Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
119 Reviews
1234.99165
Write A Review
October 27, 2014

more

October 27, 2014

CAIN is a fantastic non-profit organization with effective programs delivered in a caring environment. Outstanding leadership!
October 27, 2014

more

October 27, 2014

CAIN always treats clients with dignity and respect. Volunteers are given training to see that everything runs smoothly at CAIN.

I was a volunteer to help people sing up for the affordable care Act and CAIN was Helpful in supplying space for me to talk to people.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Be sure they had more funding.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 27, 2014

more

October 27, 2014

CAIN doesn't just serve as an emergency mission, it's a part of the community, providing neighborhood dinners, having a presence at the farmer's market, and engaging all members of the community from volunteer appreciation parties to offering maps during the neighborhood garage sale. They go above and beyond in all aspects of their outreach and are a testament to how a neighborhood nonprofit should operate.
October 27, 2014

more

October 27, 2014

I volunteered at CAIN with my youngest daughter when she was in high school and needed service hours. After she graduated, other things got in the way and I stopped volunteering there. About 2 years ago I started going again, and am so glad I did! It is an extremely well run organization, with very dedicated staff and volunteers. It is clean and the process by which the "clients" use the pantry is very efficient. Each time I'm there, I see and hear the appreciation from the people served by CAIN. And to be perfectly honest, I feel good when I leave, knowing that I've helped just a little.
October 27, 2014

more

October 27, 2014

I have donated and helped with CAIN Christmas. Everyone is so helpful and treats everyone else with such respect and kindness.
October 24, 2014

more

October 24, 2014

CAIN is a wonderful, important organization in the Northside community. Everyone at CAIN goes out of their way to make sure they can help the guests as much as they can. Not only are the guests treated well, but it is a great place to volunteer. I had an incredible experience volunteering there this summer and am looking forward to continuing my volunteer work.
October 24, 2014

more

October 24, 2014

I have only been around CAIN for 1.5 months and I'm impressed! They just welcome whoever walks through the door! Even if there are tons of people and things seem crazy...they're always smiling and serving. The guests come first each day at CAIN! There are times where we may not be able to directly help a guest, but we have other resources that can! CAIN is truly a neighborhood ministry desiring to help each guest to reach their potential in life! It's a blessing to be apart of!
October 23, 2014

more


1 previous review
October 18, 2012

I have been a volunteer with CAIN over 15 years, contributing to the Christmas Secret Angels, or working in the food pantry, and recently serving on the Board of Directors. As a community "member-at-... more

October 23, 2014

Hospitality toward each guest, volunteer and visitor guides most every aspect of the pantry and ministry of CAIN. Guests wait in a pleasant, temperature-controlled room, with a separate room for their children to play in, supervised by an adult. Often a snack is served, sometimes highlighting a new product offered in the pantry, or demonstrating how a produce item can be prepared. In an individual "intake" meeting, guests privately discuss their situation, special family needs and can be connected to other service agencies in the city and county for which they are eligible. With the assistance of a trained volunteer, each guest shops through the pantry, choosing items that appeal to them or meet special dietary restrictions (like sugar-free). Volunteers procure and distribute over 700 pounds of fresh, healthy produce weekly...a rarity among food pantries.
CAIN has earned unanimous respect within our neighborhood. This spring, I went door to door, fundraising for CAIN through the Hunger Walk. Almost every person I spoke with contributed. The few who did not, acknowledged the importance of CAIN in our diverse neighborhood, and encouraged me to ask them again in the future. What had seemed a daunting task became instead a powerful affirmation of the staff, volunteers and member churches. This was the first year we had set a goal for fundraising from within Northside. The response was so positive, we raised 900 % more than any previous year. It is an honor to be associated with such a tremendous community asset!
October 18, 2012

I have been a volunteer with CAIN over 15 years, contributing to the Christmas Secret Angels, or working in the food pantry, and recently serving on the Board of Directors. As a community "member-at-large" I have requested donations at Community Council meetings and consistently received with very generous donations and people volunteering. CAIN is immensely respected in our neighborhood, as an organization that contributes to the well-being of the entire neighborhood, not only the guests who utilize the pantry. CAIN is known as the organization in our diverse community where neighbors can directly assist and impact the wellfare of people living right here. The accomplishment this year, of CAIN organizing the use of EBT cards at the Northside Farmer's Market, supports the market overall and the farmers who bring produce to sell locally. These same vendors generously donate produce at the end of the market time, to CAIN, for the following morning at the pantry. Annually CAIN organizes a very popular neighborhood-wide garage sale, providing a map guiding shoppers to all homes/locations participating. CAIN's active presence in Northside directly connects neighbors with neighbors who might otherwise remain strangers , due to cultural or socioeconomic differences. CAIN builds community!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 23, 2014

more

October 23, 2014

CAIN is a true neighborhood ministry. It is a place where neighbors take care of neighbors with respect and dignity. It is a place that is supported by the neighborhood of Northside. It is a place where people feel welcome right away.
October 23, 2014

more

October 23, 2014

CAIN has become a second home to me! I love the relationships that are able to develop between the volunteers and the guests. It's very authentic, and welcoming! As a student I enjoyed working here because it gave me something to look forward to everyday I came to work. This place is amazing!!

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Shop with guests, serve food and re-stock pantry shelves.