Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
24 Reviews
123.12545
Previous | Next
Write A Review
June 4, 2013
6 people found this review helpful

more

June 4, 2013
6 people found this review helpful

I can tell you that I am offended by the mailers, especially when they have coins glued in them....what a waste of resources! Am I'm sorry but G Adams getting over $171k per year to run a CHARITY? ....that's just plain sick! CHRISTIAN App should remember the scripture that says 'anyone who leads one of these little ones astray...it is better to have a stone around his neck and dropped into the depth of the ocean than to experience the wrath of God. You're greed has become your focus just like every other company in America....and you will pay for it.....

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Fire everyone and get nuns and volunteers to run it.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unlikely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 24, 2013
12 people found this review helpful

more

May 24, 2013
12 people found this review helpful

This is the third time I erite the review -your website knocked me off twice.
We know Cap for 25 plus years. Father Beitng was in charge. Cap had an asssociated busine4ss selling Xmas wreaths. We gladly gave to the organization helping the poor of Appalachia. Thedn after some years Father
Beiting was out (Did he die I never heard of it) Now there was a Charity BUSINESS with all the consumer trimmings. We asked to reduce the mail and stop phone calls. On Nov. 18 2011 I sent a registered letter to Sue Sword to stop our association. Mailings continued -2 letters at a time- ever since. The letters went iinto the fire -unopened. I feel responsible for the donors, now; they need to know how their money is wasted. I feel mre sorry for the charity recipients -there is so much more they could get with a decent administration.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Have a true Christian Business man or woman reorganize Father Beitings charity -in his spirit. Remember that the 2 most important factions are the recipients of the charity and also their donors. Treating either group the wrong way will kill the "business" Ignoring either group is fatal.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

April 6, 2013

more

April 6, 2013

Great organization that helps an area of Kentucky in great need!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

January 1, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
January 1, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

I don't know if I would qualify under emerson1966's criteria as an expert, but I have been a consistent donor since 1985 and serve on the Board of Trustees for a regional non-fo-profit dedicated to welfare of senior citizens, am Secretary and member of the Executive, Finance and Co-Chair of the Employee/Volunteer Complaints Committee. I also own two private businesses.

If you dig into the data Charity Navigator, Christian Appalachian Project scores very well for a small to medium sized charity. Their percentages of revenues spent on administration and promotions (for donations) are relatively low - a very good sign. They also score highly on transparency, another key variable prospective donors should review. They should be commended, not criticized for substituting volunteers for paid employees - it gives you a much larger "bang for the buck."

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 22, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
August 22, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

I just cannot say enough positive things about CAP. Very impressed with how funds are used to help the poor. This is a grass roots, on the front lines type organization. Take a trip and see their operation in eastern Kentucky and you'll feel good about your donation, just like I did.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 18, 2012
8 people found this review helpful

more

May 18, 2012
8 people found this review helpful

I was born in KY and know the problems there. As a Christian I felt it was a wonderful cause. Like others I have been concerned with the excessive solicitation letters I received. They appear to be declining under the new director. I hope so. The practice of sending excessive solicitations is not just a waste of funds but has caused me (and others) to stop donating. They must become more responsive and respectful toward their donors.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Make it more responsive to donor requests e.g. stop sending so many requests for donations. This is money that could be used elsewhere.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unsure

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Likely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 31, 2011
19 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
October 31, 2011
19 people found this review helpful

I chose to donate to this organization because back in April of 2011 they had a reasonable overall score of 58.37 with administrative expenses of 3.6. I asked at that time, that they not solicit me further and I would give on my own schedule. Since then, I have been receiving solicitations at least twice a month. This is a worthwhile charity and many, many poor in Appalachia need their help. However, it bothers me that the past president continues to draw a salary of $71,532. I realize it takes qualified people to run an organization like this, but the salaries of the exec.VP ($93,687) and controller/ treasurer ($82,532) seem like a lot considering the needs of those they claim to serve.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Ask donors how often they wish to be solicited and then follow their request. A lot of money could be saved on printing and postage!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unsure

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Unlikely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Unlikely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

What specific problem, purpose, priority, or project prompted your gift?

The plight of the Appalachian poor

Why did you make your donation at this time?

God has blessed me and I want to help others

What would you tell others about this organization?

Check them out thoroughly and if you agree with their fundraising expenses and continual solicitation AND their rather high executive compensation, then give.

June 2, 2011
13 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
June 2, 2011
13 people found this review helpful

After requesting that I receive fewer fund raising requests in the mail, I continue to receive two or three requests a WEEK from CAP. I will continue to donate on my own schedule. It's a shame they didn't honor my request. That being said, I believe in their mission, and think they are doing good.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

no way. I am a donor who lives in WA.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

heed donor's requests.

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers