Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
96 Reviews
1234.979175
| 1 2 3...6 |
Write A Review
October 18, 2012

more

October 18, 2012

I and my 13-year-old son Joe have been volunteering at the CAIN Food Pantry for the past two years. For both of us, it has been an amazing experience. While the pantry is only about 2 miles from our comfortable home, Joe has discovered first-hand that many people in his world--even people who live close to us--are not living comfortable lives; they are hurting and struggling to survive. The unique and beautiful gift that CAIN brings is creating an environment in which the dignity and value of each person who walks through the door is cherished and celebrated. Guests are treated with warmth and genuine love, and are offered a kind listening ear---nourishment that is just as important (or more so) than the food we share.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 18, 2012

more

October 18, 2012

Helping prepare and serve one of the Friday meals each month is such an immediate and gratifying way to reach out to people in need right in our community.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 16, 2012

more


1 previous review
November 17, 2011

I always love volunteering at CAIN. I feel like I am really needed and the clients are so appreciative. Everyone is treatedwith dignity. more

October 16, 2012

Cain helps Northside residents lead better lives. Volunteers are trained and treat each client with love and respect. Monies are used in a very efficient and thrifty manner.Every time3 I am volunteering at CAIN I am impressed by the organization.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 17, 2011

I always love volunteering at CAIN. I feel like I am really needed and the clients are so appreciative. Everyone is treatedwith dignity.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Seeing the happines on clients faces when they get to pick Christmas presents for their children.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Get more people to volunteer.

December 8, 2011

more

December 8, 2011

CAIN is a place that embodies love - there is an atmosphere of love and respect with guests, volunteers, staff. People go the extra mile for each other and inspire others to do the same. Folks get help in a tough time, hope for tomorrow and are helped to get into better situations for the long term. One person's family was helped in a time of need years ago. This family comes back and serves. I first volunteered as a personal shopper during the "Angel Shop" held open over the holidays. It was very humbling to be thanked over and over and feel the gratitude a parent felt at being able to do for their family - to leave with food for balanced meals and gifts for children and more. Everyone who has volunteered with me comes back. This is a very special place and run with many best practices.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

December 7, 2011

more

December 7, 2011

You come here to work, and you just love everyone. There's nobody here that you don't like. They put me in on the Enquirer Wish List last year, and I got a new tub! You can tell that everyone loves it here. I never had so many friends until I got here. I've been with CAIN since it started, and I'll be here until the end-- or my end. Being here gets you closer to God. I know I am. I've learned a lot being here; I learn something every time I'm here. I worked over at the Senior Center before I came here, and many of them came here, too. When you go to the store and you see people who come to CAIN, they always say hello. They give me a lot of credit, but MiMi is really a driving force behind CAIN. Everyone else is, too. They put all of their hearts into CAIN, and it shows. People ask, "How is it up there?" And I say that you go through it just like a grocery store, and they like that. If I ever won the money or the lottery (if I played the lottery), I'd give it all to CAIN. People ask why, and I say because God is the one who gave it to me! I love this place. It's just like home.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

December 6, 2011

more

December 6, 2011

My name is Darla and I have been volunteering at CAIN for the last 4 years. It is a warm and welcoming environment where people are treated with respect and love. They leave with dignity and hope and feeling loved. I love volunteering there, I bring my children with me. I feel like CAIN is changing the world if not for only one person at a time. The experience at CAIN for me has been lifechanging. The staff are some of the most wonderful and caring people I have ever met. I appreciate the opportunity to serve along side each and everyone of them.......especially the one we call Amazing Grace!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

December 6, 2011

more

December 6, 2011

CAIN does many things well but their Angel Shop during the Holidays is truly special. They provide their guests with the opportunity to do a little giving of their own. Families can sign up through this program and go through the pantry picking out gifts they think their children and family members would enjoy. There is no better experience than giving a loved one a gift. I had a guest express to me that we keep the Christmas Spirit alive in their household. Everything CAIN does is such a huge help to the Northside Community!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

December 6, 2011

more

December 6, 2011

I am a student from Miami University, and I have been a volunteer at CAIN for quite awhile. Every person that works at CAIN is so joyful, friendly, kind, loving, enthusiastic, and personable. You can absolutely see that they are doing God's work. They had tasks for us that we were able to accomplish well, and really allowed us to feel like we were making a positive impact. I love volunteering at CAIN! Thank you CAIN for being so wonderful! You are really making a big difference.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

December 6, 2011

more

December 6, 2011

I enjoy seeing that we are able to help people out with finances, food, and bills. I love seeing smiles on their faces, and I love to be a blessing to the people, showing them that we love and support them. I love ministering to people about God. We have a prayer box set up so that if they have a request, they can submit it there. Hilda prays over them, and we can put them on a prayer list. I thank God that I am able to continue doing His work at CAIN and continue being a blessing to the people that come in. I love working with all of the volunteer workers. I think they're very supporting; they show their love and kindness to us workers and the people that come into CAIN. --Ron

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

December 6, 2011

more

December 6, 2011

I started volunteering at CAIN for a service learning project for school two years ago, and I loved the organization so much that I kept coming back after my project was over! The staff and other volunteers at CAIN are so warm and welcoming that everyone who comes into the pantry receives a great experience. Many people with whom I have "shopped" rave about the items offered and the treatment that they receive. They love having warm soup or other snacks to eat while they wait to go through the pantry, and once they go through the pantry, being able to choose what items they take home is very important because they take home food that they will actually use. For the last two years, I have been back to help with the Secret Angel Christmas Shop during the first couple weeks of December, and it is quickly becoming my favorite Christmas tradition. Families or individuals sign up to go through the pantry, which is converted to contain Christmas gifts. They go through and pick out household items like blankets and pots and pans, toys, and cleaning supplies. Many have told me that these are the only Christmas gifts that they will receive, and it helps me to get in the Christmas spirit knowing that I am helping these people so much through CAIN. CAIN is by far my favorite place that I have done service at, and I will continue to come back and help out as long as they will have me!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Shop with guests, serve food and re-stock pantry shelves.