Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
23 Reviews
123.0434845
Previous | Next
Write A Review
March 7, 2013
4 people found this review helpful

more

March 7, 2013
4 people found this review helpful

I have volunteered and continue to do so on a short term basis, in Housing, typically spending 5 months a year with them since 2009. CAP is an excellent organization to volunteer with, and has a direct and effective impact on the lives of those in Appalachia it serves. It also has a life changing impact on the college students who sign up to volunteer each spring on alternative spring breaks, known as Workfest (similar program for high school students, Youthfest).

Like so many charities, it has been severely stressed by the reduction of donations in 2012. It is not alone in this situation, and must try to maintain or solicit new donors to overcome this 25% or so decline.

I cannot say enough about this organization and the opportunity it presents for volunteers to truly engage and impact the needs of the poor in Kentucky.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

December 30, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

December 30, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I participated in Workfest 2005 and 2006. Workfest is an annual gathering of college groups that travel to Kentucky during their spring breaks to help rebuild homes in Eastern Kentucky. I am saddened to see negative reviews because both my experiences were awesome. Workfest was organized and the team leaders were excellent. They provided me and the other volunteers with guidance (most of us had never worked with power tools before this) and they also helped to educate us on some of the problems that people in this area face. It is truly mind-boggling that people can be living in such poverty in this country! The first house my group helped rebuild was owned by an 80-year old woman named Opal. Her walls were insulated with cardboard boxes and her house was basically falling down around her. She was extremely grateful for the work we did and not at all ashamed of her financial situation. We visited with her at the start and end of each work day and she was always thanking and blessing us!
My second experience with WorkFest was just as good as the first. The homeowners were extremely happy we were there and often cooked us traditional southern dishes to show their thanks.

If you want the chance to step outside your comfort zone, learn to use power tools, talk to people whose lives are completely different from yours (even though you live in the same country), meet other volunteers from places all over the US, and see a very beautiful slice of America, I recommend getting involved with CAP.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2006

December 17, 2012
7 people found this review helpful

more

December 17, 2012
7 people found this review helpful

I cannot say anything positive about this organization. It is meant to help and support the poor of the Appalachian area but the actions prove otherwise, seemingly more intent on fundraising and engaging in activities that make for good media. They have closed most of their programs while maintaining or increasing the administrative staff and the programs that look well in photographs and on television. They utilize more and more outside volunteers while laying off eastern Kentucky employees effectively making them part of the Appalachian poor they state they are there to help.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

No

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Badly

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

May 9, 2012
4 people found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
May 9, 2012
4 people found this review helpful

I started donating small amounts of money years ago to this organization in honor of family members. They treat small donors with the same appreciation of larger ones. After retiring, I decided to increase my donation by becoming a short term volunteer. I have served at WorkFest, YouthFest and Children's Summer Camp. I have observed how the funds are spent. All persons involved are dedicated to stretching the donations, and at the same time having quality programming. I admire what this organization does for the people of Appalachia. They are truly Americans helping Americans---They are 'What's Right with America"

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers