Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
119 Reviews
1234.99165
Write A Review
September 25, 2013

more

September 25, 2013

We have volunteered in the past. Now we are only able to help with donations. All of the staff at Cain are top notch. They are always friendly and so grateful for any donations. But most importantly, they care deeply about their clients. Cain runs very smoothly with dedicated employees and volunteers. Cindy and Denny Bosse

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 25, 2013

more


1 previous review
October 29, 2012

CAIN is such a great place. People who need services are treated personally and warmly. They are guests not clients. Hospitality is an important aspect of CAIN. I love working there. more

September 25, 2013

CAIN is a wonderful place. The volunteers and staff are great. clients are called and are greeted as guests. Hospitality is very important at CAIN. I love volunteering there.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 29, 2012

CAIN is such a great place. People who need services are treated personally and warmly. They are guests not clients. Hospitality is an important aspect of CAIN. I love working there.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 25, 2013

more

September 25, 2013

Apartment Association Outreach, Inc. is a partner with CAIN (Churches Active in Northside) financials donations to provide rent assistance to those who need a bridge over a tough patch as a one time payment directly to the landlord. Housing stability increases the stability for families and individuals. AAO also provides food donations to the pantry. We appreciate this partnership so much we showcase CAIN in a video about the work of the Outreach on our website www.gcnkoutreach.org, select the About Us tab and click the arrow to view.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Help CAIN grow with more donations as they are doing a great work in their community. It would be wonderful to clone their model in other communities.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 25, 2013

more


1 previous review
December 9, 2009

This is a much needed service for this area of Cincinnati. As much as several churches donate financially to assist keeping this pantry open, the slow economy has decreased the donations the churchs r... more

September 25, 2013

As a former volunteer at CAIN and being involved with a local church through St. Vincent de Paul, I know that without CAIN many people in the neighborhood would go hungry. Their Choice Pantry provides many neighbors with needed food, personal items, soap, and even school supplies. All the staff here are friendly and helpful, many go out of their way to find "special" items for some clients.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

get them more money so they can expand and provide more. Christmas is the saddest as they have to limit how many children they can assist due to lack of funding.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

December 9, 2009

This is a much needed service for this area of Cincinnati. As much as several churches donate financially to assist keeping this pantry open, the slow economy has decreased the donations the churchs receive causing a reduction in what C.A.I.N. can offer needy families. All the staff here are caring and many times go out of their way to assist someone in need.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

our church's ministry project to assist those in need with household items such as a bed or table.

More feedback...

What I've enjoyed the most about my experience with this nonprofit is...

The caring people who work and volunteer here, and the clients who are so grateful for the help.

The kinds of staff and volunteers that I met were...

all great people just trying to help their fellow man.

If this organization had 10 million bucks, it could...

go on forever helping needy families.

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

About every week

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

September 25, 2013

more

September 25, 2013

I am both a donor and a volunteer. This is a great organization! There are so many organizations clammoring for donations and you wonder where your money is going and who is being helped?! You don't have to wonder at CAIN. The emails they send out keep me connected to what's going on even when I can't get in to volunteer. I love their "Can You Help?" program where they email specific needs out to their email list and then you can "Help" if you are able. I often include my children in these "Help" shopping trips - one time we bought shoes for a whole family of kids, clothing for a working adult, shoes, etc. It helps my kids understand that there are people who struggle to provide things for their families. We also love the Angel Workshop at Christmas where clients can come in to "shop" for Christmas presents for their families. This is another opportunity to get my kids involved and we always support a number of children and adults during the holiday season as well as coming into CAIN to organize gifts and help the shoppers. I look forward to helping more with my time when I retire and my kids are on their own life adventures! Keep up the awesome work, CAIN!!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 22, 2013

more


3 previous reviews - show all
August 21, 2013

I have been at CAIN about 9 years. It is a Choice Pantry in a virtual food desert. (Last grocery store closed last week). I typically am there on Monday nights. Using 3 cars, we go to our local Food B... more

September 22, 2013

Working with the local Freestore Foodbank in Cincinnati, our choice pantry provides over 500 lb of fresh produce PER WEEK to our clients. I know this because I am one of 3 volunteers who go each Monday
to load our cars with the produce. Since Northside is a so-called "food desert" (no grocery
in the neighborhood), this effort is especially important. But the real joy is in helping our clients in selecting produce, comparing recipes, and talking with one another.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

If we had a kitchen, we could do more than just talk about food preparation. We could show our clients as well. My experience is that the use of "convenience foods" is killing the skill/art of cooking. A generation is here that doesn't really know "how to cook", but only how to "heat & eat".

