Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
16 Reviews
12345
Write A Review
August 2, 2014

more

August 2, 2014

When our daughter was diagnosed the only people that really knew anything
About her genetic anomaly was the Chromosome 18 Registy and Research organization.
There we are not alone. There we get to meet other families who live with this on a day to day
Basis as we do. And as for
treatments...., the only way there will ever be a treatment for the syndrome
My daughter has will come from the Chromodome 18 Registry and Research Organization. We went to
The conference this year and it was supportive and informative as well as fun. Literally these people
Are some of the only people that can empathize how you are feeling. An excellent organization.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Get it more publicity so that they can be better known and well funded.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 31, 2014

more

July 31, 2014

I have been a volunteer for this organization for 7 years now and it gets better every year!

Every summer, they have a family conference that is nothing short of awesome! We live in a time of high technology this and high definition that, but there is no technology out there that compares
to the friendships you make and the personal one on one relationships that you get to witness one on one!

I still remember being blown away watching the siblings in the first 2 hours of my first conference knowing that they are gonna grow up to be some of the most empathetic and compassionate adults you would ever want to know and after 7 years, I am here to tell you that I was correct!!!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Focus on getting more exposure.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 31, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
October 14, 2013

We were introduced to The Registry a little over 4-years ago. Shortly after our daughter was born, we learned she had a chromosome variation called Ring 18. At the time, we were told there were abou... more

July 31, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

A few weeks ago, we attended our third Family Conference. It's so nice to be able to meet others face-to-face that are walking the same path! The Registry has given us much needed support and guidance and introduced us to many wonderful families. We have participated in the ongoing research because we know it will help others who will travel this path in the future. The work done by Research Society helps not only those of us affected by Chromosome 18 variations but can help innumerable others, as well, because understanding what genes do, is important to everyone.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Provide funding to enable a farther reach.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 14, 2013

We were introduced to The Registry a little over 4-years ago. Shortly after our daughter was born, we learned she had a chromosome variation called Ring 18. At the time, we were told there were about 250 known cases in the world. To say we were overwhelmed, is an understatement.

Fortunately, our geneticist put us in touch with the Chromosome 18 Registry and Research Society. We were given HOPE for our daughter and her future. It’s not easy raising a child with complex medical needs and “designer genes”. We found support and education from The Registry and comfort and friendship from the Chromosome 18 families that walk this road with us.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

give them more funding to help raise awareness. Chromosome 18 variations may not effect as many people as other conditions but the research done at The Chromosome 18 Registry can help others by determining which genes are responsible for different conditions.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 16, 2013

more

October 16, 2013

My daughter was not diagnosed with 18p- syndrome until she was 6 1/2 years old. After the diagnosis, there was no support and very little information provided by the local medical community due to the rarity of the disorder. When I found the Chromosome 18 Registry and Research Society I finally was provided with information, understanding, guidance, and support. There are no guidebooks for parents who are raising children with chromosome 18 abnormalities. The Registry fills this void by conducting research and studies on health and behavioral issues of its affected members. Registry leadership stays in touch with its membership and is on the cutting edge of genetic research designed to improve the lives of those impacted by this disorder. After feeling totally isolated and alone for almost 4 years following my daughter's diagnosis, I was finally able to speak with medical professionals and other parents who readily shared their knowledge and experience with me. The Registry won't make the national news like nonprofits who assist with disaster recovery or homeless prevention but their work is just as important because they are enhancing the lives of countless individuals and perhaps one day their research will result in the eradication of chromosome abnormalities.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Ensure adequate funding for their numerous research projects.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 15, 2013

more

October 15, 2013

The Chromosome 18 Registry is a genuine grass roots organization that has been supporting our family in many ways for almost 20 years. They are our number 1 source for medical information and research and have become the support network we turn to when we need another family with which to talk.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 15, 2013

more

October 15, 2013

the registry has been with us since the beginning and has always been a great resource and brought us much comfort. We have attended many conferences and made many friends. This rare disorder can leave you feeling alone and confused and the other families really help you feel normal. Here it ok to be us.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

have the conferences more often and closer to my house.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 15, 2013

more

October 15, 2013

We were devastated receiving our baby girl's dx of 18p-.....our geneticist was not all that familiar with the sydrome but recommended that we contact the Chrom 18 Registry. Almost 12 years later they are still our #1 place for information about our daughter's syndrome and for support. Love this org !

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 14, 2013

more

October 14, 2013

I have volunteered for several years, helping with the annual golf tournament, the annual family conference, and with smaller projects to help wherever I could be of service. This organization is a blessing to the many worldwide families it serves. It is a lighthouse in a storm of confusion and anxiety when a parent receives a diagnosis involving a Chromosome 18 anomaly in their child. More important, they are a strong support group consisting of doctors, researchers, parents, affected adults and children, relatives, and the community that strive together to educate themselves and others in their communities, and find ways to help those affected lead lives to their full potential. This organization exists on a shoestring budget, yet is doing so many amazing and wonderful things in supporting their members and making strides in research.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Figure out how to get it to the top of the list for government grants or other significant sources of funding for their research projects.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 14, 2013

more

October 14, 2013

My son was diagnosed with a chromosome 18q abnormality almost 3 years ago. At 5 years old, he's doing much more than anyone ever expected him to be. He's writing his own book - and with the amazing help and efforts from the Chromosome 18 Registry and Research Society, we are able to help him grow, learn, and become the strong little man he's intended to be.
We attended the our first Ch18 conference this last summer and felt very welcome. Since then, I've been in contact with the Ch18 team for medical advice I've needed as we're looking at more surgeries. The doctors and professionals on and supporting the team and board are absolutely amazing!!! I don't know what I would have done had there not been a place to go to help me with those answers...because they seem to have them all! THANK YOU!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 14, 2013

more

October 14, 2013

Chromosome 18 is such an awesome organization that the long days and hard work just fly by and it doesn't seem like hard work at all. I believe the reason why is that when we get together as a group-whether its for the annual conference or the annual golf tournament-everybody benefits. The parents with the newly diagnosed babies find a new family of parents that have been where they are and as such, form lifelong friendships. The kids and adults that have the chromosome differences meet peoplei in all stages of life that they can look up to and mentor. The siblings find other siblings with the same issues related to having a sibling with a chromosome abnormality. The caregivers,cousins,grand parents,aunts and uncles and the adoptive parents all benefit because The Chromosome 18 Registry and Research Society is a family! In fact, 'We Are Family' is our theme song.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers