thank God that I am able to continue doing His work at CAIN and continue being a blessing to the people that come in. I love working with all of the volunteer workers. I think they're very supporting; they show their love and kindness to us workers and the people that come into CAIN. --Ron

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

December 6, 2011

more

December 6, 2011

I started volunteering at CAIN for a service learning project for school two years ago, and I loved the organization so much that I kept coming back after my project was over! The staff and other volunteers at CAIN are so warm and welcoming that everyone who comes into the pantry receives a great experience. Many people with whom I have "shopped" rave about the items offered and the treatment that they receive. They love having warm soup or other snacks to eat while they wait to go through the pantry, and once they go through the pantry, being able to choose what items they take home is very important because they take home food that they will actually use. For the last two years, I have been back to help with the Secret Angel Christmas Shop during the first couple weeks of December, and it is quickly becoming my favorite Christmas tradition. Families or individuals sign up to go through the pantry, which is converted to contain Christmas gifts. They go through and pick out household items like blankets and pots and pans, toys, and cleaning supplies. Many have told me that these are the only Christmas gifts that they will receive, and it helps me to get in the Christmas spirit knowing that I am helping these people so much through CAIN. CAIN is by far my favorite place that I have done service at, and I will continue to come back and help out as long as they will have me!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

December 6, 2011

more

December 6, 2011

My daughters and I worked to help stock CAIN's shelves for their Christmas Angel event. This allows struggling families to come and "shop" for gifts for the holidays. CAIN does an amazing job of rallying people and businesses to provide a solid assortment of gifts for their guests to choose from. Our efforts involved sorting and shelving books. I remember what a pleasure it was to me to get a book at Christmas. It's wonderful to be able to help that happen for other families. CAIN strives, more than any other charity with which I've had contact, to treat the people who come through their door with respect and care. They empower their guests to wisely navigate difficult circumstances.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

December 5, 2011

more

December 5, 2011

I went with a college group called the TOMS club to drop off shoes that we had collected to donate them to families in need. In addition to sorting through the shoes, we made up emergency food bags for families that would not be able to get food during the holidays and sort through donated items that would be available to the families that CAIN serves for the holiday season. I was busy the entire time I was there and felt like I was actually making a difference. Everyone there was so nice and so appreciative of my work. I would love to go back and help again.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

December 5, 2011

more

December 5, 2011

All of the staff is wonderful and so friendly!! They provide an excellent service to the community and are great with assisting all their volunteers. They gave us plenty to do, kept us on task, and were extremely helpful! I really felt like I was able to help out!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Shop with guests, serve food and re-stock pantry shelves.