Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
10 Reviews
1234.95
Previous | Next
Write A Review
December 1, 2012

more

December 1, 2012

This is a great charity that serves the needy every Christmas and now even during the year. I am proud to be the grandson of the man who takes the part of Santa Claus every Christmas. I have been volunteering my Christmas Day and the weeks before it since I was about 10 years old and actually able to help. We do a variety of things to put these meals together for 15,000+ people such as putting corn into cups and slicing ham. Every year I have a lot of fun helping. I have helped my grandpa deliver soup during the year to different places which I think is the same thing as helping on Christmas because you still have the good feeling of helping somebody in need. Every year the day after Christmas I miss helping and I feel like I need to help feed people in need more often.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 30, 2012

more

November 30, 2012

I am proud to say that I have been a donor to Christmas cheer. This organization has provided meals on Christmas day to those less fortunate than the rest of us. The organizers and their volunteers selflessly donate their time, energy and Christmas morning to this most worthy cause.If anyone is interested in making a difference in the life of someone less fortunate, please consider Christmas Cheer. I've been blessed to be a part of this wonderful organization. God Bless them.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 30, 2012

more

November 30, 2012

My husband and I have worked with Christmas Cheer, as part of the core group, for at least the last 10 years. We continue our work with this group because 100% of everything is for the recipients. EVERYTHING is collected, and delivered by volunteers in the spirit of giving to needy and/or seniors, who are lonely on one of the most blessed days of the year. Yes, we work very hard in the weeks before and especially on that day, but we are blessed because we CAN do it, for these very special people. Phil and Lucy are the two people who inspire us to continue working and to spread the name of Christmas Cheer so that others become aware of the good things this group does year after year.
Diane & Cecil Goubeaux

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 30, 2012

more

November 30, 2012

This is a great organization. Individuals involved do this out of love and look for no personal recogniztion. While needed food is provided to families, the joy of serving others is received by those who do the serving. This is an group that is a win win for all involved. I could not see my Christmas season without Christmas Cheer being a part of it.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 30, 2012

more

November 30, 2012

Years ago this foundation started with one man's generosity, passion and selflessness. Phil Calabrese took this foundation from a couple hundred fresh hot boxed meals and hand delivered these meals to people less fortunate than himself. As the years went by the need for more meals became so great. He and his partner Lucille Dalbis have taken this foundation to a WHOPPING 15,000 prepared christmas meals and delivers them to the less fortunate people of Chicagoland. This is not the only thing they do, they also have toy and book drives for the children in these families. The love and passion that these two individuals put forth all year round just to prepare for this one morning a year is beyond comprehension. I have felt blessed to have been touched by these two very giving individuals. Christmas Cheer not only fills the bellies of the needy but fills the hearts of all who volunteer for them.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

November 30, 2012

more

November 30, 2012

Christmas Cheer not only helps those individuals with the need of a dinner and some warm holiday wishes it gives families hope that there is goodness in the community that surrounds them, and that there are people that truly care. The only reward the volunteers get is the personal feeling that they have put smiles on small childrens faces, a meal on their table and the satisfaction of knowing that for that blessed day a family in need has been helped. The organization is infectious, once you have helped or once you have told a friend about it you and they are hooked.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

November 30, 2012

more

November 30, 2012

This foundation is amazing for both the individuals and families that receive service, but also for all the volunteers that give their time and heart for the mission. On Christmas day while the meals are being created and the delivery routes are being distributed, this is much LOVE in the air. Entire families come to help and I've heard them say that this charity gives them an opportunity to feel the true meaning of Christmas. I am truely blessed to have the opportunity to volunteer with people that have such open hearted concern and love for people. Thanks Phil, you created all this!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 30, 2012

more

November 30, 2012

This organization is awfully important to individuals and families in the western suburbs of Chicago. It spreads cheer on the "a most important day" to people who may have been forgotten: the elderly, the poor, the lonely. A nice meal and a small gift for a child means "we care." I was excited by the energy generated by everyone involved. On Christmas morning, the place is like a happy beehive. I was glad to be part of it and will be a part of it every year.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 30, 2012

more

November 30, 2012

This charity is the only charity that works on Christmas Day to delivery foode to over 16,000 homes. 500 people volunteer to deliver meals on Christmas morning. This charity serves not only the people that need food, but the people that want to serve. All donations - everyone is a volunteer. All children receive books and beanie babies with their gift wrapped and their name on it.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of advisors?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 27, 2012

more

Review from Guidestar
August 27, 2012

This charity uses more of its donated monies and gifts in kind for its food programs than any other I have worked with. This is a selfless group of individuals, without ego or agenda that exceeds all expectations. One man's vision, Phil Calabrese has turned into amassive outpouring of people, many of whom spend their christams morning feeding the poor of the Chicago area.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers