Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
35 Reviews
12345
Write A Review
October 31, 2013

more

October 31, 2013

My then eight year old daughter was diagnosed with rhabdomyosarcoma in May of 2008. Part of her treatment required radiation and her doctors at CHOP recommended proton therapy. At that time the closest facility offering proton therapy was Mass General.

Christopher'sHaven was a godsend to
us for our six week stay in Boston during treatment. Despite being in Boston for obviously a traumatic reason, Chistopher's Haven made our stay otherwise a great experience.

Fast forward five years and my daughter is a happy healthy 13 year old today. We think of Boston as our second home and love the city. Thank you Christopher's Haven for being there for my family.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2008

October 30, 2013

more

October 30, 2013

When my four year old son was diagnosed with a rare cancer, we decided to travel thousands of miles away from our home, job, family, and friends to give him the best possible care. When we first arrived in Boston, we spent a couple of nights in a hotel. When my son's nurse asked him if there was anything she could get for him he candidly replied, "dishes." He told her his new house did not have dishes. She smiled and called Christopher's Haven. Alone and in an unfamiliar city, the staff at Christopher's Haven welcomed us as family. My son was so happy there. He became the "superhero" that ran up and down the hall welcoming other families and visitors. He was able make new friends, and I was able to talk to other moms and dads that were going through difficult times as well. We became more than friends. We were sad when we had to leave. My son often asks, "when are we going back home to "our" apartment in Boston?" We had a wonderful experience at Christopher's Haven. The staff made a difficult time much easier for us.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 30, 2013

more

October 30, 2013

My 4 year old has a recurrence of her cancer. She was originally diagnosed at age 3 and was treated at MGH. We stayed at Christopher's Haven in the summer of 2012 and they welcomed us back just this passed month to begin her second round of radiation. We have a beautiful apartment across the street from the hospital. The week day are busy with treatment for my sweet girl and we can quickly be home and play or rest as needed. In the weekend there is enough room to welcome my husband and second daughter.

This kind of a stay in this neighborhood would be cost prohibitive to my family. That is to say that My 4 year old would not be able to do this specific treatment if we could not afford a place to stay. Christopher's Haven makes it finically possible for my family to get the treatment we need. But, This place offers so much more then finicial support.

This place is nicely decorated with space to rest an play. The volunteers, interns and staff are here to serve us in so many ways. This place is run on compassion, kindness and generosity. I am humbled and grateful for the time this has given me to spend with my daughter.

I would recommend this to anyone. It has been a life saving organization for us.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I wish it was endowed financially.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 30, 2013

more

October 30, 2013

We are grateful to the MGH and Christopher's Haven for making us fell we are at home. We stay from Jan 2013 until March 2013, and we felt loved . Absolute best place to stay to help family like us when coming from Miami area.

Love you Guys .
Bell Family

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 30, 2013

more

October 30, 2013

I am currently staying at Christopher's Haven with my twelve year old daughter who was diagnosed six month ago with Adenoid Cystic Carcinoma of the Lacrimal Gland. This was a very scary diagnosis, I suppose cancer is always a scary diagnosis but we could not find any children with this particular rare type of cancer. Then we found another girl from Florida and spoke to her mother who told us of Dr. Liebsch at MASS General and also about Christopher's Haven. Thank god that she did. Both Dr. Liebsch and Christopher's Haven have been a godsend! During previous visits CH was full and we stayed at a local hotel. Staying at a hotel for a long period of time not only costs a fortune but is soul destroying. CH is a home from home, such a cosy apartment kitted out with everything you could need, and only steps from the hospital. And having the loft is a great advantage, you can join whenever you want, or not. In a difficult situation, it makes the accommodation part so easy. Also there is a comfort in being with people who are going through a similar experience. We are very grateful to Christopher's Haven.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

The only thing I would do is have more Christopher's Havens so more families could have this experience.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 30, 2013

more

October 30, 2013

Feeling at home while caring for your child 300 miles away from "home" is a difficult task. Christopher's Haven offered us so much and more than we could have ever asked for! We are so grateful to their organization and everyone that helps in supporting it.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

October 30, 2013

more

October 30, 2013

I am very grateful to the MGH Proton Team for recommending Christopher's Haven.

Without a doubt, the absolute best place to stay!

A wealth of truly wonderful people who provided much more than 'a home away from home' during an extremely difficult time in our
lives.

Whatever happens, no one can take away our truly wonderful memories that we gained
while staying at Christopher's Haven.

We love Boston! Go Red Sox!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 30, 2013

more

October 30, 2013

Wonderful, supportive place to stay this summer during our son's treatment at Mass General.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Publicize the great work that they are doing.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 30, 2013

more

October 30, 2013

My son was diagnosed at 15 months with brain cancer. The best treatment for him, after his surgery, was proton beam radiation, and there was no proton beam within easy travel distance of my apartment.

MGH has the most experience in the country with pediatric proton beam radiation, so I
made the decision to take my twin toddlers and myself to Boston. I had initially planned to stay at a friend's place or rent an apartment or do something, when a cousin mentioned Christopher's Haven.

Christopher's Haven provided us a place to stay that was so close to the hospital that I could roll my NPO child out of bed and be at the hospital in minutes every morning, minimizing the time my son was awake and not fed. The apartment they provided was beautifully decorated, with robust furniture to survive twin toddlers, but homey and cheerful feeling. The playroom / gathering area down the hall provided a great place for the kids to play, and to meet and commiserate with the other parents of kids with proton-beam requiring cancers. They were friendly, helpful, and provided pointers, coupons and entrance to a number of activities in the Boston area as well.

I feel lucky and blessed that we were offered space at Christopher's Haven for the duration of my son's radiation.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 30, 2013

more


1 previous review
April 18, 2011

Our family stayed at Christopher's Haven in 2009 while my son received proton radiation for a malignant brain tumor. They gave us a beautiful place to stay that we could afford and allowed us to have... more

October 30, 2013

In 2009 my son was diagnosed wit ha brain tumor. We had to move 100's of miles away from our home for 6 weeks so he could get a special type of radiation. We are so blessed that we ended up at Christopher's Haven. I could never say enough good things about our experience there. It was like living among family eventhough ours were miles away. They helped make a very difficult time in our life a little easier. We love it there and I recommend it to everyone who is in a similar situation.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

want them to have more apartments so they can help more families.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

April 18, 2011

Our family stayed at Christopher's Haven in 2009 while my son received proton radiation for a malignant brain tumor. They gave us a beautiful place to stay that we could afford and allowed us to have a relaxing "home away from home" close enough to the hospital that we could walk there. While we were there they had two gatherings, where we met the director and the owner, along with several activities for the kids. It was definitely a "home away from home" complete with a caring, supportive family to go with it. I would (and do) highly recommend Christopher's Haven to anyone receiving proton treatment at MGH.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

2009 when our family stayed there.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

like to see more apartments so that other families have the same opportunity we did. Many families who we met at radiation were unable to get an apartment because they were all full and ended up staying across town or at a hotel which is much more expensive.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

How did you find this group?

Through the social worker at the hospital.

What, if any, change in your life has this group encouraged?

They gave us peace during a very difficult time in our life.

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

2 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Volunteer