Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
119 Reviews
1234.99165
Write A Review
November 4, 2014

more

November 4, 2014

After interning at CAIN for the summer, I have a great respect for everyone who volunteers and works here. I learned much about CAIN’s central role in the community and all of their programs. They’re helping to promote proper nutrition and food access in a community in which many people lack easy access to conventional grocery stores. Every person in the organization is truly compassionate towards everyone who walks through the door. I have seen many instances of the staff helping people outside of operating hours. They desire to selfishly serve others, even if it comes at an inconvenience. The people here are as a whole respectful, compassionate, and have a deep love for the community and anyone who walks in and I have been blessed with the experience of working with them.
October 30, 2014

more


2 previous reviews - show all
September 25, 2013

I have been a guest served by CAIN as well as a volunteer and a general member of the public. I now have the privilege to be a donor and give back to an agency that has helped me in the past. CAIN ma... more

October 30, 2014

CAIN is a warm and wonderful place to get assistance and a smile from volunteers who love what they do. I have had the pleasure of being involved with this agency for more than 25 years. I have seen the needs of the guests grow from serving about 50 households monthly to over 350. They do what they can and give a hand up to those in need. I am blessed more by giving my time to this agency than I could ever have wished!!
September 25, 2013

I have been a guest served by CAIN as well as a volunteer and a general member of the public. I now have the privilege to be a donor and give back to an agency that has helped me in the past.

CAIN makes a difference in the life of the community with each guest that is served.
Serving
the guests with a choice pantry gives the guest the best experience and allows each person choices available to them according to their medical and dietary needs.

It is my pleasure to give to an agency who gives dignity to each person who they serve. You can tell that the volunteer love giving of their time and serving the people who come to get needed food, diapers and other baby items as well as household and hygiene products. Many of these things may not be purchased with their food stamps.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I pray that more people would give more finances. They would be able to do more than their resources allow now. More help with rent and utility and resources for children's basic needs.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 27, 2010

I have been on both sides of this agencies help. I have been served by this agency when my family was in need of assisitance. Now I am able to help those who come to CAIN feel a little of the love and grace that was shown to me. One of my favorite things to do is to recycle old tee shirts into bags to let the guest carry home some of their food in a recycled tee shirt bag. They seem to appreciate the bag and many have said oh I can do that (and a few do bring in a few tfor me to give away.) They have been glad to give back. I also like it when the guest asks when can they come to volunteer and I can tell them someone will call you on the next voluntter day.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Being helped years ago when we my family were in need of help. Have seen how this agency goes the distance when the rescources are low but the needs of the community keep increasing.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Try to find donations to offset the expences of serving so many households and running out of much needed items. I wish we could find connections to large companies who have damaged or overflow products to share. Especially in the household and hygiene area of our choice pantry. It's hard to say to someone we don't have what they need to keep yourself clean or do your laundry.

October 29, 2014

more

October 29, 2014

CAIN continues to dig deeper and find creative, impactful ways to serve the needs of those most vulnerable in Northside. It is an integral part of the unique culture that makes Northside, 'Northside'. The experience of serving at CAIN has been life informing and rewarding.
October 27, 2014

more


2 previous reviews - show all
April 6, 2013

C.A.I.N. was the first volunteer program that I embarked upon as an adult. I was enticed to come there by a wonderful neighbor and fellow volunteer (who is still quite active with C.A.I.N.). The lev... more

October 27, 2014

Although I have moved away from the state (live in San Diego) I still visit C.A.I.N. when I make a trip back home. They are always so gracious and welcoming to me even though they are usually very, very busy with clients. It reminds me of how gracious and welcoming they are to EVERYONE that steps across their threshold. C.A.I.N. has been in operation form many years yet their enthusiasm and respect for those in need is just as new and encompassing as they were in the early days. What a wonderful operation they run. I am glad to say I was a part of the C.A.I.N. family.....and still feel I am.
April 6, 2013

C.A.I.N. was the first volunteer program that I embarked upon as an adult. I was enticed to come there by a wonderful neighbor and fellow volunteer (who is still quite active with C.A.I.N.). The level of devotion and enthusiasm was nothing short of marvelous. I watched them grow from borrowed space in a church basement into the wonderful program they now present. I am still amazed at all of the opportunities they afford the working poor with such limited funds. C.A.I.N. makes me smile.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 27, 2012

