Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
25 Reviews
123.0445
Write A Review
April 6, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 6, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I have been a board member since 2005 and have seen first hand what a wonderful program the Christian Appalachian Project (CAP) has developed. They are a service based organization that tries to strengthen the people of Appalachia and help them find a way out of poverty. I have served on the Development Committee as well as currently serving as the chairperson of the Program Committee and have seen the kindness of our employees and their willingness to help those in need. One of my favorite programs is our alternative spring break Work Fest , which benefits people whose homes have fallen into disrepair. How wonderful to teach college students to help those less fortunate. It has been a privilege to be associated with this organization.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 6, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

April 6, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

I have been a Board Member for 8 years, have chaired the Personnel Committee, been Board chair for 3 years. I also assisted with upgrading the camp facilities and volunteer housing. CAP has continuously reviewd its mission, and strives to provide the maximum impact on people in need for the funds they receive. They look at the whole of hte person and their situation including the family. If the child has needs, they also look at the housing as this child cannot do good work in a poor environment. CAP continuously evaluates the needs of the area and adopts to those needs.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 5, 2013
4 people found this review helpful

more

April 5, 2013
4 people found this review helpful

I have been a board member for over ten years. I have served on the finance and audit committees during that time. I have also participated in Workfest, and I have visited other operations. I can say the people of CAP are honest, hard-working, and devoted to serving the people of Appalachia. The legacy of Fr. Beiting is strong in that CAP works to serve the needs of of the poor many ways. We recently decided to focus on development of Appalachian children through their families, while maintainingg service to the elderly.
I have seen CAP lead college students to change houses that were virtually unlivable into decent homes. I can also tell you that the board is conscientious about ensuring donor money is well spent in accordance with our mission. CAP does invest in fund-raising because the environment for charitable giving is very competitive, but the money that is raised is well-spent.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

February 21, 2013
8 people found this review helpful

more

February 21, 2013
8 people found this review helpful

In the interest of full disclosure, I am the president/CEO of Christian Appalachian Project (CAP) and a Board member. My purpose in posting a review is to address both reviews posted on 1-9-13.

First, in the review written by gfawkes1151916, it states that our website is misleading because
we list a respite care program, when we no longer have one. This is false. We no longer have a residential respite program, however, CAP continues to provide respite care through an in-home respite program with three full-time employees who travel extensively to help meet the needs of families and individuals providing care to disabled loved ones. We provide up to 5 hours of relief at a time to allow individuals the opportunity to take a break and to do what they need to do.

Second, LaPointe implied that our founder, Reverend Beiting, would not be pleased with CAP in recent years. To my knowledge, until his death on August 9, 2012, he was very proud that CAP's mission continued to make a difference for people in need in Appalachia. It was a blessing to me to have served CAP with him for 3 1/2 years from 1982 - 1985. When I was asked to return to CAP in February 2010, I did so with a strong sense of keeping Reverend Beiting's legacy strong because the challenges of people in need in Appalachia continue to be great.

CAP is a transparent organization. Our IRS Form 990 is accessible on our website. Anyone with questions can visit us any time, scheduled or unscheduled, to see firsthand how we operate. We have nothing to hide. Should anyone want to call us to have questions answered, please call (859) 269-0635. May God bless you, Guy

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers