Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
23 Reviews
123.0434845
Previous | Next
Write A Review
January 2, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

January 2, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Having quickly read the reviews what is most telling is the $171,000 salary for the Mr Adams, and
the high % of reviews from Board Members???? .... sorry my money is going to the Salvation Army where I
understand that a high % of my dollar actually goes to the people who need it.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Hire a person who is willing to take a lower salary.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Some

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 18, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

September 18, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

I To Have Been Pushed Away By The Frequent Solicitations For Donations In The Mail. What A Waste! What Jumps Out At Me Reading These Reviews Is The Overwhelming Number Of Over-Paid Executives Having To Write 5-Star Reviews To Defend Their Charitable Organization...And It Still Only Bringing It Up To A 3-Star Overall Rating. How Sad. The Wonderful, Kind-Hearted, Giving Appellation People Deserve Better Advocates!!! I'm Sure If Someone Took The Time To Add Up All The Money Spent Directly To Help The Appalachian People Under The New Administration And Compared The Total To The Money Spent On The Organization (Salaries, Overhead, DirectMail, Publicity, Etc.), The Organization Would Prove To Be the Greatest beneficiaries Of Our Hard-Earned Donations Of Late! ShameOnYou!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

EliminateWaste, IncreaseBenefitToTheAssociationPeople, CleanHouseAdministratively,HirePeopleThatConsiderTheJobALaborOfLoveAndAPrivilegeInsteadOfAStatus-BoostingPosition

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

March 19, 2013
19 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
March 19, 2013
19 people found this review helpful

In May of 2010 my Father In Law passed away and my wife and I moved back in with his widow, my wife's Mother, to care for her since she's in her late eighties and has senile dementia and severe hearing loss. We inherited a mess. My mother in law was donating money to multiple charities and was a member of thirty plus book clubs. Most, if not all, of those book clubs continued delivering books to the address and a mountain of debt was incurred. My Mother In Law didn't remember ordering them, and thought they were gifts.

In the category of charities, Christian Appalachian Project was one of many, and it was sending multiple requests for money in two different names at the same address. Both addressed to the Mother In Law. Since May of 2010, both my wife and I have called the Lexington Office to remove the address from the mailing list, Mom obsesses that she should do the Christian thing and donate money to the charity. And it goes on for days. Early on we learned to hide the contacts from CAP. We can do that since we're her guardians in the home. We've also e-mailed CAP, and made numerous contacts on Facebook. Still, the contacts come.

Recently I gave up. I got tired of hearing the same excuse repeatedly from the people at CAP, especially Phyllis Caudill. So, I submitted our evidence and filed a complaint with the Indiana Attorney General's Office, and after a short period, CAP through Phyllis Caudill responded to the mediation with the IAG. Glaring omissions notwithstanding, we were assured we wouldn't receive anymore contacts. Since that letter from the IAG, CAP has contacted us through the mail twice in two consecutive months.

I have serious doubts about the legitimacy of this group. I get angry when I think of anyone trying to ask for money from an 89 year old woman who can't hear well even with hearing aides, and has senile dementia.

It's been twenty months. Enough is enough already. If it goes a full two calendar years, I'm seeing a lawyer about harassment.

Luke 20:47
English Standard Version (ESV)
47 "who devour widows' houses and for a pretense make long prayers. They will receive the greater condemnation.”

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

January 9, 2013
4 people found this review helpful

more

January 9, 2013
4 people found this review helpful

Mr. Patton states CAP scores highly on transparency, and I'm sure he is referring to finances; however transparency indicates honesty and truthfulness. As of today, CAP's website- under the heading "Who We Serve" and "Disabled" they list Respite services. They closed this program and terminated the employees quite some time ago. This type of misrepresentation happened when CAP closed down their Adult Education programs. Years after the programs had been closed, they were still being advertised on their website as services CAP was offering the area.
And, I am not surprised Mr. Patton promotes himself as a businessman. "More bang for your buck" is a very businesslike attitude - but not one that should necessarily be associated with a "Christian Nonprofit." I'm sure to a businessperson, outsourcing American jobs to China, India, and Pakistan gives you more bang for your buck. I would think a Christian nonprofit should be more concerned with their mission statement of assisting those who are needy in Appalachia. CAP employees that have lost their jobs, I'm sure, do not see it as more bang for the buck.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A little

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

December 20, 2012
5 people found this review helpful

more

December 20, 2012
5 people found this review helpful

It is very interesting that no reviews are from experts, clients, advisers, or board members! It indicates that emerson1916 may have an inside view of the operation having volunteered in the administrative offices. I was going to donate to this organisation because I BELIEVE WE AS A COUNTRY WE SHOULD HELP THE DISADVANTAGED IN THIS COUNTRY BEFORE WE HELP EVERY POOR COUNTRY IN THE WORLD, but am not now because looking at the financials the is a reserve ? of 1.4 million dollars that is not shown! Admin and fund raising costs must be enormous! Choices for volunteer & donor should be severed, one might volunteer to get an inside look at the organizations workings!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Some

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 25, 2012
11 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
April 25, 2012
11 people found this review helpful

I received my first solicitation from this organization yesterday and the outside of the envelope said "check enclosed." Sure enough, there was a $2.00 check enclosed. This was an obvious gimmick that I find to be offensive and a potential waste of money. For this reason alone, I will not give to this organization. Moreover, I've recently been flooded with solicitations from various organizations and I'm just getting tired of it. Obviously, I gave to some organization that gave/sold my information. From my perspective, charities would do well to avoid gimmicks, overly emotional appeals and supplementing their income by selling their contributors' contact information.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Stop wasting money with checks to potential donors and other gimmicks.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Some

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

How did you learn about this organization?

Mail with a gimmicky / money-wasting check enclosed.

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers