Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
96 Reviews
1234.979175
Previous | 1 2 3...9 |
Write A Review
November 12, 2013

more

November 12, 2013

After interning here all summer, I've really learned a lot about the inner workings of a nonprofit. The way volunteers and guests are treated is unmatched in my experience with food pantries. The respect given to guests who might be bearing shame or guilt by using this resource is refreshing and inspiring. As a whole, the leadership at CAIN is full of respect, compassion and a deep love for the Northside community.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 28, 2013

more


1 previous review
January 14, 2010

I've watched CAIN grow in it's impact on the people it serves, the churches who provide the backbone of support for CAIN and the community over the past 15 years. CAIN's success has come from the can... more

September 28, 2013

CAIN makes an amazing difference in the lives of many people, not just guests who come there for services, but volunteers from churches, school groups, and the neighborhood. CAIN is an outstanding example and advocate for the Beloved Community.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

January 14, 2010

I've watched CAIN grow in it's impact on the people it serves, the churches who provide the backbone of support for CAIN and the community over the past 15 years. CAIN's success has come from the can-do, God-trusting, people-loving character of its leadership.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

the way it has served the local church and nurtured partnership among churches.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

More feedback...

What I've enjoyed the most about my experience with this nonprofit is...

watching it grow almost every year and respond faithfully and creatively to every new challenge and need.

The kinds of staff and volunteers that I met were...

putting real hands and feet to the love of Christ.

Ways to make it better...

I had more time to spend personally volunteering.

In my opinion, the biggest challenges facing this organization are...

breaking through the barrier from simply providing emergency assistance to empowering people to improve their life situations.

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

About every month

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

September 28, 2013

more

September 28, 2013

I learned about CAIN when I attended a church in Northside. I have been a volunteer and a donor there. I admire their contribution to the community by helping those in need. I support their mission and feel that CAIN is a vital outreach. As quoted in scripture, "Each one should use whatever gift he has received to serve others, faithfully administering God's grace in its various forms', CAIN's mercy and love towards the people that they service exemplifies God's beauty by touching one hand and one life at a time. Praises to the leadership, the staff and the volunteers that continue to make it happen at CAIN.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I believe the organization is doing a great job, and I do not know of any changes needed at this time.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 26, 2013

more


1 previous review
October 18, 2012

Clients are treated with great respect and every effort is made to help with needs - not only the "basics" but individual needs that we all take for granted - a pair of warm slippers, an umbrella or a... more

September 26, 2013

CAIN, above all, respects and honors the guests who need their services. Everyone is treated with dignity and friendliness and every effort is made to meet the needs of the people who ask for assistance. "Lucy" came into the food pantry quietly, shyly and obviously embarrassed that she "had to ask for help". By the time she left she was showing pictures of her 2 grandkids and smiling. The mission of CAIN embraces the concept of loving our neighbor and that is demonstrated everyday at CAIN.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 18, 2012

Clients are treated with great respect and every effort is made to help with needs - not only the "basics" but individual needs that we all take for granted - a pair of warm slippers, an umbrella or a knit hat for winter.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 25, 2013

more

September 25, 2013

I have been a volunteer and a donor, and always my experience at CAIN has been wonderful! Volunteering opportunities are well organized and everyone has fun. As a donor, I get frequent, but informative and creative, email updates. I always know what's going on at CAIN, and feel like they are making a real difference to many, many people.

Thant's my review! Go CAIN!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 25, 2013

more

September 25, 2013

CAIN has been an important part of my life since 2005. The staff are incredibly understanding, supportive and dedicated, but equally important are the hardworking volunteers. CAIN is an organization that welcomes anyone who needs a little extra help with open arms. One of the biggest testaments to how wonderful CAIN is the amount of volunteers who benefited from the support of CAIN.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Provide even more produce and a larger selection of personal hygiene products, but that is more of a general wish for a better economy and more generous donors.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 25, 2013

more

September 25, 2013

We have volunteered in the past. Now we are only able to help with donations. All of the staff at Cain are top notch. They are always friendly and so grateful for any donations. But most importantly, they care deeply about their clients. Cain runs very smoothly with dedicated employees and volunteers. Cindy and Denny Bosse

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 25, 2013

more


1 previous review
October 29, 2012

CAIN is such a great place. People who need services are treated personally and warmly. They are guests not clients. Hospitality is an important aspect of CAIN. I love working there. more

September 25, 2013

CAIN is a wonderful place. The volunteers and staff are great. clients are called and are greeted as guests. Hospitality is very important at CAIN. I love volunteering there.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 29, 2012

CAIN is such a great place. People who need services are treated personally and warmly. They are guests not clients. Hospitality is an important aspect of CAIN. I love working there.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 25, 2013

more


1 previous review
November 27, 2010

I have been on both sides of this agencies help. I have been served by this agency when my family was in need of assisitance. Now I am able to help those who come to CAIN feel a little of the love and... more

September 25, 2013

I have been a guest served by CAIN as well as a volunteer and a general member of the public. I now have the privilege to be a donor and give back to an agency that has helped me in the past.

CAIN makes a difference in the life of the community with each guest that is served.
Serving
the guests with a choice pantry gives the guest the best experience and allows each person choices available to them according to their medical and dietary needs.

It is my pleasure to give to an agency who gives dignity to each person who they serve. You can tell that the volunteer love giving of their time and serving the people who come to get needed food, diapers and other baby items as well as household and hygiene products. Many of these things may not be purchased with their food stamps.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I pray that more people would give more finances. They would be able to do more than their resources allow now. More help with rent and utility and resources for children's basic needs.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 27, 2010

I have been on both sides of this agencies help. I have been served by this agency when my family was in need of assisitance. Now I am able to help those who come to CAIN feel a little of the love and grace that was shown to me. One of my favorite things to do is to recycle old tee shirts into bags to let the guest carry home some of their food in a recycled tee shirt bag. They seem to appreciate the bag and many have said oh I can do that (and a few do bring in a few tfor me to give away.) They have been glad to give back. I also like it when the guest asks when can they come to volunteer and I can tell them someone will call you on the next voluntter day.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Being helped years ago when we my family were in need of help. Have seen how this agency goes the distance when the rescources are low but the needs of the community keep increasing.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Try to find donations to offset the expences of serving so many households and running out of much needed items. I wish we could find connections to large companies who have damaged or overflow products to share. Especially in the household and hygiene area of our choice pantry. It's hard to say to someone we don't have what they need to keep yourself clean or do your laundry.

September 25, 2013

more

September 25, 2013

Apartment Association Outreach, Inc. is a partner with CAIN (Churches Active in Northside) financials donations to provide rent assistance to those who need a bridge over a tough patch as a one time payment directly to the landlord. Housing stability increases the stability for families and individuals. AAO also provides food donations to the pantry. We appreciate this partnership so much we showcase CAIN in a video about the work of the Outreach on our website www.gcnkoutreach.org, select the About Us tab and click the arrow to view.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Help CAIN grow with more donations as they are doing a great work in their community. It would be wonderful to clone their model in other communities.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 3...9 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Shop with guests, serve food and re-stock pantry shelves.