Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
96 Reviews
1234.979175
| 1 2 3 4...9 |
Write A Review
October 18, 2012

more

October 18, 2012

I live in the neighborhood that CAIN serves and support CAIN's work with gifts as I am able. I am consistently impressed with the creativity and integrity with which CAIN serves my neighbors who are struggling to meet basic needs. I notice that the people being served by CAIN are treated with respect and dignity and that CAIN events like the Friday night summer cookouts often provide an important meeting place for neighbors who come from very different class backgrounds and might not otherwise have a chance to get to know each other. I have no doubt that CAIN makes my Northside neighborhood a better place for everyone who lives here!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 18, 2012

more

October 18, 2012

I have been a volunteer with CAIN over 15 years, contributing to the Christmas Secret Angels, or working in the food pantry, and recently serving on the Board of Directors. As a community "member-at-large" I have requested donations at Community Council meetings and consistently received with very generous donations and people volunteering. CAIN is immensely respected in our neighborhood, as an organization that contributes to the well-being of the entire neighborhood, not only the guests who utilize the pantry. CAIN is known as the organization in our diverse community where neighbors can directly assist and impact the wellfare of people living right here. The accomplishment this year, of CAIN organizing the use of EBT cards at the Northside Farmer's Market, supports the market overall and the farmers who bring produce to sell locally. These same vendors generously donate produce at the end of the market time, to CAIN, for the following morning at the pantry. Annually CAIN organizes a very popular neighborhood-wide garage sale, providing a map guiding shoppers to all homes/locations participating. CAIN's active presence in Northside directly connects neighbors with neighbors who might otherwise remain strangers , due to cultural or socioeconomic differences. CAIN builds community!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 18, 2012

more

October 18, 2012

CAIN is a vital asset to the Northside community. They feed and clothe the working poor and provide other provisions for those in need. We support CAIN because we believe in their mission. We are a church in Northside and CAIN is helping us fulfill our own mission by extending our hands and our hearts to those less fortunate than ourselves.
New Spirit Metropolitan Community Church

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 18, 2012

more

October 18, 2012

I and my 13-year-old son Joe have been volunteering at the CAIN Food Pantry for the past two years. For both of us, it has been an amazing experience. While the pantry is only about 2 miles from our comfortable home, Joe has discovered first-hand that many people in his world--even people who live close to us--are not living comfortable lives; they are hurting and struggling to survive. The unique and beautiful gift that CAIN brings is creating an environment in which the dignity and value of each person who walks through the door is cherished and celebrated. Guests are treated with warmth and genuine love, and are offered a kind listening ear---nourishment that is just as important (or more so) than the food we share.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 18, 2012

more

October 18, 2012

Helping prepare and serve one of the Friday meals each month is such an immediate and gratifying way to reach out to people in need right in our community.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 16, 2012

more


1 previous review
November 17, 2011

I always love volunteering at CAIN. I feel like I am really needed and the clients are so appreciative. Everyone is treatedwith dignity. more

October 16, 2012

Cain helps Northside residents lead better lives. Volunteers are trained and treat each client with love and respect. Monies are used in a very efficient and thrifty manner.Every time3 I am volunteering at CAIN I am impressed by the organization.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 17, 2011

I always love volunteering at CAIN. I feel like I am really needed and the clients are so appreciative. Everyone is treatedwith dignity.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Seeing the happines on clients faces when they get to pick Christmas presents for their children.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Get more people to volunteer.

December 8, 2011

more

December 8, 2011

CAIN is a place that embodies love - there is an atmosphere of love and respect with guests, volunteers, staff. People go the extra mile for each other and inspire others to do the same. Folks get help in a tough time, hope for tomorrow and are helped to get into better situations for the long term. One person's family was helped in a time of need years ago. This family comes back and serves. I first volunteered as a personal shopper during the "Angel Shop" held open over the holidays. It was very humbling to be thanked over and over and feel the gratitude a parent felt at being able to do for their family - to leave with food for balanced meals and gifts for children and more. Everyone who has volunteered with me comes back. This is a very special place and run with many best practices.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

December 7, 2011

more

December 7, 2011

You come here to work, and you just love everyone. There's nobody here that you don't like. They put me in on the Enquirer Wish List last year, and I got a new tub! You can tell that everyone loves it here. I never had so many friends until I got here. I've been with CAIN since it started, and I'll be here until the end-- or my end. Being here gets you closer to God. I know I am. I've learned a lot being here; I learn something every time I'm here. I worked over at the Senior Center before I came here, and many of them came here, too. When you go to the store and you see people who come to CAIN, they always say hello. They give me a lot of credit, but MiMi is really a driving force behind CAIN. Everyone else is, too. They put all of their hearts into CAIN, and it shows. People ask, "How is it up there?" And I say that you go through it just like a grocery store, and they like that. If I ever won the money or the lottery (if I played the lottery), I'd give it all to CAIN. People ask why, and I say because God is the one who gave it to me! I love this place. It's just like home.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

December 7, 2011

more

December 7, 2011

It has been my joy and blessing to be a part of the CAIN corp of Volunteers for the last twelve years. I have done a variety of things, including chairing the board for eight years, pantry volunteer, shopper, errand person, general support for staff and other volunteers, chaplain and many, many more. I have always been impressed by their dedication to helping all members of the community who are in need and work very hard to keep all decisions based on guest (we don't call them clients) needs. I am also impressed with the very impressive ratio of staff to volunteers. There are only three, part-time professionals, and yet they recruit, coordinate, schedule and supervise an incredible group of volunteers that often minister to over 400 families in a month.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

December 6, 2011

more

December 6, 2011

My name is Darla and I have been volunteering at CAIN for the last 4 years. It is a warm and welcoming environment where people are treated with respect and love. They leave with dignity and hope and feeling loved. I love volunteering there, I bring my children with me. I feel like CAIN is changing the world if not for only one person at a time. The experience at CAIN for me has been lifechanging. The staff are some of the most wonderful and caring people I have ever met. I appreciate the opportunity to serve along side each and everyone of them.......especially the one we call Amazing Grace!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Shop with guests, serve food and re-stock pantry shelves.