After working with C.A.I.N. for several wonderful years while I lived in Cincinnati, I moved my family to San Diego, California. Mimi Chamberlain, the director, has kept me in the loop and a part of the C.A.I.N. family like I had never left. Their email messages and brilliant web campaigns to garner the support and supplies they need to care for their needy is always interesting, intriguing and gets me thinking of what I can do to help from so far away! On an extended visit to Cincinnati to spend time with family, I was welcomed back into the fold and quickly was back in action as a volunteer. It takes a very special kind of group to emit that kind of warmth and family-like feeling while facing all of the obstacles that they face each year. And ALWAYS with a quiet, graceful smile! I brag about C.A.I.N. to all of my fellow volunteers out here on the left coast. It is quite a program! Cyndi Craig

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 27, 2014

more

October 27, 2014

This past July I has the privilege of welcoming my one year anniversary of my time at CAIN as a student worker through the University of Cincinnati. The staff and volunteers of CAIN has made my time there wonderful and encouraging. Every single member of the CAIN team welcomes the guest and volunteers with respect, humility, understanding, patience and kindness. Their willingness to serve and inspire hope to the community, has certainly made an everlasting impact on the neighborhood of Northside. Being at CAIN, in the presence of the pure love and generosity of its people, I am massively inspired to be just as giving and loving. CAIN is not only a blessing to the people of Northside, but also to every organization, school, university, or program it partners with to introduce their philosophy of what it truly means to transform lives and inspire hope.
October 27, 2014

more

October 27, 2014

I continually hear from CAIN's guests that it is just the nicest place with folks who take their time to listen and empathize with them. CAIN attends to their food needs, their spiritual needs and their need to be treated like valuable human beings. CAIN volunteers are always on the lookout for others services or agencies that can fill the gaps in their lives.
CAIN volunteers also remind the guests of CAIN's weekly hot meal service and the guest can apply for SNAP or get their federal and/or state taxes done there at no cost. This has also saved many guests hundreds of dollars each.
October 27, 2014

more

October 27, 2014

I love being part of the community at CAIN! Yes, it is volunteer service but, most important to me, I am part of a community of people who truly enjoy spending time together. More than a year after I first met them, the staff and other volunteers greet me as if I, too, am a beloved guest in their world. I may not come to the door in need of food but, most certainly, I come in need of the hospitality - the welcome, the kindness, the generosity - offered to every person who comes through CAIN's doors. Their response to each person both humbles and strengthens me: each of us, no matter who we are or why we are at the door, matters. We are, each of us, loved at CAIN.
October 27, 2014

more

October 27, 2014

I have been a volunteer with C.A.I.N. since 1992, when it was still called the "Northside Food Pantry". A LOT has changed over the years, but it has all been GOOD! The community of Northside is fortunate to have a place where they can get so much help in one place! It's not just about the food - it's about caring....& personal hygiene products... It's about compassion....& knowing someone is praying for you... It's about patience.....& someone helping to fill out the tax forms you could not do for yourself.... It's about warmth....& being able to get clothes for your family..... It's about kindness....& help with a resume' so you can get back to work & on your feet.... It's about love....something every client who visits C.A.I.N. experiences from the time the enter the door until they leave.....
October 27, 2014

more

October 27, 2014

CAIN always treats clients with dignity and respect. Volunteers are given training to see that everything runs smoothly at CAIN.

I was a volunteer to help people sing up for the affordable care Act and CAIN was Helpful in supplying space for me to talk to people.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Be sure they had more funding.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 27, 2014

more

October 27, 2014

I volunteered at CAIN with my youngest daughter when she was in high school and needed service hours. After she graduated, other things got in the way and I stopped volunteering there. About 2 years ago I started going again, and am so glad I did! It is an extremely well run organization, with very dedicated staff and volunteers. It is clean and the process by which the "clients" use the pantry is very efficient. Each time I'm there, I see and hear the appreciation from the people served by CAIN. And to be perfectly honest, I feel good when I leave, knowing that I've helped just a little.
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Shop with guests, serve food and re-stock pantry shelves.