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 21, 2013

I have been at CAIN about 9 years. It is a Choice Pantry in a virtual food desert. (Last grocery store closed last week). I typically am there on Monday nights. Using 3 cars, we go to our local Food Bank each Monday afternoon and load up about 500 lb. of fresh produce (yes, that is one ton per month!). We also serve a hot meal/casserole that evening. There is something about produce/meals that seems to promote good feelings among the volunteers and guests. There is pleasant conversation and laughter I wouldn't expect in a food pantry. But there it is. I go home on Monday night tired (I'm 81),but with a real feeling of joy.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I wish we had a kitchen where we could show our guests how to prepare nutritious meals. There are many who do not know what to do with egg plant or acorn squash, for example.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 18, 2012

A young woman with two pre-schoolers and working two jobs was at our food pantry recently. She seemed unusually tired. I sat down to talk with her a minute. She said she had low iron and couldn't afford iron tablets. Nown while iron tablets aren't very expensive (maybe $8/100), it just wasn't in her budget. One of our staff arranged for her to get some from our pharmacy contact. I saw her again about two months later. She said she had more energy for work and for caring for her children. I guess that went beyond the usual mission oof a food pantry, but it is the kind of thing we do at CAIN.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 11, 2010

I have been volunteering at C.A.I.N. for over 3 years now. It is a "choice pantry" doing an invaluable service to the community. The clients are treated with dignity and there seems to be a mutual feeling of friendliness among the clients and volunteers. On Monday nights I take a hot dish (soup, casserole) for our guests (especially welcome in the winter). That seems to add a sense of belonging and sharing for everyone.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

The happiness of a young mother finding a birthday cake for her little girl among the baked goods at our pantry.

More feedback...

What I've enjoyed the most about my experience with this nonprofit is...

Meeting and talking with so many different people. Gaining a new perspective on the meaning of joy and sharing.

If this organization had 10 million bucks, it could...

Expand the facility, add cooking classes/nutritional training for its clients. Many clients do not know what to do with fresh vegetables like zucchini, yellow squash,eggplant, etc. Mostly they opt for canned corn and white bread (sliced).

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

About every week

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

October 22, 2012

more

October 22, 2012

As a recent summer intern, CAIN provided me with a more rewarding experience than I could have imagined. CAIN not only helps the Northside community by providing groceries and hygiene supplies to those in need, but also establishes a welcoming atmosphere that becomes a sanctuary for volunteers and guests alike. I, like many others, found a home within the CAIN community that allowed me to broaden my perspectives, meet new people of all backgrounds, and contribute to the betterment of the surrounding community. CAIN is such a vital nonprofit organization because it provides the necessities that struggling families need, yet goes above and beyond through developing an entire support system in which volunteers and staff members truly listen to the families and do their best to provide all the help they can.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 22, 2012

more

October 22, 2012

The CAIN pantry is a vital local resource. Without CAIN, many local families would struggle to feed their children.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 20, 2012

more

October 20, 2012

One word that describes CAIN is "Hope", because that is what the organization tries to provide to people in the Northside community in Cincinnati, OH. CAIN puts forth their best effort to create a loving atmosphere where people feel at home. It is a not only a second home to guests but to volunteers. CAIN doesn't stop at providing free groceries and hygiene items to families, but they strive to educate on healthy eating habits which is beneficial in the long-run. Thank You CAIN!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 19, 2012

more

October 19, 2012

I have been associated with CAIN for several years as a board member. CAIN is an amazing organization that does many great things for the Northside community. The staff and volunteers do an extraordinary job making every guest feel both welcome and appreciated. It is truly an honor to be able to serve with such a great group of people.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Shop with guests, serve food and re-stock pantry shelves.